Winamp Community Update Project 1.99.15 reviews

4.23 from 43 Reviews
Winamp 5.623
adrian
on 24 December 2011
confirming that there is a general problem with winamp not closing properly; application need to be killed in task manager; tried removing plugins, having clean install with only basic components to play music but still it doesn't work right. more and more problems... disappointing!
Review # 1

Question: what IS the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question above.

Winamp 5.622
sixor
on 27 October 2011
winamp is awesome since ancient times, too bad it is very bloated and full of crap this days, you need like 2 minutes unticking all the crap from setup,

after that you need to config a litthe, disable internet, but in the end the player is great

it was epic in the 2.xx era,
Review # 2

Question: what IS the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question above.

Winamp 5.61.3133
Valkyr
on 04 April 2011
Winamp is the best - if you install it properly it is not bloatware.

Use it with enhancer 0.17 plugin - it is an old plugin but once you install it, it changes all your mp3s to pure sound bliss. windows 7 needs an enhancer wrapper - google it - not big only kb.

been using winamp+enhancer and never change - dont even bother about foobar or other -you can't match the combination
Review # 3

Question: what IS the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question above.

Winamp 5.61.3133
Dwight
on 02 April 2011
By far the best player/ free converter @24/32bit 192khz! Offers reference quality playback @ 64 bit floating point calculation/ 225db dynamic range with Power FX2 paid plugin (need a robust i series CPU)! I play it over HDMI on my Home Theater to enjoy excellent stereo imaging and high fidelity.

I have compared it with Window media 12, Spider, Nero Mulrimedia Hub 10 etc and found that Winamp 5.62 wins hands down.

Free version does not allow ripping to mp3, high bit HE ACC etc. However, you get free ripping into 320bit LC AAC, 128bit HE AAC, VBR/CBR WMA Pro, FLAC etc

Winamp has loads of customisation/settings right up to the plugin levels and hence make it a audiophile grade player.
Review # 4

Question: what IS the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question above.

Winamp 5.57.2943
Spike
on 18 June 2010
Slow and full of stupid plugins. I liked the 2.xxx but now only Foobar.
Review # 5

Question: what IS the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question above.

Winamp 5.572.2830
Angelitosman1GWEN
on 26 April 2010
vous etes les meilleurs du mondes et merci et longue vie a winamp
Review # 6

Question: what IS the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question above.

Winamp 5.541.2165
Jazzy Jay
on 01 December 2008
" reminds me of v3.0 , except this 5.2 is the worst yet, also be warned the Shoutcast browser and online sections track everything you do by way of Omniture WebBugs and a unique ID assigned to your machine.
tread with extreme caution or stick with v5.13 "


I have used winamp for a long time i liked it due to the fact i found it responsive and non intrusive. Not anymore it is the total opposite of what it once was its total Bloatware even bordering on Spyware with the gracenote and web tracking feature etc.

For e.g i run it on my Main rig X48-DS4 MOBO Q6700 @ 2.66GHz 2 x ATi 4850 in crossfire 4 GB DDR2 2 x 500GB Seagate F1 HD's XP SP3 DX9.0c the system is far from slow yet when i run winamp 5.3 and up it wont respond when i want to close it even if their is nothing else running task manager shows Winamp consuming 48+ MB RAM and the CPU usage is so tied up i cant even bring up task manager and have to wait for about 20-40 seconds, I couldnt even open a web browser to disconnect my net connection or a folder on PC whilst "Slugamp" decided it wanted to do something without me knowing and then hoggin all my CPU time or cycles whilst it done its spying crap i guess, reason i say this is as soon as i checked my routers logs to see what IP adress' were contacted from winamp i found 90% of the IP's and traffic on my router being from winamp!

So now i have to discnnect my LAN / CAT5 cable physically and only then do i get my PC back from winamp unless i want to wait 40 seconds sometimes more and if its not just waiting it will just not respond at all cant even acess it in task manager like wtf is wrong with this application really have made this application from great to bloated crapware imo and i am saddened that i bought the PRO version thinking that would cure my problems with not responding and calling the net but no it was the same!

Its gone the way NERO has gone and ppl can say what they will about it but facts are facts i know plenty of old school WinAmp users who are fed up with it and are using alternate applications tehirs heaps around!

AS for the blogger i am not trying to dismiss any opinions of his or other readers im just putting forward what i found and why i wont use it anymore, i dont see why i should pay for something that spys on my behaviour also!
Review # 7

Question: what IS the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question above.

Winamp 5.54.2145
nabil
on 28 July 2008
I like it so much
Review # 8

Question: what IS the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question above.

Winamp 5.54.2145
Chuck
on 17 July 2008
HELP!
Winamp does not close properly upon exiting in recent versions. It hangs computers requiring a full reboot. In addition, although unchecked the DSP Shoucast stream always attempts to connect. AND cannot disconnect from shoutcast streaming by hitting dinconnect/kill !?!? FRUSTRATING!!


Computers:

P4 2.4ghz
P4 3.Oghz
Dual P3 (1.0ghz)
all WinXP SP2
Review # 9

Question: what IS the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question above.

Winamp 5.5 build 1640
Kingjeste
on 17 October 2007
I'm not too crazy about the new winamp.. Feels too much like itune.. umm. slow.. it has problem with cddb info showing up on media library. when i insert a cd.. no cddb info show(yes i'm connect to the internet) .. So, i went back to version 5.35.. where things work the way it should..
Review # 10

Question: what IS the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question above.

Winamp 5.5 build 1640
Hari
on 13 October 2007
Winamp 5.5 has another prob,the prob is that while closing winamp in Bento skin, even though the the winamp is closed, still in task manager the process "winamp.exe" is running and the mem usuage goes on increasing from 10mb to 30mb and then suddenly the process is terminated. my comp configuration is

P4,1GB Ram, With 2.45 Ghz
Review # 11

Question: what IS the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question above.

Winamp 5.5 build 1640
Hari
on 12 October 2007
Winamp 5.5 rocks but there is problem that i don't know why it occur the probs is thst while changing from bento skin to any other classic skin, the default classic skin's equalizer appears, even though there is a a equalizer
Review # 12

Question: what IS the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question above.

Winamp 5.5 build 1568
Winamp 5.5 Beta 1568
on 21 September 2007
Winamp rules. Always !!!
Review # 13

Question: what IS the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question above.

Winamp 5.34 final
Aslam
on 12 May 2007
WOW! very good
Review # 14

Question: what IS the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question above.

Winamp 5.34 build 1195 beta
anchoe
on 25 March 2007
this is aplication very excellent and simple fou using. i thing this is perfect
Review # 15

Question: what IS the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question above.

Write a review or post a comment about Winamp Community Update Project 1.99.15.

All submitted reviews & comments will be moderated.