1

3ivx MPEG-4 5.0.2
on 10 April 2011, reviewed by: dw817

#40

You know, I wouldn't mind if a codec was commercial and wanted money because it was really GOOD but this codec is REALLY bad. It's like comparable quality to Mpeg-1 for k/sec and that's using a 352x240 15fps 128k/sec encoding ! And I know what Mpeg-1 looks like at low bitrates cause I spent years encoding them !

To top it off, it =IS= commercial so you get a delicious cherry red candy notice striped across every frame that says, "3ivX Trial" and in case they think you're gonna miss seeing it, it blooming covers your entire video diagonally like a bad package stamp !

If you want to match 3ivx quality without the mouth-watering and savory stamp, just use the free version of TMPGENC to encode an MPEG-1 and compare the two for yourself. That's sad, isn't it ?

Outside of that, if you want the best surpassing DivX, XviD, and even WMV9 or RealMagic, at 128k/sec IMHO is =STILL= Google Video Codec (VP8) which (thankfully) =IS= 100% Free although at this point in the game deserves to be commercial quality software with the comparative tests I've run it on so far.

Grab it quick before it =ISN'T= free is all I can offer you at this stage in your video encoding sessions !

1

REALmagic MPEG-4 Video Codec 1.1
on 10 April 2011, reviewed by: dw817

#39

(New rating, color me 0:Disappointed)

What started as a simple search for this rare codec turned into a recorded account of all-out corporate warfare.

I - had no idea that Sigma Designs, the author of RealMagic had sucked - and I mean sucked hard - on the XviD sourcecode and then tried to call it their own creation later.

I FINALLY found the codec after a lotta searching but read the following before you do decide to install it yourself.

There is an article of interest found here:

http://forum.videohelp .com/threads/57361-XVID-HAS-BEEN-SHUT-DOWN-AS-REALMAGIC-STEALS-CODEC

Quoting from Wikipedia:

In July 2002, Sigma Designs released an MPEG-4 video codec called the REALmagic MPEG-4 Video Codec. Before long, people testing this new codec found that it contained considerable portions of Xvid code. Sigma Designs was contacted and confirmed that a programmer had based REALmagic on Xvid, but assured that all GPL code would be replaced to avoid copyright infringement. When Sigma Designs released the supposedly rewritten REALmagic codec, the Xvid developers immediately disassembled it and concluded that it still contained Xvid code, only rearranged in an attempt to disguise its presence. The Xvid developers decided to stop work and go public to force Sigma Designs to respect the terms of the GPL. After articles were published in Slashdot and The Inquirer, in August 2002 Sigma Designs agreed to publish their source code.

I remember using it in the past (RealMagic) and I was pleasantly pleased with the quality of it, but I guess not now that I know it was ripped from hallowed XviD by Sigma (Smegma?), still, I wanna compare the two of them so ...

Before you install it yourself, read the following:

http://forum.doom9 .org/archive/index.php/t-32212.html

If you still wanna risk it, here ya go, but don't blame me if you have problems later cause it's got no uninstaller.

http://www.avs .com.ru/download76.html

I'm outta here !

5

SUPER 2011 build 47
on 09 April 2011, reviewed by: Gordon

#38

v2011.build.47 (March 12, 2011) is an EXCELLENT program.
encodes flawlessly my VOB files to MP4 and my AVIs to WebM for web streaming.
cheers

5

MP3 Repair Tool 1.5.2
on 09 April 2011, reviewed by: jordan

#37

Holy crap it actually worked!!!! I had mp3 files with all these weird symbols that would pop up when i played it and now its fixed all i did was select remove 1 and done.

5

UMPlayer 0.92
on 09 April 2011, reviewed by: MArk

#36

Only good things. I tried several operations on UMPlayer. So far, flawless.

5

iPhone PC Suite 2.9.50.215
on 08 April 2011, reviewed by: shakir

#35

Dear All i got good experience it worked.

If somebody is getting error during downloading please there is link download it from here i personally checked its working after installation pls follow up the steps which the ADMIN mention to delete two files.

After that again open the program it will start something take little time may downloading from net after its done....

2

Google VP8 Video Codec 1.1.0
on 08 April 2011, reviewed by: BaKalism

#34

As my result, seem VP8 not so good with anime encoding. I tested x264 and VP8 with same files, my result is VP8 got a lot of blur but good shape, somehow it loss a lot of detail and x264 overall is good but not blur and less shaping than VP8 and yes x264 don't loss any detail like VP8.

My opinion is VP8 need to develop more to step forward on x264

Sorry for my bad language

5

XP Codec Pack 2.5.1
on 06 April 2011, reviewed by: Sunil N

#33

Awesome. My media player started playing the vob files post installing of this.

5

GPL MPEG-1/2 DirectShow Decoder Filter 0.1.2
on 06 April 2011, reviewed by: Emma

#32

It really works for me,but not working for divx player..but using VLC Media Player and windows media player it works really well..

Thanks to uploader!

2

DVD-Cloner 8.20
on 05 April 2011, reviewed by: Deadshot

#31

I had a bad experience with it. After ripping a DVD and burned using Nero. The DVD plays well until an hour of movie, after an hour it jumps itself until the end. Any idea what is causing the jumping?
I have a Panasonic DVD player.

3

DVDStyler 1.8.3 final
on 04 April 2011, reviewed by: Ben

#30

I'v been using DVDS for a while and it works very well. It's easy to use because there are no bells and whistles.

There are two problems that needs to be fixed in order for DVDS to be truly a good product.
1) It can create 16:9 videos but output is not HD even if source file is.
2) It has problems burning directly to DVD depending on hardware. I solved this problem buy burning to ISO first and use a different tool to burn the ISO file to disc. It never failed this way.

5

Winamp 5.61.3133
on 04 April 2011, reviewed by: Valkyr

#29

Winamp is the best - if you install it properly it is not bloatware.

Use it with enhancer 0.17 plugin - it is an old plugin but once you install it, it changes all your mp3s to pure sound bliss. windows 7 needs an enhancer wrapper - google it - not big only kb.

been using winamp+enhancer and never change - dont even bother about foobar or other -you can't match the combination

5

Easy CD-DA Extractor 2011.2
on 03 April 2011, reviewed by: Gary M

#28

This is the most featured Audio Converter that works. The multiple parallel converters feature is awesome !

Gives me error free rips every time, perfect !!

5

fre:ac (formely BonkEnc) 1.0.18
on 03 April 2011, reviewed by: Sayueri

#27

Best free audio ripper and converter I've come across. It's fast and the quality of the files is excellent.

5

Winamp 5.61.3133
on 02 April 2011, reviewed by: Dwight

#26

By far the best player/ free converter @24/32bit 192khz! Offers reference quality playback @ 64 bit floating point calculation/ 225db dynamic range with Power FX2 paid plugin (need a robust i series CPU)! I play it over HDMI on my Home Theater to enjoy excellent stereo imaging and high fidelity.

I have compared it with Window media 12, Spider, Nero Mulrimedia Hub 10 etc and found that Winamp 5.62 wins hands down.

Free version does not allow ripping to mp3, high bit HE ACC etc. However, you get free ripping into 320bit LC AAC, 128bit HE AAC, VBR/CBR WMA Pro, FLAC etc

Winamp has loads of customisation/settings right up to the plugin levels and hence make it a audiophile grade player.

i followed C:\WINDOWS\System32\OggDSuninst.exe
and uninstaledl it. it works well now, thanks for info. it helped alot here

1

K-Lite Codec Pack 7.0.0 Full, Standard and Basic
on 31 March 2011, reviewed by: svizac69

#24

This app has become completely useless for 70% of the people because MPEG-4 encoder (along with 90% of other useful encoders)in FFdshow VFW is GONE! For f@ck sake leave it as an option... I guess You don't want users to do their encodings anymore.

In the last 3 months everybody I know has said farewell to this codec pack because of this single flaw. Good luck with it...and btw, FAREWELL!!

K-Lite_Codec_Pack_580_Mega.exe Please use an older version, i dont know why they removed it..

on 24 Jul 2011, by Older version

5

LAV CUVID Decoder 0.2
on 28 March 2011, reviewed by: 555

#23

Good

I think LAV CUVID Decoder is better than CoreAVC

4

AutoGK (Auto Gordian Knot) 2.55
on 28 March 2011, reviewed by: Nathan

#22

I really like AutoGK as it makes conversion really easy.It is what I use to make AVI before turning it into MKV.

I sometimes do get the out of sync audio but instead of not using the video I downloaded virtual dub which lets me fix it really quickly.

I also got 'no suitable audio decompresor installed'on VD which I ignore and continue to fix my movie.
Perfect!!!!

5

Codec 8.4
on 27 March 2011, reviewed by: SENOO

#21

It is wonderful that we can use the newest codec.

5

VLC (VideoLAN Client) 1.1.8
on 26 March 2011, reviewed by: Mike S

#20

I started using VLC about 4 or 5 years ago, when Windows Media Player wouldn't play a lot of the movies I had download,and never looked back.

Version 1.1.4 was real buggy with certain codecs for me but 1.1.8 everything so far is fine. I love the ability to customize so many settings, and the fact it take almost anything I can throw at it.

I donate to this project when ever I can.

Rating 9/10

5

AC3 Filter 1.63b
on 26 March 2011, reviewed by: David

#19

Thanks so much it fix my problem straight away (dolby ac3 audio code 8192 ) i downloaded v 1.46

5

DVDStyler 1.8.3 rc2
on 26 March 2011, reviewed by: Mike

#18

I use DVDStyler all of the author movies I have downloaded from torrents. Given the flex of this app, I can make them look pretty professional.

I have used avi ,mp4, mp3, mkv, flv, & even srt subtitle files with no problems. On the menus you can use png, jpeg, and ico files for backgrounds and buttons. You can dvds longer by lowering the bit rate, and make slide-shows on the fly.

Really the only complaint I have is when using wide screen movies they are stretched to fit a 16:9 screen and the picture is warped. The best work around is to add black borders to the original video on top & bottom so the ratio stays the same. This should be a built in option.

I rate DVDStyler 9 out of 10

5

1by1 1.72
on 25 March 2011, reviewed by: Alan

#17

I searched for this kind of file player and tried most of them out there. I found that none of the others could provide the features and ease of use that 1by1 could provide.

I absolutely love not having to create playlists or download some type of propriatary software to enable the playing of the music files I have. I wanted a randomizer to prevent the line up of my music becoming predictable and stale.

This player is by far 100% better than all the BS jukebox / DJ player software apps offered for free or for sale on the internet. Of course there are several improvements that the developers could make to 1by1, but for now the player meets and exceeds my needs in it's current form. I'de like to say thank you to the software developers for creating this software and for offering as freeware!!

They truly understood what was needed in a randomizer player and how using it can totally maximize my enjoyment and listenability of the music which I have collected with pride over the years.

Thank you.
Alan M - Toronto, Ontario Canada

1

DVDFab 8.0.8.5
on 25 March 2011, reviewed by: clyde

#16

i recently downloaded the dvdfab 8.077en and it doesnt work properly when i click on the monkey icon on my desktop it states i have to go online to fix the program and it never goes to the online to the site to get it fixed

1

CUE Splitter 1.2 final
on 25 March 2011, reviewed by: dsfdgfd

#15

How does split flac since it doesnt recongnise flac ? It $uck$

5

AviDemux 2.5.4
on 24 March 2011, reviewed by: Praveen Kumar

#14

Excellent program. Built in codecs, not found any problem while converting to different formats

4

Folder2Iso 1.5
on 24 March 2011, reviewed by: anon

#13

I have been using this program for like forever with not one not even one problem.

Lovely piece of kit.

Sadly no context menu support though

1

Adobe Flash Player 10.2.153.1 final
on 23 March 2011, reviewed by: Lucy Fair

#12

No sync. Poor hardware support.

Tons of bugs working as backdoors.

Looks more like a spyware suite and a malware launcher.

5

AVI ReComp 1.5.3
on 21 March 2011, reviewed by: xenesys

#11

easy, excellent works. a very good software :D

1

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 20 March 2011, reviewed by: Paul Louis Seize

#10

After having this installed I had very few issues, or so I thought. After about 3 months of haveing certain avi files causing Windows Media Player to crash I uninstalled this codec pack and it worked fine. Ironic that a codec is suposed to help files work is messing them up.

My oppionion is that they lumped these codecs together without seeing which ones conflicted. If you're having BEC errors THIS IS THE PROBLEM.

1

iPhone PC Suite 2.9.50.215
on 20 March 2011, reviewed by: Blue

#9

Doesn't even start, useless crap. 1/5

5

Codec Tweak Tool 4.8.4
on 18 March 2011, reviewed by: vance

#8

You installed/uninstalled Radlight Player and/or other Radlight Software after reading fake black hat internet propaganda reviews.

Now your system is F@*ked! Gspot tells you it's screwed, but can't do anything to help you, well finally this tool does something.

Stop right now, close all of your other tabs linking to various bullsh@t 'apps' claiming to help you repair codecs and install this one.

This tool actually does something quickly and lets you get back to watching pr0n instead of screwing around with your filters and codecs and reading various articles with 20-step instructions on how register this and test that BS.

Whoever developed this, THANK YOU!!!!

5

Realtek ALC882 HD Audio Codecs 2.58
on 18 March 2011, reviewed by: Tran Thanh Nhan

#7

This version works OK under XP !

5

Media Player Classic - Home Cinema 1.5.1.2987
on 18 March 2011, reviewed by: guilherme

#6

just a question: how can this version number be higher than the one found on the official site?

This version is compiled by XvidVideo; it is specified on download links.

on 18 Mar 2011, by admin

3

Xvid Video Codec 1.3.0
on 18 March 2011, reviewed by: RottieGirl

#5

This version seems to make my avi thumbnail images upside down.

2

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2011-03-07
on 17 March 2011, reviewed by: Tom

#4

Downloaded the latest 64 bit but it will not run on Win7 64 bit. My processor supports MMx,SSE and SSe2 as required.

5

VAC3ACM 0.3a
on 16 March 2011, reviewed by: Al G

#3

The new version of this AC3/DTS ACM codec is inside the AC3 Filter.

5

DirectVobSub (VSFilter) 2.39
on 15 March 2011, reviewed by: flik_ganteng26

#2

it works well on my windows 7 on power dvd 10 mark II ultra version.

:)

Hi, how did you make it run with PDVD 10 ? I have win 7 x64 and tried the Always load option in DirectVobSub and what it does is:it appears for a very brief period in the notification area of the taskbar and then disappears. Of course, the movie doesnt show any subtitle (its an AVI file with a SUB extension, if it makes any difference).

I have the same problem in PowerDVD 11.Thanks in advance,James.

on 09 May 2011, by James

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 7.0.0
on 14 March 2011, reviewed by: hazizi

#1

KLM is my only codec I prefer to use since 2004...

it easy, simple, , support most video, light and fast...

I hope for the next KLM Codec...it would have video rotating feature...

coz some of my recording video was record upside down...

it would be useful if have it...


  • SmartRipper

  • It outputs vob files to computer speedy and with time set by chapters :)
  • Helium Audio Converter

  • It converts any 24-bit file into 16-bit file without notice. I lost a lot of 24-bit original recordings!!!! Never ...
  • BSPlayer

  • This is a risky player to download. It contains Adware and Trojans. Once installed will cause the PC to ...
    view more »


    Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com. All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2014 Codecs.com