4

LAME ACM MP3 Codec 3.98.4
on 13 May 2011, reviewed by: zebulon

#40

if you encounter problems to install it under Seven (for ex), try the method explained at this url (http://granjow .net/virtualdub-tutorial-installing.html) -- this worked fine for me :)

5

DirectVobSub (VSFilter) 2.40
on 12 May 2011, reviewed by: some

#39

DirectvobSub 2.40 doesn't work on Win 7 x86 (WMP12), i see green icon, but there is no subtitles on screen (i tried avi and mkv files, no luck to see subs). I use VSFilter 2.39.5.3 and it works fine so far.

3

MP3 Quality Modifier 1.41
on 11 May 2011, reviewed by: Mido Remedie

#38

Hi,

I came across MQM (MP3 Quality Modifier 1.41) when I was struggling with a lack of disk space.

I'm trying to create a kind of document (database) for my first grand child, which represents an overview of all modern music at this moment, called "The day before you came". And trying to fit it on one standard 320 GB USB disk.

Up till now I reviewed about 11.000 cdees and several hundreds of personal collections and playlists (including Indie).

The document consists of seven parts: a cd top 1000 (1100 to be sure), collections of all major (about 700) artists, collections of about 25 genres, 25 locally oriented mainstreams (African, Arabic, etc.), a collection of important events (Woodstock etc), some externally generated collections (Rolling Stone, top 1000, etc) and a personal view of about 50 compilations called "Dutch Treat".

So I have a lot of files. And I want the best quality (if it sounds good, it\'s more likely you appreciate the music).

So MQM looks like the perfect solution for me (although it should be a feature of other more commonly used programs).

My first experiment had a strange result. The file became bigger! Obviously the program does not look at an optimum but reacts on a chosen quality. This is not what you want when you have a library whit several different bitrates.

I just want the smallest files without loosing quality and without me knowing what kind of settings I'll have to choose to achieve it.

For my trash library (too good for the trash bin) I could choose Variable 170-210. That is good enough. However 128 Kbps will be enlarged substancely! Not very useful.

I used replace (I trust the program and can't check all files anyway) and my preset button was blanked out. So it was suggested not to use the presets anyway (although it did). So probably just a display issue.

Converting files up and down the quality ladder gave some unexpected results. so be careful.

My advise: use the program for all files from which you are sure that the bit rate settings will cover those from the files. I created bit rate depended libraries (128, 160,192, 224, 256, 320) (I used mp3tag) and run the program using variable, stereo and bit rate that covers the one of the file(s). The result will save at least 10% of disk space.

My ears and eyes (tags) could not find any difference. In fact sometimes I had the impression that some noise was reduces as well. Sometimes my WMP enthusiastically reported that the file had become 320 Kbps. That looks quite solid.

I even tried some lower bitrates and could save some 40% of disk space without noticing the difference. However I love transparent music and more complicated music (metal) is much more critical.

In short, quite a good and effective (free) tool which would be quite handy when it's able to select the "best" bit rate settings automatically per file. Then you could use for instance, a slide bar with the desired quality percentage on a long list of different rated MP3 files.

Some additional small remarks:

After converting a small library, my list of size changes was sorted descending (from 50 to 8%). I doubt people like that, why not the original order.

Adding a directory should start with the last used entry. This prevents unnecessary and annoying repetitions.

The file list presented does not give you the option of selecting parts of the list. It's all or one. Enabling this option will save a lot of time.

Running the program multiple times on the same file results in minor quality loss.

Listing a selected folder take about 1 minute per 1.000 entries. Not too fast I think.

Compressing a file takes on average some 12 sec per file. Not too bad! So, for me that's about 1.200.000 seconds (hum 20.000 hours to go?!). 20 minutes for about hundred files sounds a bit better.

Enjoy.

3

MP3 Quality Modifier 1.41
on 11 May 2011, reviewed by: Mido Remedie

#37

A correction to my just submitted review
20.000 hours should be 20.000 minutes or better 3.350 hours. Looks much better!

2

XMedia Recode 2.3.2.5
on 10 May 2011, reviewed by: William Wright

#36

something is very wrong with version 2.3.2.5. Crashes everytime I start recode. No problem with 2.3.2.0.

4

HuffYUV 2.2.0
on 10 May 2011, reviewed by: zebulon

#35

Hi,

It run great with XP, but... how to install it or, how to know if it's installed (in Seven 64bit) ?

I can't get pictures in VirtualDubMod (1.5.10.2), even with ffdshow:
"Couldn't locate decompressor for format 'FFVH' (unknown)..."

I tried with 64 and 32bit versions of ffdshow, but it is the same.

++

5

Media Player Classic - Home Cinema 1.5.2.3098
on 10 May 2011, reviewed by: Michael

#34

Great player, have been a big fan of it since they have DXVA support Win XP which VLC didn't.

@guilherme

I fully agree with you, it has been for a long time the official Sourceforge site haven't cared to update, it's truly rotten!!!
The guys who are pushing it forward have the latest version at:
http://www.xvidvideo .ru/media-player-classic-home-cinema-x86-x64/

An that's the place from where I DL all my versions since a year back, the Official Sourceforge page haven't updated for single damn version for nearly a year until this spring, but now again ABANDONED for couple of months, I suggest someone else take it over if they can't keep up the latest version, or at least they could provide a link to xvidvideo .ru so people can get the latest updates!

1

DivX Free 5.2.1
on 09 May 2011, reviewed by: cwood

#33

i keep getting 1 screen or sometimes 2 screens that keep popping up every time i click on to something.it reads at top message from webpage- console.log:divx hiq debug:hiq update.this is really driving me crazy and i can't get it to stop popping up.

could you please stop it or tell me how to stop them from popping up. thanks cwood

5

XP Codec Pack 2.5.1
on 08 May 2011, reviewed by: Helen

#32

I worked for hours to get sound and even bought Roxio thinking that it would have what was needed to get audio to play with the video - but nothing worked until I downloaded the XP Codec Pack. Thank you

5

REAPER 4.0 beta 2
on 08 May 2011, reviewed by: poundsmack

#31

Fantastic software, highly reccomend!

2

Elecard MPEG-2 Video Decoder Pack 4.1
on 05 May 2011, reviewed by: TaRo33

#30

Yes I installed this to play an UMD iso video (.MPS extension, it says MPEG MEDIA)
The video's working now, but there's still no sound!
I hope for the future improvement.

how you can see these Codecpack not support many AUDIO CODECS! so plz use mediainfo for checking audio and video codec requirements!

on 06 Mar 2012, by grizzly

2

PowerDVD 11.0.1620
on 04 May 2011, reviewed by: kalam

#29

I just bought and install the full version of powerdvd 11 and everything is working fine except can't play music files or any audio files (no sounds) but can only watch DVD with high definition audio.

4

Windows Essentials Codec Pack 3.5
on 03 May 2011, reviewed by: justin

#28

where can I download an offline installer for both x86/x64?

5

SPlayer 3.7.2055
on 03 May 2011, reviewed by: Bedanta

#27

This is from my previous post (07 October 2010)

I like it all the way. But, I miss very badly the subtitle download feature (i.e. download subtitle in video file directory) which was available in V.3.5 but not available in v.3.6. Please add that feature.

I still love the player all the way. But, the feature I requested to add is not working properly. I mean "Save the same directory with the media file" is still not working in v.3.7.2055. Though it is present under the subtitle tab, it is not working at all. I selected the radio button before it and it's goes off when I press OK. Please short-out the problem.

Thanks.

4

DVD Flick 1.3.0.7
on 03 May 2011, reviewed by: april

#26

works fine, good audio video quality. very slow though. but worth the wait.

the only problem iv encountered is, sometimes at the middle of the burning, when sources are being encoded, it just stops and says there was an error: disk full. but my disk isnt full and there is enough space. my burner also works fine. i dunno why it happens. and then it just gets fixed suddenly.

aside from that, it's good. not to mention, it's free :P

4

MP3 Splitter 2.0
on 03 May 2011, reviewed by: Jim Miller

#25

I've used this splitter for years. It has a simple, intuitive interface. It will split only mp3 files, to my knowledge; but it has handled, and quickly split every file no matter the size.

MP3 Splitter only splits two ways. First a file can be split into a number of equal pieces. Secondly a file can be split into pieces of a specified length.

If you're looking for a simple straight forward splitter, I recommend this one.

I have not used the 'joiner' portion of this utility.

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 7.1.0
on 02 May 2011, reviewed by: dahilig007

#24

Do what Raymonardo (comment #313) said... And you guys will also be able to play rmvb files ^_^

4

fre:ac (formely BonkEnc) 1.0.18
on 01 May 2011, reviewed by: micnolmad

#23

From the other modern-ui programs this toke 5min to understand but from that point I was very impressed both with the speed and quality.

I have yet to do a large batch but it seems quite stable. That fact that the ui is so "old-school" suggest the time was spend on making it work right.

5

SmartRipper 2.41
on 26 April 2011, reviewed by: BTDhero

#22

usefull tool, free, easy to use ^:)^

5

K-Lite Codec Pack 7.1.0 Full, Standard and Basic
on 26 April 2011, reviewed by: Jack

#21

@Immhotep

Just try it for yourself. You have nothing to lose. The uninstall is very clean.

you rock

on 27 Apr 2011, by shadi

thanks

on 30 Apr 2011, by chamu

2

K-Lite Codec Pack 7.1.0 Full, Standard and Basic
on 25 April 2011, reviewed by: Immhotep

#20

I was going to download the program after seeing it on Youtube. Now, I am really confused.

4

LAME MP3 Encoder 3.99 beta
on 25 April 2011, reviewed by: Alan

#19

I always recommend "-b 192 -m s -h -q 0" configuration setting.

5

XMedia Recode 2.3.2.0
on 24 April 2011, reviewed by: GriZZly

#18

Very good universal converter, Best I ever have seen.

Thumbs up for this Project.
if you like it, give a thank to the author.

5

XMedia Recode 2.3.2.0
on 24 April 2011, reviewed by: Bruce

#17

Easy to instal quality music and no add on's.

Well Done.....

5

XMedia Recode 2.3.2.0
on 24 April 2011, reviewed by: Ardeshir

#16

2 thumbs up!! Very nice encoder I've ever seen. Thank You ;)

5

K-Lite Codec Pack 7.1.0 Full, Standard and Basic
on 23 April 2011, reviewed by: David

#15

K-Lite is an excellent choice if you want to be able to play all video files. Not so much the included codecs, but that it sets up MPC pretty good and includes some useful tools. Sure many of the codecs and tools you won't use, but they won't hurt you either.

Can't believe a guy complained about a "missing" encoder, and thinks he speaks for "70% of the users" (where do these guys get those statistics?) - use Handbrake for encoding and MPC for playing, like normal persons.

5

LAME MP3 Encoder 3.99 beta
on 23 April 2011, reviewed by: javi

#14

Set this -b 192 -m j -h -V 0 -B 320

& you'll get the best encoder working always properly

5

AC3 Filter 1.63b
on 22 April 2011, reviewed by: Big_Man

#13

d/l version 1.63b and it worked GREAT!! No trouble at all. Thanks

5

AC3 Filter 1.63b
on 20 April 2011, reviewed by: Tamara

#12

Worked wonderfully! Thank you.

3

KMPlayer 3.0.0.1439
on 20 April 2011, reviewed by: ribastuka

#11

No AVCHD playback out of the box. So "Best multimedia player ever Period" is a bit of an overstatement. If you want to watch your camcorder movies hassle-free there are other "best" free media players around, which actually work.

5

Fraunhofer MPEG Layer-3 Audio Decoder
on 20 April 2011, reviewed by: Nicky

#10

Thank You for this application.Now I can listen to my music and do my listening comprehension homework.A big thanks!

3

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2011-04-11
on 19 April 2011, reviewed by: teleping

#9

@ghencea RO
The encoders were removed from ffdshow due to being "outdated and buggy". Very, very sad thing to do :(

If you want to use the encoders, you should install a version which still has them, latest being from somewhere around Dec/2010. More info from doom9's forum or from the home page,
http://ffdshow-tryout.sourceforge .net

2

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2011-04-11
on 18 April 2011, reviewed by: ghencea RO

#8

I've installed this version of ffdshow and my previous codecs in vdub are gone. Don't have xvid and many others anymore, only 4 codecs (mjpeg, huffyuv, ffv1 and dv) which are not playing on my dvd player. Now I can't encode anything.

Any ideas? I am on XP SP3. The previous ffdshow worked ok.

2

nVIDIA PureVideo Decoder 1.02-223
on 18 April 2011, reviewed by: frankiek38

#7

follow directions and still cant use it ...says wrong name

5

DFX Audio Enhancer 9.302
on 17 April 2011, reviewed by: silverize1208

#6

Its really cool guys worth the price....


hey anyone of you has the best configuration for good bass quality?

i also bought a Sennheiser HD 405 Headset,,,
really having hardtime doing the balance for the sound

5

Nic's XviD Codec 2009.08.23
on 16 April 2011, reviewed by: Pr0c0d3r

#5

Superb codec! The best version is old

Nic's XviD v1.1.0.Beta2.6.04.2005

Overall quality is much better than modern Nic's & Koepi's XviD-s and DivX v4-v8.

"Old version... because the new is not always better..."

5

AC3 Filter 1.63b
on 15 April 2011, reviewed by: Brant

#4

Works...used version 1.63b. Thank you.

4

XP Codec Pack 2.5.1
on 15 April 2011, reviewed by: HyugA

#3

it doesn't support new mkv format. i wonder why they stop updating this great codecpack.

please update this because i think it's the most efficient.

I use this product to play MKV files daily with no probs.

on 24 Nov 2011, by Drumb

2

Elecard MPEG-2 Video Decoder Pack 4.1
on 14 April 2011, reviewed by: Aracelli

#2

I installed it but when I play the movie there's no sound :(

3

DirectVobSub (VSFilter) 2.39
on 13 April 2011, reviewed by: Darkmage40

#1

i cant make it work and i do what the tutorial says ....

I get a syntax error on line 42.

on 15 Apr 2011, by Deez


  • x265

  • I have been trying the 1.7 release and each version speeds up the encode. From my own tests, the x265 ...
  • MPC-BE

  • im still getting error in this version beta 677 in window 10. broken to play webm, avi format.
  • MPC-BE

  • good player but not working perfectly in window 10. a few format video was broken when i play. please fix ...
    view more »


    Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com. All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2015 Codecs.com