Vista Codec Package 7.2 reviews

4.02 from 117 Reviews
Vista Codec Package 5.7.9
laura newell
on 26 July 2010
for those of u using non panda virus scanners not all scanners detect vista codec packs virus but panda does so i suggest trying that then reinstalling ur original virus scaner also it seems to be connected to bing toolbar too so be careful with that ive already contact norton

Question: what is the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question

Vista Codec Package 5.6.8
Scientific Frontline
on 29 April 2010
@Jim Schaffer
It should have been fine, but as reported before... there are many download sites that have injected Trojan/Viruses in the package. The worst of them is "brothersoft .com."

It is best to download VCP from the source: http://shark007 .net

Keep in mind "free-codecs.com" is not at all responsible for what you get from the mirror download sites. They are just are a well trusted review and link site.

Although I hate to do this on a review for a product, I would really suggest K-Lite Mega Codecs, and use the MPHC player that is offered with it.
Heidi-Ann

Question: what is the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question

Vista Codec Package 5.6.8
Jim Schaffer
on 27 April 2010
The thought was there (having only the best of the best codecs installed), but the install wen't terribly wrong! Thank Goodness for Microsoft recovery! After installing this codec package for Vista, my email locked up and I couldn't get any browser other than IE to even start anymore. Printing from IE would even lock up the application. Rather than trying to UNINSTALL the app, I opted to utilize the Microsoft Recovery just before the install. Recovery fixed all my problems with the install. Now I just still have a problem viewing .mp4 movies in Google's Picasa. Solution anyone? (I'm not sure that the installed vista codec package would have fixed the problem as I panicked into recovering my system before even trying).

I'm running Windows Vista Home Premium with SP2 (32bit) on an HP Pavilion dv6000 laptop.

Question: what is the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question

Vista Codec Package 5.6.4
Scientific Frontline
on 21 March 2010
Dear Dan,
I downloaded the latest package in Sandboxie and checked with Norton 360. The file is clean.
Please indicated which mirror you downloaded from so that can be checked and report to the good guys at Codec.com. There is unfortunately a few mirror site that come up at Codecs.com that have been known to be infected. I also have noticed that Codecs.com takes affirmative action to remove those links.
What puzzles me Dan is why you installed it if Norton's said it was infected. Set your download MRG. to scan after download, and you would not had an issue.

I personally don't use this package, but thoroughly tested it and found it to be a very clean and well thought package.

For those who want to be more security, highly suggest you learn how to use Sandboxie before moving a program to regular program files.
http://www.sandboxie .com

Heidi-Ann

Question: what is the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question

Vista Codec Package 5.6.4
Dan Bond
on 20 March 2010
The first button i clicked i got ATTACKED by the TROJON VIRUS which is an extemely dangerious virus this was detected by NORTON360
so PLEASE TO ANYONE JUST DONT DOWNLOAD IT BECAUSE U WILL END UP PAYING AT LEAST 60 ON REMOVING TH BUGGER AT PCWORLD just some advice for ya innocent people :)

Question: what is the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question

Vista Codec Package 5.5.2
Hooper
on 10 January 2010
Two of the files created by this progam...
C:\Program Files (x86)\VistaCodecPack\Tools\conflict.exe
and
C:\Program Files (x86)\VistaCodecPack\Tools\setupinfo.exe
were detected by Avira AntiVir as being infected with the TR/Dropper.Gen trojan.

False positive or not, I'm not taking the chance.

Question: what is the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question

Vista Codec Package 5.5.2
Britnie
on 04 January 2010
Works beautifully. Downloaded in minutes, already have my movie ready to go! No virus detected. Very easy to use.

Question: what is the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question

Vista Codec Package 5.5.0
I want to uninstall my old version 470. But Error. Sadly I have deleted the 470 master setup.

Now I need old version 470 setup to reinstall and then remove it cleanly before installing this 550.

Somebody tell me where I can get the old 470?

Question: what is the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question

Vista Codec Package 5.4.7
darwesh
on 28 October 2009
No virus. No problem installing. Great distribution - thanks very much

Question: what is the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question

Vista Codec Package 5.4.0
Carol
on 28 August 2009
Mazabuka, if you havent broken the elastic on your mouse ears yet, put them on, zip up your mouse suit, and press the uninstall button on the Help tab.

Question: what is the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question

Vista Codec Package 5.3.8
Mazabuka
on 22 August 2009
How do you un-install this heap of mickey-mouse crap?

Question: what is the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question

Vista Codec Package 5.3.7
Richard Snow
on 18 August 2009
plays the movies ok, but Mcaffee detected a virus

Question: what is the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question

Vista Codec Package 5.3.7
Aiden
on 14 August 2009
After installation McAfee detected a virus which changes itself to prevent detection. It deleted the virus and I un-installed the codec pack. People really make me sick who get kicks out of this kind of practice. My advice, dont even download it.

Question: what is the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question

Vista Codec Package 5.3.6
djb
on 09 August 2009
This is very good IMHO. I actually have the new Win7 codecs version of this, and it works very well. This now creates a thumbnail for Flash files which is very smart. It has everything that you need, including FFDShow. I did NOT get a virus when I downloaded this. Might have been a false detection. It works great and all my files play without any problems.

Question: what is the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question

Vista Codec Package 5.3.5
Anonymous
on 24 July 2009
Location: C:\Program Files\VistaCodecPack\Tools\renderer32.exe

A virus is a self-replicating program that can harm your computer, compromise its security, and damage valuable files.

it's a worm
W32/autorun.worm.zf.gen

Question: what is the second word?

In order to prevent spam answer the question

Write a review or post a comment about Vista Codec Package 7.2.

All submitted reviews & comments will be moderated.