Movienizer 7.0
on 22 February 2014, reviewed by: Hector


It was a great program until they switched to subscription license model. Switched to All My Movies, they license fee is one time.


Gom Player 2.2.56
on 14 February 2014, reviewed by: Mike


Stuck with Windows 8, so I had to try GOM out.

GOM has no audio when playing DVDs. Tried downloading who knows what to get it right, tried playing around with the preferences. Still no audio.

I can only get audio if I click into each .Vob of the DVD, but the video is extremely pixelated and the audio is way off.

Better media players out there where I can simply play a DVD without frustration. GOM is probably the worst media player I've ever downloaded.


Windows Essentials Codec Pack 4.6
on 13 February 2014, reviewed by: PCC



It forces you to install several irrelevant softwares and manipulates your browser homepage configuration as well as default search engine into some crappy website!!!!! It has taken me hours to remove all of the spywares and damages, which are left by this freeware.

I strongly recommend free-codecs.com to remove this software from your website!!!


LAME MP3 Encoder 3.100 alpha 2
on 12 February 2014, reviewed by: Roots


not so bad sound quality, but a rather poor stereo separation. right channel is again too dominant


Media Player Classic - Home Cinema 1.7.3
on 03 February 2014, reviewed by: PePaXY


Been in use for many years, but still do not know what the difference is between MPC-HC from Casimir666 and from XhmikosR.

The versions compiled by XhmikosR are unmodified (vanilla) MPC-HC builds from the Git master branch.

on 03 Feb 2014, by editor

the XhmikosR version is the nightly-built which contains test codes, Casimir666s the general release version.

on 20 Feb 2014, by vuwer


MP3jam 1.1.4
on 03 February 2014, reviewed by: Rach


I like the program...when it works. It has not worked in several days.

Regardless to what I select, I get a download failed message. I even paid for the upgrade before realizing it was not working.

I would love to give it a 5 rating if it was still working.


ID3-TagIT 3.3.0
on 02 February 2014, reviewed by: Anony Mouse


This program works like a charm. It has saved me tons of time.

I would rate it 6 out of 5 stars if I could.


Windows Movie Maker 2.6
on 26 January 2014, reviewed by: Patrick


I will first off say that I will be happy when I fully functioning version of the 2.6 is ready and handles HD footage H264, Mpeg4, blueray.

Bitchers and moaners need to exit to the left.

I used this software in XP and loved it, simple and lacking as it was, I did most of my post in Premier ( Image and lighting correction ) but cutting and transitions, posting text or credits all was much faster and more intuitive in Movie Maker, the newest stripped down version that came with Widows 7 " windows live movie maker" does SUCK horribly but the Beta version 2.6 looks awesome, glad to see it back, now lets work on getting my HD footage to import without down sampling in Vegas, Avid, or Premier first.


LameXP 4.09 final
on 26 January 2014, reviewed by: Dick


Great Program, but... i think this program should be renamed to something other,
LameXP sounds really so pooooooooooor.


Google Video Player
on 22 January 2014, reviewed by: Nischaay Vaidya


Google video player should play all video formats available in market. and it should have converter. can convert any video format to other video format.

It should be able to play in email also, if video send to person via gmail.


Free RM to MP3 Converter 1.12
on 16 January 2014, reviewed by: Jim


I had 30 old .rm files and all of them converted except 1 (the largest one 2MB). All files that converted were between 350K - 900K in size.

When the program hit the corrupt file, it posted the error: Cannot read from file source!

Then at the bottom it said "Please update to DirectX 8.1" - I think it safe to say that the problem had nothing to do with Direct-X as it worked fine on all my other files.

Thank you Mr. Author!


VirtualDub 1.10.5 beta 2
on 14 January 2014, reviewed by: meagain


With FLV plugin VD can losslessly cut or encode FLV to AVI - if video codec used in FLV also installed.

MKV, MP4 etc - all works with plugins, but only synchronization problem was reading Webm format :/


K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 10.2
on 11 January 2014, reviewed by: Skypilot


This version does not handle the bookmarks correctly for a DVD file with Video_Ts folder.

At least not on my configuration. Worked fine in 10.0.5.


AnyDVD & AnyDVD HD 7.4
on 09 January 2014, reviewed by: FRANK


AnyHD worked well during the trial periods. But now that that period has expired my computer can not play blu ray movies any longer.



DC-Graphic EQ Filter 1.10
on 08 January 2014, reviewed by: Chris


Only works on 32-bit OS, failed to load or crashed mpc-hc on Win7 and Win8 64-bit.


AC3 Filter 2.6b
on 08 January 2014, reviewed by: Xuvs


Amazing!! Tried a few others and none worked apart from this one, Thank you so much!


SMPlayer beta
on 07 January 2014, reviewed by: Ram


SM Player is very good but incapable of playing longer video files above 250mb...whether it be wmv, mp4, flv or others which it plays worse.

For smaller video files, excellent

You are not serious, right...? It has no file size limit and its not very hard to check.

Some people could be put off by this disinformation.

This site should have thumb down button.

on 01 Feb 2014, by pecazp


SMPlayer beta
on 02 January 2014, reviewed by: Bolt90


This player IS reliable, and has de-blocking filters and other filters easily accessed from the menu bar including during playback.

It always seems to come in handy, even though I license several payware players.

This player is feature rich. Much appreciated...


K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 10.2
on 28 December 2013, reviewed by: Chocobar


Does this one has virus as reported by Vincent ??

Anybody noticed anything strange after installation like their anti-viruses are disabled or infections detected by their antiviruses ??


K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 10.2
on 28 December 2013, reviewed by: Gamma


Video stops playing in the middle, the graphic simply freeze or doing some weird loops but the sound continue to play.


K-Lite Codec Pack 10.2 Full, Standard and Basic
on 25 December 2013, reviewed by: hanky


At the moment its pants........ wont even load to library, just keeps freezing. well p'd off. really really really hate with a vengeance this crappy windows 8 (8.1)


DFX Audio Enhancer 11.112
on 22 December 2013, reviewed by: Rob Cunningham


I use Foobar2000 thru Soundblaster X-fi USB box and BoomBass in ear headphones.
I play mainly lossless music files such as wav flac and ape
I can discern no difference whether the DFX is switched on or off.

Form your own conclusions


JPEGView 1.0.31
on 15 December 2013, reviewed by: donuknowme


Just as fast as needed. My new default viewer.


XP Codec Pack 2.5.9
on 13 December 2013, reviewed by: Helena


I loved the old version, with the new version I can't see the subtitles. Hate it. Put the old version available to download.


Tara's Real Audio Input Plugin 1.0.3b (for Winamp)
on 12 December 2013, reviewed by: Sherif Ayad


Tara is a very good software but could not work completely with Realplayer 16 I am sorry for saying that even after re-installing realplayer and winamp and nothing changed.

I am waiting for feedback and reply.

Best Regards,
Sherif Ayad


K-Lite Codec Pack 10.1.5 Full, Standard and Basic
on 08 December 2013, reviewed by: Jennifer M


thank you thank you thank you

I could hear the video on my windows 8 computer but couldnt see anything. every thing I read every where else was confusing and a pain in the ass and or cost money. this is simple it works and it didnt install a bunch of extra crap.

I had videos that were irreplaceable that I couldnt watch because of stupid windows 8 but thanks to you I can now watch them again!

I posted this link to Facebook to spread the word and help others with this confusing mess. thanks again!!!!

p.s. if it helps anyone reading this I downloaded the full mirror version


K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 10.1.5
on 06 December 2013, reviewed by: sALMAn


Best version so far is version 6.1 and newer 8.7. All version after those old version has quite a bugs.


Media Player Classic - Home Cinema
on 05 December 2013, reviewed by: Pronoy Singh


I could never see a video without Media Player Classic Home Cinema. Now its great. its called Home Cinema Theater.


mp3DirectCut 2.19
on 01 December 2013, reviewed by: Jaja


I have been with mp3 for more than 15 years now an I think it's okay to say I am some kind of experienced user ;-)

In small words: Mp3DC rocks!

Extremely fast and reliable for single track as well as for massive batch jobs.



Media Player Classic - Home Cinema
on 01 December 2013, reviewed by: OPODER


Plays various types of files on it, light, stable and is FREE.

Thank you, MPC-HC team!


Freemake Video Converter
on 29 November 2013, reviewed by: opoder


Freemake Video Converter

Progressively worse ...
Now, in addition to slow and put adware on your system, it puts a LOGO at the end of the rendered video.


DivX H.264 Decoder
on 28 November 2013, reviewed by: anton


virtual dub doesn't not see this codec


K-Lite Codec Pack 10.1.5 Full, Standard and Basic
on 27 November 2013, reviewed by: Elgo Oglive


Why does it install AVG toolbar and Chrome?

Why is Chrome hidden from Windows explorer but not from the command prompt?

Is this some kind of rootkit?

Because you dont read when you are clicking Next or OK... Thats why.

on 28 Nov 2013, by Common Sense


QT Lite 4.1.0
on 27 November 2013, reviewed by: tapi0


Is this dead or can we get update to this?

I like to continue using this more than original QT.

Newest version is still 7.7.4


Subtitle Workshop 6.0a
on 25 November 2013, reviewed by: Hans


Super, Great..Thank You !!!!!


AVI FourCC Changer 1.00
on 22 November 2013, reviewed by: budda


do they ever upgrade this ? now is almost 2014


Light Alloy 4.7.4 final
on 20 November 2013, reviewed by: Osmann


Very good program. All files open. Excellent design, simple use.


AVI Frame Rate Changer 1.10
on 13 November 2013, reviewed by: Scott Olewiler


worked perfectly - you can enter any frame rate you want, click APPLY, and the result is instant.

If you have a movie where the video lags more and more behind the audio as the movie progresses, or the opposite, then this is the perfect tool to fix your movie in a second.


Windows Live Movie Maker 16.4
on 13 November 2013, reviewed by: sammyson


Very smooth and easy to use


AviDemux 2.6.6
on 07 November 2013, reviewed by: WHBCstudio


This program was a lifesaver! Fixed a faulty record (audio sync off 5 frames) I could edit and it did a wonderful job encoding.

Great program!

  • DVX

  • /super, but without a dl how can i know?
  • Tixati

  • Best bittorrent client ever, imagine utorrent on steroids but much more organized. Powerful, very configurable, great rss support and ...
  • Xvid Codec

  • Always very good, good programe.
    view more »

    Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com. All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2015 Codecs.com