Latest Reviews

5

Zoom Player 15.6 beta
on 25 November 2020, reviewed by: bililing

#48

Top media player!

3

HEVC Video Extension 1.0.32762
on 04 November 2020, reviewed by: kr_13

#47

It can open the file, but the loading speed is very slow. Can't wait for a newer version.

5

HEVC Video Extension 1.0.32762
on 28 October 2020, reviewed by: Bhaskar Jyoti

#46

Great!! Keep this website & Great development for free and Keep Alive.

3

Media Player Classic - BE 1.5.6 beta
on 18 October 2020, reviewed by: YechnoYabble

#45

Recently MPC-BE has been causing recent Nvidia display driver to crash/restart when run with a video. Hopefully that got fixed in some hours!

5

Light Alloy 4.10.3
on 17 October 2020, reviewed by: Jack

#44

I think Light Alloy is best player on market.

3

A's Video Converter 7.13.5
on 07 October 2020, reviewed by: PePa

#43

Slow and creates 2x bigger files!

5

K-Lite Codec Pack 15.7.5
on 01 October 2020, reviewed by: Ziggy1978

#42

The K-Lite Codec Pack is THE perfect choice for dealing with audio and video codecs on Windows enviroment (both DirectShow and Microsoft Media Foundation); I use it from a lot of years, never had a problem, never a conflict.

The Pack is based on the solid MPC-HC as default player and LAV filters as the core for the codec part.

The Codec Tweak Tool and GraphStudioNext are also great tools for changing all the intricacies of the filters, also for WMP.

Great user support too, and this is very remarkable for a free software.

3

MPC Video Renderer 0.4.9
on 01 October 2020, reviewed by: Ziggy1978

#41

The MPC Video Renderer is born from the old EVR Custom Presenter; IMHO this new renderer need to be polished, improved.

The scalers for example are just standard and text book Bcubic, Lanczos and Catmull Rom; on an Intel based system with HD4400U IGPU the visual quality is not comparable to the vanilla EVR with Intel DXVA Context Adaptive Scaler (Lanczos4 based, with edge detector filter, antiringing filter in upscaling only, sharp without obvious ringing).

Also, the video jitter is higher respect to vanilla EVR or madVR.

5

Media Player Classic - BE 1.5.6 beta
on 28 September 2020, reviewed by: Ziggy1978

#40

MPC-BE 1.5.5 x64 is surely (together with the great MPC-HC) the perfect choice on a Windows enviroment for users in search of a reliable, fast, mature video player.

The support from the russian developers is excellent, they fix bugs just in some hours, very fast and competent.

The internal decoders and splitter are very well integrated, there's no need of LAV filters.

The new MPC video renderer is yet a young project but we must support it as an alternative to EVR vanilla and madVR.

5

LAV Filters 0.74.1-75
on 28 September 2020, reviewed by: Ziggy1978

#39

The LAV filters are the de facto standard for Windows users when dealing with audio and video codecs; the developer is talented and its filters (FFMPEG based) are focused on high quality direct playback from hard disk, less on video streaming content.

The D3D11 interface, together with madVR, are a solid video rendering path for the new 10 bit videos.

3

MPC Video Renderer 0.4.9
on 20 September 2020, reviewed by: ChickenzTime

#38

Yeh, I don't care for this, it's missing the CPU/GPU/RAM utilized info in the Display Stats.

1

uTorrent 3.5.5.45798
on 18 September 2020, reviewed by: Jezusmina

#37

crappy adware.

5

Media Player Classic - BE 1.5.5 beta
on 16 September 2020, reviewed by: IntelliMoo

#36

My player of choice again (because PotPlayer added a stupid ad popup), now that somebody finally got smart and finally fixed the audio output bug with the "MPC Audio Renderer" (well, fixed meaning they just added a setting to avoid filling all speaker channels "when upmixing" -- but it should be called "when resampling").

5

Zoom Player 15.10 rc3
on 26 August 2020, reviewed by: unknown user

#35

ZPM is the most flexible multimedia player you can get for Windows.

If it doesn't suit you, then you are just unable to configure it. Best zooming, best time stretching, best filter stacking, best keyboard shortcutting... fast and without making any compromises.

I recommend the legacy install method to make it full portable and you are ready to go after a new OS installation. Ignore unmaintained language packs, this will confuse yourself and it's just making ZoomPlayer buggy - the almost only negative point plus it's not free (use a kg, try it, then to hell buy it or not...).

I hate commercials and just want to make you a little more clever than the mainstream.

I have about 30 other well known software players on disk and I try to be up to date with all of them but ZPM on my main PC has my love. XMPlay my heart. ;)

2

Media Player Classic - BE 1.5.5 beta
on 19 August 2020, reviewed by: Anon

#34

when u play video h265 with mpcbe it will stuck if u rewind or forward the videos.

it looks like rewind and forward haven't function stuck. fix man.

2

Freemake Video Converter 4.1.11.62
on 07 August 2020, reviewed by: Sergio

#33

Full of ads, requires "registration" and giving an email (still waiting for more spam to arrive) and requires paid registration to remove watermark.

Uninstalled (not before 2 nagging screens offering $10 and then 70% discounts. Not interested at all.

1

Gom Player 2.3.55
on 07 August 2020, reviewed by: Cliff

#32

Not worth the time to download.

Proper DVD codecs are missing and there is no help trying to find what needs to be fixed.

2

Media Player Classic - BE 1.5.5 beta
on 04 August 2020, reviewed by: Savvy

#31

it can't play video hevc h265 normally, why?? mpc hc is king for h265. i hope u can fix that soon...

5

HEVC Video Extension 1.0.31823
on 03 August 2020, reviewed by: Kuro

#30

I'm used to watching my videos on the Movies and tv app of windows 10 so it did the trick for me. THANKS!!!

5

A's Video Converter 7.13.2
on 28 July 2020, reviewed by: Carl

#29

fastest encoder i had ever used.

2

MP3jam 1.1.5.7
on 09 July 2020, reviewed by: mac

#28

i have downloaded 1.1,5.7 and upgraded with my licence key from 1.1.5.6 and it worked fine, but now it's crashed again.

i have emailed mp3jam again but all you get is the same standard email. i have given it two stars at a push. once you have upgraded it says now you download like a maniac!!!!!

can somebody please bring back mp3rocket

4

Satsuki Decoder Pack 5.4.2
on 21 June 2020, reviewed by: Jorge

#27

El mejor pack de codecs para Windows.

Lo he usado durante aƱos y funciona muy bien. Lo he probado en Windows Vista, 7 y 10.
Recomendado.

5

x265vfw 3.3.1
on 10 June 2020, reviewed by: memex

#26

Many thanks for the updates.

still using with virtual dub.

5

FxSound Enhancer 13.28
on 03 June 2020, reviewed by: Max

#25

Installed on my Toshiba Encore WT8-A-103 with Win 10.

Extraordinary audio improvement: it was enough to connect a pair of Panasonic RP-HJE355 earphones and listen to a Youtube music track from the browser to finally enjoy a more dynamic and powerful audio on low frequencies.

5

Adobe DNG Codec 2.0
on 27 May 2020, reviewed by: Konstantin

#24

Easy setup. Works perfectly. I recommend this software.

Freemake has a built in feature to fail after a few downloads and their disguised fix tries to force you to buy the paid version.

I proved this by switching to another down loader to acquire the same video and it did not fail. Not once did i do this ...I did it four times.

What makes these people think persons like me can't figure this out ?

5

mpv player 0.32.484
on 18 May 2020, reviewed by: Thirumurugan R

#22

Excellent video and audio player. It has been updated frequently. My fav video player :)

5

Wavosaur 1.5.1
on 15 May 2020, reviewed by: Forite

#21

Most powerful free editor of the world.

4

PotPlayer 1.7.21202 beta
on 01 May 2020, reviewed by: ChickyBoom

#20

Nice full-blown media player. The TON of config settings can be overwhelming, but everything needed works well.

Wish check for update included beta versions. Decline the PUP! (a star off for that archaic inclusion)

5

PotPlayer 1.7.21190 beta
on 18 April 2020, reviewed by: Ziggy1978

#19

For new users: PotPlayer is an excellent multimedia player for Windows, DirectShow based.

The player was originally made with the code of the great MPC player by a very good korean developer, but as now (2020) PotPlayer has a stable development while MPC-HC is in maintenance mode, with just some small bug fixes.

Respect to MPC-HC or MPC-BE the korean player has much more settings and functions, faster and more precise seeking, timeline preview like YouTube that works very well, much better than MPC-BE.

The streaming of Internet videos is more reliable than MPC-HC or MPC-BE because PotPlayer by default use its own splitter and audio-video decoders. They're FFMPEG based like LAV Filters. But LAV filters are more optimized for disk content, not streaming.

Attention: as for April 2020 PotPlayer try to install unwanted PUP program during the set-up, but You can (and should) just click on ''Refuse' and everything is fine.

5

WebP Codec 0.19.9
on 18 April 2020, reviewed by: dan

#18

great, works immediatly :) it installs in C: / Program Files / WebP Codec, scanned with microsoft antivirus, no virus whatsoever.

Great, love it.

5

PotPlayer 1.7.21188 beta
on 17 April 2020, reviewed by: Scree

#17

PotPlayer is one of the best media players available today.

Yes, it does suffer a bit from feature overload and settings mess (some are even darn confusing), but it is definitely full-featured and offers many nice perks other players do not.

Just be sure to not install the PUP included in the installer!

1

MP3jam 1.1.5.6
on 07 April 2020, reviewed by: Lou Dynowicz

#16

There are no words to rate this software, what was once fantastic is Now Unsustainable Garbage, I wish there was a company that governs this sort of garbage on the Internet so they could take appropriate action and either take them off the internet or have them fix it at once.

I don't know if Microsoft is involved with this software If they are they should be fined up the goozoo.

Yesterday it was working on a windows seven machine and it was great, and then all of a sudden goodbye, no listening and no downloads there was just a pretty picture of MP3Jam couldn't do anything with it.

Like I said before this system $uck$ and whoever is involved with this interruption of service I hope that this will happen to them only worse. Thanking you individuals who will be reading this opinion of mine and hoping its MP3Jam organization.

Hi Lou. I know how you feel i got same problem.However !! just tried right clicking on MP3Jam shortcut. Then opened the Compatibility Troubleshooter.

Let it do its thing in Auto Mode. Then try the app. it says running in Windows 8 even though i am using Windows 10. Who cares its now working again.Give it a try . Hope it works for You.

on 21 Apr 2020, by chris

3

PotPlayer 1.7.21151
on 31 March 2020, reviewed by: nonW00t

#15

Generally good player, but man does it have configuration overload.

Also takes a lot of disk space compared to, say, the fully equivalent MPC-BE.

Bundling a PUP in the installer is a drawback!

1

MP3jam 1.1.5.6
on 31 March 2020, reviewed by: Lou Dynowicz

#14

I started working on this computer with MP3JAM, guess what it started working starting on Friday Night , Into Saturday and Saturday Night and Guess What , Including Sunday.

I Thought that MP3 had received an immunization for the Corona Virus Which I thought was great. On Sunday today 03.30.20 Guess What The Virus came back and can not play or download any music.

I guess we will have to inform to all the individuals that use MP3Jam not to eat the Jam part, Its filled with this virus and wait for a real immunization for it.

I hope it will be quick and satisfactory and once again thank you individuals whomever you are that let me stay on the MP3Jam system for that long, I hope you will continue, but this software the way it is right now really $uck$.

Try 4K Video Down loader, free version. Or you can get the paid-for version with no adds.

I have the free version and it works OK for me.It downloads music and videos.I also have the Free YouTube Download v. 4.3.19 Premium.

Cost me about 29.00, but the customer service is good if there are any problems.I also use YouTubeMusic .com, free version in conjunction with YouTube Premium - its really good.

It outclasses any musicvideo downloader Ive come across to date-:)

on 04 Jul 2020, by ChasMick

3

MPC Video Renderer 0.4.2.1210
on 30 March 2020, reviewed by: nonW00t

#13

Hard to tell if this is necessary in any way.

MPC-BE's own EVR(CP) renderer is perfectly adequate when set to proper max settings.

4

WebP Codec 0.19.9
on 21 March 2020, reviewed by: Gasa

#12

Works quite well on Win 10 64bit, images are assigned to Photo Viewer automatically, also checked it before with VirusTotal and no problem.

Only a small thing, that pictures appear to be a bit darker than normal, but still okay.

1

Tray Radio 14.0
on 05 March 2020, reviewed by: pascal

#11

trojan Win32/Zpevdo.A


Admin's Note: Another false positive from our beloved Windows Defender. The file is clean.

4

HEVC Video Extension 1.0.23254
on 29 February 2020, reviewed by: Ali

#10

I just wanted to view hiec files on win 10 and it did the trick.

1

Alternative Flash Player Auto-Updater 1.3
on 23 February 2020, reviewed by: user

#9

Hitman Pro 3.8 anti malware utility has found this tool to be bundled with malware (PUP).

check it out by yourself, thanks.

Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com. All website reviews, graphics, design and logo are Copyright © 2004-2021 Codecs.com