5

VLC Media Player 2.0.4
on 25 November 2012, reviewed by: sorbit_2

#480

It is continually improved and is very versatile. I used it together with MPC-HC.

I feel that pound for pound,VLC player is probably one of the best Media players on the Net. Yeah? The sound needs a little help but other then that,I love it and I am never turning back.

Good work VLC Developers 5 STARS

on 26 Nov 2012, by Peter

1

KMPlayer 3.4.0.59 update
on 23 November 2012, reviewed by: conan

#479

when the original creator sold out this product. The bad things happened.

and now the latest kmplayer 3.4 has changed the logo and everything.

a huge chunk of adwares are packed in the install file.

i personally used kmp for 6 years, until 3.2 it works fine, but now, i decided to switch

5

K-Lite Codec Pack 9.5 Full, Standard and Basic
on 23 November 2012, reviewed by: butch heth

#478

I am very pleased with the speed and completeness of the codec pack. I had a few problems with various players, the codec pack eliminated every issue instantly. Great job.

5

Media Player Classic - Home Cinema 1.6.5.6240
on 22 November 2012, reviewed by: whiterazor

#477

Great software. Easy to use and very light to the system.

3

GSpot 2.70a
on 21 November 2012, reviewed by: DerekCM1

#476

The webpage only indicates that GSpot is applicable for up OS up to Windows Vista 32-bit.
Can it be used on Windows 7 64-bit system?

5

ConvertXtoDVD 5.0.0.24
on 21 November 2012, reviewed by: Walt Kaplin

#475

I Have tried to use other programs but to no avail. At the age of 76, I was about to give my DVD movies until I purchased Convertxtodvd4. My concerns are behind me and my DVD movies look and sound GREAT! Thank you from Gig Harbor, Washingon

5

K-Lite Codec Pack 9.5 Full, Standard and Basic
on 16 November 2012, reviewed by: Martin Kellogg

#474

I wish to express my thanks. I just downloaded the standard codec pack, installed it for media player 11. It worked the first time with no problems, no hassel, no gimmicks. A truly refreshing internet experience.

Thanks again,
Martin

1

Samsung Kies 2.5
on 15 November 2012, reviewed by: Glen

#473

Ever since I upgraded my Samsung S2 to ICS, Kies has refused to Backup my data. " Data backup can not proceed because of an unexpected error. Please connect the device and try backing up again."

Kies used to work previously. I tried using a older version, but same error message.

1

PlayFLV 1.00
on 12 November 2012, reviewed by: Hank

#472

Stay away from this codec installation. Installs Babylon on your PC and it will override your search engine.

3

iPhone PC Suite 2.9.72.360
on 10 November 2012, reviewed by: Rhett

#471

This program requires a jailbroken phone for SMS chat. Is there anyway to text SMS without jailbreaking?

1

DVD Chief 1.20.173
on 09 November 2012, reviewed by: Mahoney

#470

the HTML templates used in this program are stolen from All My Movies program.
Compare yourself:
http://www.bolidesoft.com/images/amm_shelf1.png

3

KMPlayer 3.4.0.59 update
on 08 November 2012, reviewed by: Samba

#469

Please make video/audio record option & appearance like Progdvb please....
And can change video / audio Quick Capture option...
Also add Start / Stop Record Key on Keys / Remote option Please....

Keep it Up Guys......
Thanks...

1

Wavosaur 1.0.7
on 07 November 2012, reviewed by: Andrew

#468

Tried to open a 600Mb .wav file. After 100 seconds of huffing and puffing Wavosaur opened an empty window, although other editors show this file with all waveforms intact. Garbage.

5

x264VfW - H.264/MPEG-4 AVC codec 37.2200
on 04 November 2012, reviewed by: ijpeaar

#467

Why not make a ffdshow api in virtual dub? this is very good and handy software but has still vfw.

is not vfw video for win?pls name 4 me the next technology other than ffdshow that comes to replace it in windows

on 07 Oct 2014, by paul

5

iPhone PC Suite 2.9.72.360
on 31 October 2012, reviewed by: woody

#466

do this program supports ios 6 as yet, i need to know if am gonna upgrade my phone

2

DVDFab 9.0.0.5 beta
on 29 October 2012, reviewed by: william

#465

I know that version 9 is a beta, but why release something with less features than the last version? Can not split or customize split.

Think they should have waited before releasing beta.

4

HandBrake 0.9.8
on 27 October 2012, reviewed by: S L

#464

Have been using handbrake for quite sometime now as a casual user not professional or anything. Such a pity they remove target filesize from its option due to certain somebody ranting about it. I really liked that option.

Recently I tested both HandBrake (nightly build svn 5026) & XMedia Recode (3.1.3.0). Let me tell you Handbrake is definitely getting competition from XMedia Recode.

Test 350mb avi to 150-160mb mkv
Handbrake = 15mins
XMedia Recode = 7mins
Handbrake = Constant Quality RF 22.5
XMedia Recode = Constant Quality RF 25

If based on my target filesize range Handbrake has superior quality due to better RF but XMedia Recode is way faster! Handbrake needs to improve encoding speed.

Test with same settings and give your results. Both uses x264 and same software do not work different when set to same settings

on 25 Feb 2014, by PB

3

XMedia Recode 3.1.3
on 26 October 2012, reviewed by: S L

#463

As a casual user not a professional or heavy user, I loved handbrake as was among the best I used so far. I recently tested XMedia Recode 3.1.3.0 and quite impress with it so far. Couple of things to say about difference I found between latest XMedia Recode and nightly build HandBrake svn 5026.

For a 350mb avi movie using same settings for both encoders, XMedia Recode took just 7 mins to get it into 160mb mkv while handbrake took 15 mins to get to 155mb. But there is slight quality difference, handbrake uses Constant Quality RF 22.5 while XMedia Recode needs Constant Quality RF 25 to achieve the target filesize I wanted that was 150-160mb range. If based on target filesize Handbrake has superior quality but if based on encode speed XMedia Recode is way faster.

Pro
Faster encoding than Handbrake
Con
Bigger filesize than Handbrake

5

Windows Live Movie Maker 2012
on 25 October 2012, reviewed by: andres

#462

es excelente por que ayuda a otros para poder editar sus videos

5

DirectShow FilterPack 5.1
on 24 October 2012, reviewed by: bitoolean

#461

This is the only DirectShow codec collection you most probably need. Clean too, "no-nonsense" indeed.

Thank you! I needed this to preview / stream MP4 videos while downloading them with Free Download Manager.

3

Sony RAW Codec 2.0
on 23 October 2012, reviewed by: Jerry

#460

I gave this a "good" as it probably works great in Windows 7, but will not work in XP - period.

3

VSO Downloader 2.9.12
on 21 October 2012, reviewed by: sorbit_4

#459

It would be great, but it's not free! After some download it limits downloading 2 Mbyte.

I have to correct it. Streaming is not free

on 27 Oct 2012, by Takacs Gabor

4

K-Lite Codec Pack 9.3 Full, Standard and Basic
on 17 October 2012, reviewed by: padmasomu

#458

Mine is a very interesting experience with K Lite Codec Pack.I am using this since very long.But after 7.5 version a problem cropped up.

I am using Boilsoft video splitter and cutter also.They started showing video screen with blue and green stripes with audio.So i reverted to 7.5.But now i upgraded to latest 9.3 and problem is same.Struggled whole day with various tweaks but no use.

The most surprising turnaround solution i found is starting K lite codec pack player with a video.Keeping it in pause and minimize to tray.Then i opened "Boilsoft" software.To my utter surprise the problem is vanished and it is showing well video.Once it is ok closing k lite has no problem.

I am sharing this for the benefit of others.

5

KMPlayer 3.3.0.33
on 16 October 2012, reviewed by: valentine

#457

the km player is no1 media player in the world i hope the whole world downloads id and use it---------

yes i believe km player will capture the world...with new features like cyber dvd real 3d..............

love you guys who made km player a great player

1

AMCap 9.21
on 15 October 2012, reviewed by: Globomidia

#456

Just what John said... fully functional that Noel´s ass. Only after down and install we find out the shut down after couple of minutes. thank you John for the Dscaler tip! Fk this Noel pregnant dog.

3

iPhone PC Suite 2.9.72.360
on 11 October 2012, reviewed by: alman

#455

the software will only allow to connect through wifi, the usb is not responding even after connecting my iphone it does not respond.

what should i do to connect through usb?

5

madFLAC 1.10
on 09 October 2012, reviewed by: Dave Rogers

#454

I just wanted to say thanks for MadFlac! I am running Windows 8 Pre-Release and have tried a couple of other codecs that said they would work, but MadFlac works flawlessly!

I installed it, restarted WMP, created a playlist of nothing but flac files, rebooted and all was good!

I am impressed! Thanks a lot!

Dave

1

PlayFLV 1.00
on 09 October 2012, reviewed by: Hank

#453

Messed up my PC completely, causing it to crash when installing PlayFLV, which stopped when 90% installation was completed; thereafter I experience problems on start-up.

4

DVDStyler 2.3 final
on 09 October 2012, reviewed by: Artie

#452

The DVD not playing issue has come up on many posts. You can attempt to change the IFO files to NTSC but this is not where the issue is!

I have looked at this for a long time and what I found was that DVD -R will burn just fine but use DVD +R and DVDSytler does not like it. I noticed that PAL was on any DVD +R IFO and when I verified that in one instance it was not PAL but NTSC it still would not play on my DVD player. I wonder if PAL standard requires DVD +R?
This behavior is odd.

I am using version 2.2 of DVD Styler for MAC as version 2.3 will not allow buttoms etc. to be placed on the background.
Also, the location for buttons can flag errors usually in the Y direction. I'd like to know where buttons can be placed if anyone knows. Experimentation tells me that buttons cannot be too close or this error occurs.

All this said, DVDStyler is really very good!
Art

2

Realtek HD Audio Codecs 2.70
on 03 October 2012, reviewed by: christopher bowman

#451

I have download Realtek HD Audio CODEC at least 5x only to find their is no driver component in the driver download.

Come on guys when we ask for a driver we expect to get one, not go around in circles looking for the right download group to have a driver. Is false advertising.

5

Gom Player 2.1.43.5119
on 30 September 2012, reviewed by: lan2306

#450

Pop-up after closing Gom have been removed and still having problem with playing realmedia (.rm .rmvb) video even after install Real Alternative.

But now I found a workaround to play .rm video as follows:
1. Open Gom Player.
2. Right click and choose "Preferences...".
3. Choose "Filter" from left pane.
4. Go to "Advanced Settings" tab.
5. On "Filter Rendering Method" check on Advanced.
6. On "Filter Priority", click "Add Filter".
7. Locate and choose "MPC-Real Video Decoder" before click OK.
8. Then set its "Condition" to Highest.
9. Finally close preferences and play .rm file.

MUCH obliged! Solved my problems!♥

on 15 Aug 2013, by Agathe

5

Ligos Indeo Codec 5.11
on 28 September 2012, reviewed by: Dave Newman

#449

Yep - works a treat on Windows 7 - IF you use custom install and uncheck the Web Browser box.

How exactly do you do a custom install of this?

on 24 Jan 2014, by Spencer Magnuson

5

madVR 0.83.5
on 26 September 2012, reviewed by: Duc

#448

The new update is excellent :)

Anti-ringing filter work great while upscaling :p

5

AC3 Filter 2.5b
on 25 September 2012, reviewed by: impressed

#447

It worked like a charm! recommend it for windows 7 computers.

I had the problem with divx player talking about some missing audio codec and after installing this and restarting divx player the sound now plays ! perfect

4

DirectVobSub (VSFilter) 2.41
on 25 September 2012, reviewed by: LordStriker

#446

Guys, any plans to make it stop breaking Hardware Acceleration on Windows Media Player?

That would be greatest feature along with the resolution/quality change.

3

DFX Audio Enhancer 11.102
on 19 September 2012, reviewed by: Petros

#445

@Alex:

use older DFX version. I think version 8 supports ffdshow audio through Winamp plugins.

5

ZVR Converter 1.0
on 16 September 2012, reviewed by: Leonardo

#444

working as expected : )
just converted a 26 MB file in seconds.
many thanks

4

Windows Movie Maker 2.6
on 14 September 2012, reviewed by: rachel

#443

free and awexome!!

2

Combined Community Codec Pack ( CCCP ) 2012.02.25 beta
on 13 September 2012, reviewed by: Not Hater

#442

As far as I want to say that this is once one of the best codec pack, well, not anymore.

While it's certainly not that bloated compared to K-lite, the codec is rarely updated, which means some bug solved recently may still persist by using this.

K-lite has newer, bug-fixed codec, while this provides less bloated but older codec. Manual installation of codec is certainly the best but I doubt those reading these would be doing that. So think twice before you install this.

5

LameXP 4.05 final
on 12 September 2012, reviewed by: Juergen

#441

Great to see that the new version has added support for the Opus audio codec. I think Opus is a very promising format (it sounds great already) and it will replace MP3/AAC/Vorbis in the near future.


  • x265

  • I have been trying the 1.7 release and each version speeds up the encode. From my own tests, the x265 ...
  • MPC-BE

  • im still getting error in this version beta 677 in window 10. broken to play webm, avi format.
  • MPC-BE

  • good player but not working perfectly in window 10. a few format video was broken when i play. please fix ...
    view more »


    Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com. All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2015 Codecs.com