5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 7.1.0
on 13 June 2011, reviewed by: Mishu

#40

The internal filter H264/AVC (DXVA) in Media Player Classic - home cinema is NOT workin' now on Windows 7.

It was working before,... that was the only way the full HD 1080i videos played well on my PC... with ffdshow video decoder the Full HD videos(in H.264 format) don't play well, 'cause it requires more resources than the internal filter I think... Can somebody help me pleaseee... :)

5

DirectVobSub (VSFilter) 2.40
on 11 June 2011, reviewed by: MikeN

#39

I had brand new Windows7 64-bit HomePremium OS. It has all the latest bells-and-whistles for home users Microsoft has to offer. Except subtitles in Windows Media Player (version 12).

Doh! I was really surprised WMP still didn't support SUB/SRT subtitle files out of the box.

I tried "everything" and finally gave up. Downloaded VLC video player and it supported subtitles out of the box. It would have been OK for me except that subtitle fonts looked a bit ugly and blocky when a video was in full screen mode. I guess I could have tweaked it somehow to look better but I was just looking for a solution, not tweaks.

Then I came across DirectVobSub 2.40.x 32bit version (WMP in 64bit Windows7 is by default 32bit application. Weird, I know). Installed DirectVobSub, launched WMP and voila! Nice looking subtitles out of the box. That's what I call a solution.

Thx DirectVobSub developers. You have done something MS should learn from you.

You make it sound so easy. =o) I have Windows7 64-bit HomePremium OS as well as Windows Media Player (version 12). Downloaded DirectVobSub-2.40.3093_x64 which didnt work and then I read your review about WMP being 32 bit by default (which is why Im replying to you).

I uninstalled the above mentioned version and installed vsfilter.2.39_nt instead (since I figured I dont know what Im doing so Ill let the installer do it).Under my Program Files (x86) there is a folder called DirectVobSub and within that folder are only two things. An uninstall.exe and a vsfilter.dll file.

Is the vsfilter.dll file supposed to be placed somewhere else? If so, could you please tell me where? I got lost reading the help guides.Your prompt response and help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

on 13 Jun 2011, by Mishy

2

Local Subtitles for WMP 1.5
on 08 June 2011, reviewed by: Rany

#38

I say bad as I have no more appropriate word to describe a non-working, non-documented whatsoever program. Installed on a freshly installed Win 7 64bit, no 3rd party codecs installed apart from Haali matroska splitter. First installed the 64bit version, checked the "make WMP64 bit default", launched WMP, surprise! 32 bit version launched.

Went to WMP64bit version and launched this one, plug-ins manager says "Local Subtitles for WMP" installed, alas, could not get it to display any of my (srt) subtitles along with the movie (same name, same directory of course).

Some help from author would come handy, but support is not available at the moment.

5

WinAVI Video Converter 11.4
on 07 June 2011, reviewed by: Kitty

#37

Cool converter, fast speed, easy to use, many formats including bluray file can be available to convert.

5

Windows Media Format 11 Runtime
on 07 June 2011, reviewed by: Vieze Man

#36

You'd better teach how to retrieve the windows media format runtime from the media player packages designed for any specific platform. That'll probably give a lot less errors.

Just download the media player package for your specific OS version and unpack it. One of the files is the wmfdist11.exe file which you are after. Unpacking is done with Total Commander (Alt+F9, unpack specific file), or any other utility capable of unpacking .exe files.

3

K-Lite Codec Pack 7.1.0 Full, Standard and Basic
on 05 June 2011, reviewed by: cherrypie

#35

if you can play movies in your media player but cant hear sound try to download xvid. it worked for me, i can play all my movies now

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 7.1.0
on 04 June 2011, reviewed by: L5G

#34

I just downloaded the K-Lite Mega Codec and have already made use of it. I have already found that it has fixed problems and given me support for everything I need. With the K-Lite Mega Codec, I will be shocked to ever again find a media file that I cannot play on my computer.

I would recommend this to anybody. The K-Lite Mega Codec is essential for any user on the Internet. This is worth downloading, no matter how large the file size, no matter how long it takes to download, and no matter how bad people claim it to be.

Any of those that are hesitant to download the K-Lite Mega Codec, I strongly recommend you download it.

-L5G

5

DirectVobSub (VSFilter) 2.40
on 03 June 2011, reviewed by: saraharry11

#33

wow it really works on my WMP.. love it!!! tnx a lot ^_^

5

AC3 Filter 1.63b
on 03 June 2011, reviewed by: Craiig

#32

I Just installed it there loads of movies on my hard drive was getting no sound and an error code ac3 sound or something after abit of searching i came across very quick install, now i have sound 10/10 brilliant programme!!

4

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 7.1.0
on 31 May 2011, reviewed by: jason

#31

Ive used k-lite mega for a year or so with no problems....
But theres something wrong with the 1.16 mega and the 2.34 versions.

I had to system restore on one machine to clear up regsvr.exe and activemovie window problems on XP Pro SP2 and the machine i'm on now is gonna need the same treatment i think. Mega pack 1.03 is fine.

4

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.1
on 31 May 2011, reviewed by: Hansen

#30

@Pavithran, it is possible, see "mpc/help/command line swithces". You edit(or add new)"open with"-command for the certain file type. Ie.in XP open: Explorer/Tools/Folder Options/File Types/AVI File, press "Advanced".

I only wish that mpc could open DVD-image files (ie. iso, img,..) without having to mount the file (or installing NERO). If anyone knows a trick, please tell:)(VLC does it, I know)

4

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 7.1.0
on 30 May 2011, reviewed by: Martin

#29

With the latest version 7.10 I'm not able to play some mkv files with Haali splitter.
Using the MPC's internal splitter or re-installing K-Lite with Gabest splitter for mkv and the file plays fine again.

5

Codec Pack All in 1 6.0.3.0
on 29 May 2011, reviewed by: Ames

#28

Wow! I have to admit I was skeptical, but downloading this worked. I had no audio on Windows Media with some files, but now they all work. Thank you so much! Definitely recommend this codec!!

4

DirectVobSub (VSFilter) 2.40
on 28 May 2011, reviewed by: Raven

#27

I have to say that I 'm Having the same issues ...
I Installed a pack of codecs and it had the new version and didn't work ...

So i Instaled the 2.39 version and it works like a charm ...
Hopefully, They can resolve this minor issue ...

Because if I have to upgrade the pack it means that all codecs will be updated and running, but if thios doesn't, I have to install a older version, which $uck$, but it's the only way ..
Thre's anyway we could contact the developer ?

3

Freemake Video Converter 2.2.0.1
on 28 May 2011, reviewed by: djb247365

#26

This is probably the best converter I've ever used. Really simple and works great. However, as of version 2.2.0.1, my files are not converting at all. Apparently from what I understand this was an accidental release. With that said, if you use this, go back to the version prior to this one and everything will work smoothly.

It would be nice if Freemake's website didn't show as a comment on every file that is encoded. That should definitely be changed in a future update. Otherwise, this is good software and I'll stick with until something better comes along.

2

MediaCoder 0.8.0.5158 r5
on 28 May 2011, reviewed by: JSDReg22

#25

the interface is a mess, really counter-intuitive,
it's completely opposite to all standard interfaces that we see in other similar GUI's,

The wizard setup is great, and really thought out, explains many things of the application's settings, and really guides the user what they want the program to do..... but then the program finally loads.... what a mess.... hundreds of boxes and settings exposed to the user....

the entire GUI needs re-structuring,

i would recommend

Handbrake,
Staxrip,
Fairuse Wizard,

MEGui (a learning curve for sure, but a powerful GUI none the less)

Xvid4PSP (quite good, the recent 5.x.x versions have come a long way)

AVIDemux (more of an editing tool, but still good functions concerning conversion possibilities)

i say again, MediaCoder needs a GUI that has the kind of thinking that went into the programs setup wizard.

5

DirectVobSub (VSFilter) 2.40
on 27 May 2011, reviewed by: sushil gurung

#24

thx it works on my wmp in win7

5

XP Codec Pack 2.5.1
on 27 May 2011, reviewed by: Dot

#23

About two weeks ago, my CPU got the 'XP Home Security' virus...to make a VERY LONG story short, my work files (after soooo many hours of creating new user profile, downloading antivirus software, and almost losing my mind) which need Windows Media Player, would sound like chipmunks gone amuk!!!

I had racked my brain trying to 'fix' this problem. Thank goodness I found this Codec Pack/site! After downloading and installing the XP Codec Pack, I now can use my WAV pedal again and my work files sound fine...NO MORE CHIPMUNKS :)

5

madFLAC 1.10
on 26 May 2011, reviewed by: Haines

#22

It works just like it says it does.

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 7.1.0
on 26 May 2011, reviewed by: ilham

#21

thanks to Raymonardo, the rmvb type now no longer asks for cook codec. It works!! ;)
K-Lite is the most player i always prefer when watching favorite movies. But recently they got some bugs, ain't it? Hope it will be fixed soon.. =)

5

AC3 Filter 1.63b
on 24 May 2011, reviewed by: kaaz

#20

im very happy..everthin work perfectly....the only site that help to solve my problem....cheers

5

Fraunhofer MPEG Layer-3 Audio Decoder
on 24 May 2011, reviewed by: shinchan

#19

thanks for the advice! i could finally listen to my music!!

5

LAME MP3 Encoder 3.99 beta
on 24 May 2011, reviewed by: james

#18

wow this is the best mp3 converter im able to save mp3 at 96kbps and they sound the same as 128kb now ill be able to put some ore songs on my 4gb mp3 player thanks

1

Windows XP AVI Fix 1.01
on 22 May 2011, reviewed by: Martin Sloan

#17

This is a scam. It doesn't fix anything. It doesn't give your system the ability to run avi's it just changes a setting in your avi capable viewer if you already have one.

5

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 21 May 2011, reviewed by: Cory

#16

Finally it works! Such an easy fix. That being said, has anyone had trouble with the sound? I can watch my videos through the HP quickplay, but I get no sound.

The other thing is that if I leave the files as ASX and move them into my Picasa 3 I can now watch them. Again, the issue is that I have no sound.

So close and yet so far.

Thanks for your help and it's a great site. I have been here before but never commented.



Cory

Same issue with .mp4 video generated by a D-link DCS-2210 camera. On W7, I can easily read the video but no sound. Audio codec is G.276. Any idea?

on 26 Apr 2012, by albator131

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.1
on 20 May 2011, reviewed by: truc

#15

I know this is not meant for a AV player.........


but is it possible to give mpc features for viewing images (like a slideshow) along with the ability to stertch 4:3 images to 16:9 (as for videos) and view it on a HDTV/normalTV as a slideshow ?

it would be nice!! hope it will be there in the next release

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2011-05-12
on 20 May 2011, reviewed by: spoozum

#14

To make it work:

1. You must have the right version depending on what player you use. A 64bit-player needs the 64bit-version of ffdshow, and 32bit-player needs 32bit version. This (sometimes) means the installation of both 32- and 64-bit versions to make all players work with ffdshow.

2. You need to set the priority to MAX in the ffdshow-setup. To do this, you must run ffdshow-configuration in administration-mode (right-click the setup in menu-bar and run 'as administrator'), then alter the priority-bar. Do this at all places / at both 32-bit and 64-bit versions to be sure.

Don't blame me if this is not official way 8-)

5

AC3 Filter 1.63b
on 19 May 2011, reviewed by: Jesus

#13

OMG I've been looking for something like this. Thanks a lot it worked great and very easy to install. Thanks :)

4

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.1
on 19 May 2011, reviewed by: Pavithran

#12

Very good but still,sometimes,I experience lagging when I'm watching AVI vids.I used the same file to be played in WMP and I dont see any lags.Media Player Classic is awesome.Fast responding unlike WMP which takes a while to play the song (maybe 2-3 sec or so..) but media player classic starts right away.I love that.

And there is another hiccup.The "Add to Playlist" option is not available for the media player classic.If there is one,things would be much easier.

Good luck,Your Awesomeness.

3

Adobe Media Player 1.8
on 19 May 2011, reviewed by: L_H_

#11

The player in direct link, or official mirror, is a version 1.7 of itself. I have the Creative Suite CS5 and it really contain the version 1.8 of player (Build 600929):http://www.4shared .com/file/K1If5YJL/adobe_media_player.html.


The player was descontinued, and would be good to have a copy of the latest version, for it is considered an good or best player, same in low definition videos quality. Support the following formats: MOV, MP4, MP4V, M4V, 3GP, 3GPP2, 3G2, F4V, FLV, and SWF natively. The performance is variable, depending of the processor.

Adobe makes their programs based in processor Intel (I can run this it program in one AMD Athlon XP, same being an CS5 integrant program - based in Intel SSE2 instruction). The version in this site is the 1.7, and it not enter in this notice. Read more in wikipedia.

thank you

on 15 Jun 2012, by rami

3

Freemake Video Converter 2.1.5
on 18 May 2011, reviewed by: Tempus3

#10

Good idea, but the net framework makes the software a no-go for me. I would really like to see the developers get rid of that requirement.

Freemake, however much I try to use, defies me. It is still way behind the other free Convertor X Media recode, now even better than Win Avi.

on 19 May 2011, by Zuleik

5

DFX Audio Enhancer 9.302
on 18 May 2011, reviewed by: SkyBlaze

#9

Ever wondered how to make your speakers louder?
Make you audio clearer? Or have super-hi bass?

DFX Audio Enhancer is your road to a whole new listening pleasure. Giving you whole loads of options to choose for your audio (bass, ambient, fidelity, 3DSurround, Dynamic Boost), it even comes with skins to suit your taste!

DFX Audio Enhancer REALLY does improve audio. Although only music players, it is very effective. In other words, DFX IS MAGIC!

I hope that FXSound will release another version, but this time altering the WHOLE audio output of a computer, for eg. When viewing vids in browser or even enhanced game SFX.

DFX Audio Enhancer all the way! Go go go~

1

DirectVobSub (VSFilter) 2.40
on 18 May 2011, reviewed by: Nyroi

#8

I can not get this vesion to work, so i go for 2.39 that version works with WMP 11 in Vista

4

DVDFab 8.0.9.2
on 18 May 2011, reviewed by: Glenn

#7

Img Burn not compatible with current version DVDFab 8.0.9.2 Have to use built in burner VSO which is slow

3

CDBurnerXP 4.3.8.2560
on 17 May 2011, reviewed by: Zuleikha

#6

Does not seem to work on Windows 7.

5

K-Lite Codec Pack 7.1.0 Full, Standard and Basic
on 17 May 2011, reviewed by: Gayan Kapila

#5

excellent choice for ppl who wants all codecs in one pack . i have been trusting k lite codec pack for years and i cant stop using the media player classic that comes with it because of its simplicity and options .

amazing combination keep it up and thx for spending your time for us we really appreciate it .

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2011-05-12
on 16 May 2011, reviewed by: Jack

#4

@Sentosa
Open FFDShow Audio Decoder and FFDShow Video Decoder and click Codecs on the left. Choose which formats you'd like to be handled by which decoder and click Apply/OK.

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2011-05-12
on 14 May 2011, reviewed by: Sentosa

#3

I downloaded the ffdshow software recently and read through the instructions, still did not find any info how to apply it.

Do I need to select the video to play through the ffdshow software, or it is not necessary at all to open and run this software as the programme once installed, will be effective in the background ?

If you insist on playing back videos that are encoded in codecs that have jpeg-trash in them or are distorted from being encoded at a low ksec, then you will find this program a definite blessing.

Not only does it have an option to run directly with Media Player Classic and do block-deinterleaving and other pre- and post- production outputs that can blur and filter out video artefacts but the codec is also a video encoder allowing you to encode multiple formats including .AVI using WMV XviD DivX Mp4 and several other popular formats as its backboard.We are rapidly entering an age where a video codec is not so much based on the quality it can compress a video but the quality of its output through pre- and post- filters that clean it before it plays it back to be viewed by an audience.

Modern XviD already has a pop-up that appears in your taskbar to clean your video by adding interleave and noise to remove artefacts.FFDShow does just that and can work with a large variety of video playback software and ultimately any video format to clean the video before being seen, Media Player Classic just being one of the programs it can work directly work.

You owe it to yourself to examine this incredible combination codec and filter that cleans and removes artefacts from your videos as they play back notwithstanding what video codec they were originally encoded in.I am rating it Very Good, not Excellent, because the interface is HUGE and may appear cumbersome and complex to some, such as myself. bot you in james natasha go thed ese we faot

on 20 May 2011, by nathan

I have the same question Where is the answer???

on 18 May 2011, by jeff

4

LAME ACM MP3 Codec 3.98.4
on 13 May 2011, reviewed by: zebulon

#2

if you encounter problems to install it under Seven (for ex), try the method explained at this url (http://granjow .net/virtualdub-tutorial-installing.html) -- this worked fine for me :)

5

DirectVobSub (VSFilter) 2.40
on 12 May 2011, reviewed by: some

#1

DirectvobSub 2.40 doesn't work on Win 7 x86 (WMP12), i see green icon, but there is no subtitles on screen (i tried avi and mkv files, no luck to see subs). I use VSFilter 2.39.5.3 and it works fine so far.


  • Orbit Downloader

  • this is the best and fasted downloader.
  • KMPlayer

  • everytime i install the the km playewr at the last moment of extaction it gets stopped automatically saying porunegud ...
  • MP3jam

  • nothing works after latest download.
    view more »


    Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com. All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2016 Codecs.com