5

XMedia Recode 2.3.2.0
on 24 April 2011, reviewed by: GriZZly

#40

Very good universal converter, Best I ever have seen.

Thumbs up for this Project.
if you like it, give a thank to the author.

5

XMedia Recode 2.3.2.0
on 24 April 2011, reviewed by: Bruce

#39

Easy to instal quality music and no add on's.

Well Done.....

5

XMedia Recode 2.3.2.0
on 24 April 2011, reviewed by: Ardeshir

#38

2 thumbs up!! Very nice encoder I've ever seen. Thank You ;)

5

K-Lite Codec Pack 7.1.0 Full, Standard and Basic
on 23 April 2011, reviewed by: David

#37

K-Lite is an excellent choice if you want to be able to play all video files. Not so much the included codecs, but that it sets up MPC pretty good and includes some useful tools. Sure many of the codecs and tools you won't use, but they won't hurt you either.

Can't believe a guy complained about a "missing" encoder, and thinks he speaks for "70% of the users" (where do these guys get those statistics?) - use Handbrake for encoding and MPC for playing, like normal persons.

5

LAME MP3 Encoder 3.99 beta
on 23 April 2011, reviewed by: javi

#36

Set this -b 192 -m j -h -V 0 -B 320

& you'll get the best encoder working always properly

5

AC3 Filter 1.63b
on 22 April 2011, reviewed by: Big_Man

#35

d/l version 1.63b and it worked GREAT!! No trouble at all. Thanks

5

AC3 Filter 1.63b
on 20 April 2011, reviewed by: Tamara

#34

Worked wonderfully! Thank you.

3

KMPlayer 3.0.0.1439
on 20 April 2011, reviewed by: ribastuka

#33

No AVCHD playback out of the box. So "Best multimedia player ever Period" is a bit of an overstatement. If you want to watch your camcorder movies hassle-free there are other "best" free media players around, which actually work.

5

Fraunhofer MPEG Layer-3 Audio Decoder
on 20 April 2011, reviewed by: Nicky

#32

Thank You for this application.Now I can listen to my music and do my listening comprehension homework.A big thanks!

3

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2011-04-11
on 19 April 2011, reviewed by: teleping

#31

@ghencea RO
The encoders were removed from ffdshow due to being "outdated and buggy". Very, very sad thing to do :(

If you want to use the encoders, you should install a version which still has them, latest being from somewhere around Dec/2010. More info from doom9's forum or from the home page,
http://ffdshow-tryout.sourceforge .net

2

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2011-04-11
on 18 April 2011, reviewed by: ghencea RO

#30

I've installed this version of ffdshow and my previous codecs in vdub are gone. Don't have xvid and many others anymore, only 4 codecs (mjpeg, huffyuv, ffv1 and dv) which are not playing on my dvd player. Now I can't encode anything.

Any ideas? I am on XP SP3. The previous ffdshow worked ok.

2

nVIDIA PureVideo Decoder 1.02-223
on 18 April 2011, reviewed by: frankiek38

#29

follow directions and still cant use it ...says wrong name

5

DFX Audio Enhancer 9.302
on 17 April 2011, reviewed by: silverize1208

#28

Its really cool guys worth the price....


hey anyone of you has the best configuration for good bass quality?

i also bought a Sennheiser HD 405 Headset,,,
really having hardtime doing the balance for the sound

5

Nic's XviD Codec 2009.08.23
on 16 April 2011, reviewed by: Pr0c0d3r

#27

Superb codec! The best version is old

Nic's XviD v1.1.0.Beta2.6.04.2005

Overall quality is much better than modern Nic's & Koepi's XviD-s and DivX v4-v8.

"Old version... because the new is not always better..."

5

AC3 Filter 1.63b
on 15 April 2011, reviewed by: Brant

#26

Works...used version 1.63b. Thank you.

4

XP Codec Pack 2.5.1
on 15 April 2011, reviewed by: HyugA

#25

it doesn't support new mkv format. i wonder why they stop updating this great codecpack.

please update this because i think it's the most efficient.

I use this product to play MKV files daily with no probs.

on 24 Nov 2011, by Drumb

2

Elecard MPEG-2 Video Decoder Pack 4.1
on 14 April 2011, reviewed by: Aracelli

#24

I installed it but when I play the movie there's no sound :(

3

DirectVobSub (VSFilter) 2.39
on 13 April 2011, reviewed by: Darkmage40

#23

i cant make it work and i do what the tutorial says ....

I get a syntax error on line 42.

on 15 Apr 2011, by Deez

4

SPlayer 3.6.1993
on 13 April 2011, reviewed by: The cigarette smoking man

#22

Another update. SPlayer has a tearing effect when playing HD videos with fileextension.mkv. This isnt fixed till now.

Otherwise a very good player with low CPU consumption.

5

XP Codec Pack 2.5.1
on 11 April 2011, reviewed by: Stephen

#21

I have some video files that I haven't been able to play with audio in WMP, DivX or Quicktime and have downloaded numerous codecs all to no avail.

I found this codec pack today, downloaded it and opened the file in the Media Player Classic and it worked perfectly! Thank you very much !

3

x264 Video Codec rev. 1924
on 11 April 2011, reviewed by: dw817

#20

There is a lot of positive talk about x264, and rightly so. For high-yield encodings, it does a better job than XviD, but for low bitrate encodings like 128kbps and a small screen size like 352x240, XviD still does a better job.

Minju, I am coming into terms with the Google Video Codec and it is definitely a strong contender for XviD in the field of low bitrate encodings.

4

Xvid Video Codec 1.3.1
on 11 April 2011, reviewed by: dw817

#19

This is one very good codec and has come a long way since it's humble origins. It does a considerably better job than the latest commercial DivX codec and has none of the bloatware or spyware attached to it as DivX does.

As of it's latest release, it now it provides it's own post-processor icon that appears in your taskbar when you are playing back an XviD video so you can fine-tune the way your video plays, including brightness adjust.

While Google Video is still a strong contender for XviD for anime, cartoons and flash to video, in the long run XviD is still better, especially for live-action movies.

There are also still a large # of portable devices out there that play XviD with no problem.

Since it is and will likely always remain free, it is in your best interests to try and compare this video codec for yourself with the other popular ones out there, especially commercial trialware DivX and see in this case the disgruntled workers of DivX who provided the public with XviD did in fact an incredible job in it's design.

Their words entirely, "what the community really wants is a Winamp, not a Linux."

As popular as WinAMP is today and as easy as it is use, I must fully agree. We're not all rocket scientists and XviD is definitely for encoding videos easily without confusion, slowing down your system, or tapping into your pocketbook as DivX does.

1

Combined Community Codec Pack ( CCCP ) 2010.10.10
on 11 April 2011, reviewed by: david leys

#18

The last time this was bundled with software which led me to this site to download it totally f**ked computer i had lost my files and had to do a reformat :(



Admin's note: the installer is 100% clean. Obviuosly you didn't download the software from codecs.com

5

Google VP8 Video Codec 1.1.0
on 10 April 2011, reviewed by: dw817

#17

For EVERYTHING, live-action, cartoons, anime, and CGI, this video codec totally rocks. It beats the socks off XviD, DivX and WMV by far for small bitrate encodings (128kbps).

The quality is so good it doesn't need filters or video noise to "clean it up" afterwards like DivX and XviD do.

You owe it to yourself to look at this incredible video codec. It is a shame it does not play on my portable devices, compare and see for yourself the seriously improved quality at the same k/sec.

It also has a dirt simple user interface:
K/sec, quality-preset, and whether it's fixed, variable, or 1st/2nd pass.

My only complaint is I've encoded hundreds of videos in XviD now for the past several years and I seriously want to re-encode them all in GV now for the clearly marked improvement in the end video at the same k/sec. Augh ! ☺

2

Google VP8 Video Codec 1.1.0
on 10 April 2011, reviewed by: Jack

#16

Not really that excellent. DiVX 6.9.2 (Pro) encoding gives me an average of 30fps, XViD 1.3.1 23-25fps, VP8 barely 18fps on the same PC for the same film. Sometimes, while reading reviews, I feel like company employees write them.

4

UMPlayer 0.92
on 10 April 2011, reviewed by: John Scott

#15

I had a problem with the audio part.
When i play music, in my playlist doesn't show the length of the track until a play it.
And not always is correct.
Ex. Sean Paul - Press It Up is 03:44
In my playlist is 02:48.

5

PowerDVD 10.0.2701
on 10 April 2011, reviewed by: lojin

#14

i couldn't play .mkv files with powerdvd ultra 10...it shows the version doesn't support the format. and even it leads to a wrong version... what shall i do???

pls help...thanks in advance

4

QuickTime Alternative 3.2.2
on 10 April 2011, reviewed by: Gerard

#13

Works fine, but an update is needed.

3

VP7 Personal Edition 7.0.1.0
on 10 April 2011, reviewed by: dw817

#12

Source video: CGI High-action, 1 minute, single pass, 352x240 15fps, 128kbps (16k/sec)

It certain encodes better than DivX or XviD or WMV at the same k/sec but still not as good as Google Video's codec, which I guess is not too surprising since GV is using VP8 and this is VP7.

This codec encodes slower than GV and I can't see an appreciable difference of two videos encoded at the same k/sec except that VP7 is about twice as slow with more configuration options than GV.

If you're curious, VP8 is a commercial codec so for Google to incorporate it as their own is great since it's 100% free to use in your own projects and their minimal interface works fine certainly for what I need.

1

Windows Media Format 11 Runtime
on 10 April 2011, reviewed by: dw817

#11

Not good.

I'm running it in Win7 64-bit with 22gb of hard-drive space free and it says, "Not enough storage is available to process this command. Installation did not complete."

I'm assuming it's Win7 incompatible but I'm not certain.
Fails here.

4

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2011-03-28
on 10 April 2011, reviewed by: dw817

#10

If you insist on playing back videos that are encoded in codecs that have jpeg-trash in them or are distorted from being encoded at a low k/sec, then you will find this program a definite blessing.

Not only does it have an option to run directly with Media Player Classic and do block-deinterleaving and other pre- and post- production outputs that can blur and filter out video artefacts but the codec is also a video encoder allowing you to encode multiple formats including .AVI using WMV XviD DivX Mp4 and several other popular formats as it's backboard.

We are rapidly entering an age where a video codec is not so much based on the quality it can compress a video but the quality of it's output through pre- and post- filters that clean it before it plays it back to be viewed by an audience.

Modern XviD already has a pop-up that appears in your taskbar to "clean" your video by adding interleave and "noise" to remove artefacts.

FFDShow does just that and can work with a large variety of video playback software and ultimately any video format to clean the video before being seen, Media Player Classic just being one of the programs it can work directly work.

You owe it to yourself to examine this incredible combination codec and filter that cleans and removes artefacts from your videos as they play back notwithstanding what video codec they were originally encoded in.

I am rating it Very Good, not Excellent, because the interface is HUGE and may appear cumbersome and complex to some, such as myself.

5

FastCodec 1.0 beta
on 10 April 2011, reviewed by: dw817

#9

Does what it says. Takes your video and about as fast as it can lightning slams it down into an .AVI at a terrible overhead. Nearly 5,200kbps for a 352x240 at 30fps.

Most DVDs save raw 720x480 30fps video at 4,800kbps so the compression of FC is lower than a DVD.


But if you are encoding from a DVD or some other volatile source like a live video, it's nice to have that final 2gb .AVI source to work with and there are no keyframes so every single frame is as clear and clean as it can get like the source forwards and backwards in VirtualDUB.

It's free too. No nasty tags appear anywhere on your video and the user interface is minimally minimalistic.

Visually Lossless or Absolutely Lossless.
Not much more than that.

I use visually lossless and obviously the end result video is DVD quality no matter how high the action gets.

Not really for archiving videos because of the tremendous overhead so you should stick with your DivX and XviDs for that stuff but very good if you want to get "hands on" the source video to compare compression algorithms from a FC .avi source.

1

DivX 8.1.2 updated
on 10 April 2011, reviewed by: dw817

#8

Ouch. Where to begin.

Let's see.
It's a big program, 46mb.
It took a long time to install.
I brought up VirtualDub, Virtualdub took a long time to load. It also took a long time to select the codec (locked up the computer for a bit each time I highlighted it in, they're doing something screwy there each time it's looked at).

I brought up a test video, tried to encode with it.

Then it crashed and brought up this message:
"Error Code 0x80044005"

Aaand it's a commercial codec, and they want money for their hard work ! Gimme gimme !

They're gonna have a long wait ! ☺

I'm running Win7/64-bit VirtualDub & tried TMPGenc Xpress, both crashed with it (and both programs took a LONG time to load too specifically because of DivX cause it's never acted like that before). All other codecs work fine.

I still recommend the top 3 codecs as #1 Google Video Codec, #2 XviD Codec and #3 Windows Media Video 9 Codec last.

Since this version of DivX actually slows down anything that even smells like it can play or edit an .AVI I must uninstall it to get the speed back on my computer, sad I know.

2

Adaptec DVSoft codec 1.11
on 10 April 2011, reviewed by: dw817

#7

I think the description they have is misleading.

This appears either to be one of those super-old codecs like Cinepak or it's for digital videocameras only. It has no options for compression except for a single item that said, "Single or double field." and that's it, no k/sec, nothing.

Aaand I couldn't even get it to work, it said:

"The current image resolution could not be used for a DV output."

Welp, I use 352x240 for all my stuff so if it won't do that I don't wanna play.

1

3ivx MPEG-4 5.0.2
on 10 April 2011, reviewed by: dw817

#6

You know, I wouldn't mind if a codec was commercial and wanted money because it was really GOOD but this codec is REALLY bad. It's like comparable quality to Mpeg-1 for k/sec and that's using a 352x240 15fps 128k/sec encoding ! And I know what Mpeg-1 looks like at low bitrates cause I spent years encoding them !

To top it off, it =IS= commercial so you get a delicious cherry red candy notice striped across every frame that says, "3ivX Trial" and in case they think you're gonna miss seeing it, it blooming covers your entire video diagonally like a bad package stamp !

If you want to match 3ivx quality without the mouth-watering and savory stamp, just use the free version of TMPGENC to encode an MPEG-1 and compare the two for yourself. That's sad, isn't it ?

Outside of that, if you want the best surpassing DivX, XviD, and even WMV9 or RealMagic, at 128k/sec IMHO is =STILL= Google Video Codec (VP8) which (thankfully) =IS= 100% Free although at this point in the game deserves to be commercial quality software with the comparative tests I've run it on so far.

Grab it quick before it =ISN'T= free is all I can offer you at this stage in your video encoding sessions !

1

REALmagic MPEG-4 Video Codec 1.1
on 10 April 2011, reviewed by: dw817

#5

(New rating, color me 0:Disappointed)

What started as a simple search for this rare codec turned into a recorded account of all-out corporate warfare.

I - had no idea that Sigma Designs, the author of RealMagic had sucked - and I mean sucked hard - on the XviD sourcecode and then tried to call it their own creation later.

I FINALLY found the codec after a lotta searching but read the following before you do decide to install it yourself.

There is an article of interest found here:

http://forum.videohelp .com/threads/57361-XVID-HAS-BEEN-SHUT-DOWN-AS-REALMAGIC-STEALS-CODEC

Quoting from Wikipedia:

In July 2002, Sigma Designs released an MPEG-4 video codec called the REALmagic MPEG-4 Video Codec. Before long, people testing this new codec found that it contained considerable portions of Xvid code. Sigma Designs was contacted and confirmed that a programmer had based REALmagic on Xvid, but assured that all GPL code would be replaced to avoid copyright infringement. When Sigma Designs released the supposedly rewritten REALmagic codec, the Xvid developers immediately disassembled it and concluded that it still contained Xvid code, only rearranged in an attempt to disguise its presence. The Xvid developers decided to stop work and go public to force Sigma Designs to respect the terms of the GPL. After articles were published in Slashdot and The Inquirer, in August 2002 Sigma Designs agreed to publish their source code.

I remember using it in the past (RealMagic) and I was pleasantly pleased with the quality of it, but I guess not now that I know it was ripped from hallowed XviD by Sigma (Smegma?), still, I wanna compare the two of them so ...

Before you install it yourself, read the following:

http://forum.doom9 .org/archive/index.php/t-32212.html

If you still wanna risk it, here ya go, but don't blame me if you have problems later cause it's got no uninstaller.

http://www.avs .com.ru/download76.html

I'm outta here !

5

SUPER 2011 build 47
on 09 April 2011, reviewed by: Gordon

#4

v2011.build.47 (March 12, 2011) is an EXCELLENT program.
encodes flawlessly my VOB files to MP4 and my AVIs to WebM for web streaming.
cheers

5

MP3 Repair Tool 1.5.2
on 09 April 2011, reviewed by: jordan

#3

Holy crap it actually worked!!!! I had mp3 files with all these weird symbols that would pop up when i played it and now its fixed all i did was select remove 1 and done.

5

UMPlayer 0.92
on 09 April 2011, reviewed by: MArk

#2

Only good things. I tried several operations on UMPlayer. So far, flawless.

5

iPhone PC Suite 2.9.50.215
on 08 April 2011, reviewed by: shakir

#1

Dear All i got good experience it worked.

If somebody is getting error during downloading please there is link download it from here i personally checked its working after installation pls follow up the steps which the ADMIN mention to delete two files.

After that again open the program it will start something take little time may downloading from net after its done....


  • PotPlayer

  • looked at all of your comments on players but you will not get anything better than vlc dont listen ...
  • Intel Codec Installer

  • This is good for Windows XP, but how do I play all my old Intel Create & Share email postcards ...
  • K-Lite Codec Pack

  • Call me stubborn , but I still use Baplayer 1.32 build 820 Since ffdshow is no longer updated, and got a H265 ...
    view more »


    Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com. All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2015 Codecs.com