QuickTime Alternative 3.2.2 reviews

3.71

from 256 Reviews

Write a review

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.67
on 31 December 2005 , reviewed by: confused

# 96

With QTA can I put dvds into the new video ipod format?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.67
on 27 December 2005 , reviewed by: Dave D

# 95

Hi,

Been using qt alt for a while now, and always found itexcellent.

HoweverI have just got Encyclopedia Britanica and found that it doesn't work with it. I installed Quick time (now they have bundled it with Itunes and it is 32mb!) and it works.
Hope this is fixed so so I can rid my system of the bloat

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.67
on 22 December 2005 , reviewed by: BLKMGK

# 94

REALLY need M4V support! :-(

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

QuickTime Alternative 1.67
on 21 December 2005 , reviewed by: Dan McMaster

# 93

I have used qt alternative in the past, and it worked great. However, the latest version wont work in either IE or Firefox.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.67
on 07 December 2005 , reviewed by: valeriy chernyy

# 92

very good

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.66 Final
on 05 December 2005 , reviewed by: AlbertM

# 91

I've been having trouble with the last couple of QTA versions out there. The latest, v1.66 final, is no exception.

When I try to view movie previews at the Apple Trailers website, I get the following error:

"An error occurred inside a plug-in contained on this page"
"The plugin did not initialize properly."

When I try to view QT files on my PC, MPC just crashes.

If I open QTA settings and select "File Types", QTA crashes and gives me the following error:
"An exception occurred while trying to run "Shell32.dll,Control_RunDLL "C:\Program Files\QuickTime Alternative\QTSystem\quicktime.cpl""

I think all three problems are related and I've used QTA at home with no difficulties, so it's probably something wrong with my system here at work.

Anyone have some advice?

Sincerely,
Albert

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.66 Final
on 03 December 2005 , reviewed by: Andy

# 90

Hi, Love your work! Just wanting to know when you will add support for panorama .mov files? PLEASE add this feature, so that QTA can truly replace QT!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.66 Final
on 02 December 2005 , reviewed by: lantzn

# 89

Hey guys Apple's QT Pro nag buttons are date sensitive and can be made to stop. Shut all programs, change the date on your computer to say 10 years ahead and reboot. Open QT and choose later on the nag dialog (you may have to keep the date changed until it nags you). Change your date back AFTER the nag dialog Later is chose and reboot. QT will no longer nag you. It's set to nag I think something like once a day so now it won't nag you until the day after the future date you chose.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

QuickTime Alternative 1.66 Final
on 02 December 2005 , reviewed by: Arieligena

# 88

Quicktime alternative and K-Lite Mega Codec are not working for my QT movies!!. I had to install original quicktime standalone.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.66 Final
on 28 November 2005 , reviewed by: Fuzzy

# 87

Quicktime Alternative is good stuff ~ it runs the vast majority of the .mov files I've come across with only the occasional problem, and none of that annoying "Buy Quicktime Pro: Now|Later" garbage. I agree with the one post that it would be cool to have support for QT, and Real in the same package.
All in all, I'm very happy I heard about this... it's made me not hate Apple so much, after not being reminded what a pain in the butt they are all the time.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

QuickTime Alternative 1.66 Final
on 24 November 2005 , reviewed by: Xpuntar

# 86

Just today I checked some .mov files on my computer and find out, that fully updated Avast antivirus finds a trojan in one of QuickTime alternative 1.66 component. Is this true or just false alarm? But the most annoying is that Avast prevents Media Player Classic to play the file and reports and error (error in a one QT alternative component file).

Administrator's Note: Obviously, it's a false alarm.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.66 Final
on 23 November 2005 , reviewed by: Wilie

# 85

Is it possible to have a combined installer for Quicktime alternative, Real Alternative and Media Player classic with an option to instal or not of the three? It would make thing a bit more streamlined i think.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.66 Final
on 23 November 2005 , reviewed by: Andrew Gavrilov

# 84

http://media1.break .com/content/vid_tester/vids.zip

These files are playing very bad using these codecs, but with standard quicktime they are ok.

Could you please look at them and tell us what is the problem?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.66 Final
on 18 November 2005 , reviewed by: wossName

# 83

QT Alternative 1.66 crashes 10 seconds into this movie:

http://www.roadrun .com/shared/downloads/DresdenDolls/dd_coin_480x270.mov

These are the details from the crash dialog:

-----
AppName: mplayerc.exe
AppVer: 6.4.8.6
ModName: quicktimeessentials.qtx
ModVer: 7.0.3.50
Offset: 0002b151
-----

Or is it an MPC problem ?

Otherwise, great job !

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.66 Final
on 15 November 2005 , reviewed by: Fixa

# 82

A fix for Quicktime playing mp3s in firefox.

Tools > Options > Downloads > Plugins
Disable MPEG

Fixed. Remember to give out mad propz to the mystery Fixa... whoever he is!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.66 Final
on 15 November 2005 , reviewed by: cyberloner

# 81

Quicktime plugin in mozilla will keep playing mp3 even uncheck the plugin not to play it.
problem solved with
del "%programfiles%\mozilla. org\Mozilla\plugins\npqtplugin3.dll" >nul
but hope the apple fix the stupic plugin.
It works fine in IE but it anti-mozilla and firefox too....

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.65
on 09 November 2005 , reviewed by: blunden

# 80

It's great, except for one thing. It doesn't play m4v-files. These are the most important files to me. Is there any chance of it beeing implementet in this nice codec?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

QuickTime Alternative 1.64
on 03 November 2005 , reviewed by: tiny

# 79

The browser plugin doesn't work.
Viewing a movie trailer in Apple .com results in a plugin error, both in IE and Firefox
http://www.apple .com/trailers/

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.64
on 02 November 2005 , reviewed by: Anonymous

# 78

Front page: "QuickTime HD clips can be played (after renaming to .mp4) if both ffdshow and Haali mp4 splitter are installed (e.g. by K-Lite Mega Codec Pack)."

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.64
on 01 November 2005 , reviewed by: Julius

# 77

I was wondering the same thing about that sickeing take-over by Quicktime on you browser's mp3 association!

Since the Alternative doesn't work with m4v and mp4, files that appear everywhere on the net because those idiots have the money (even though Apple-share on the internet is only 5%),
I had to install the QT standalone version from (cr)Apple.
I HATE these guys with their arrogant software. Anyone know a solution?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.63
on 27 October 2005 , reviewed by: nic

# 76

hi, can anyone tell me how to off the autoplay of mp3 files?..when i click a link to download a mp3 file(example download.mp3), instead of download it from my browser, it opened quicktime and played the song.how do i prevent this?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

QuickTime Alternative 1.63
on 27 October 2005 , reviewed by: Matt

# 75

1.63 is broken for me. Crashes whenever I try to play a Mov.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.63
on 26 October 2005 , reviewed by: Oliver

# 74

QT 1.63 works perfectly for me when it comes to playing MOVs in a stand-alone Window Media Player under Win XP. But it fails to produce results when playing MOVs when they've been embedded in a Powerpoint 2003 presentation as movie files. THIS IS NUMBER ONE on my personal wish list. Please contact me about this if you know how to fix this... (without embedding WMP object). Thx

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

QuickTime Alternative 1.63
on 22 October 2005 , reviewed by: savagcl

# 73

Quicktime 7.0.3.25 causes firefox, mozilla
to crash or hang. Just dont play mov files.
Also, MPC dont crash but dont play either.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

QuickTime Alternative 1.63
on 21 October 2005 , reviewed by: mnm222876

# 72

Latest version of QT Alt is broken. 1.63 won't play any .mov files. I tried to uninstall and go back to earlier versions, but without any luck. Looks like no more viewing of QT movies...

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.63
on 20 October 2005 , reviewed by: Superman

# 71

anyone know how to install itunes with out there quicktime player?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.63
on 19 October 2005 , reviewed by: Servietski

# 70

A bug

I found a problem or a bug for others... with QuickTime Alternative 1.63. The size cache, by default is of 100MB. But QT-Alt filled my HardDrive, it exceeds this limit of 100MB. Conclusion, often emptied the cache of QT-Alt.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.63
on 17 October 2005 , reviewed by: stubb

# 69

i just dl'ed the latest itunes release (6) and before installing that, updated my quicktime alternative to 1.63. no go. itunes won't start even tough the options panel clearly says that the version is 7.0.3..

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.63
on 16 October 2005 , reviewed by: Voytas

# 68

Has found somebody some bugs in QuickTime Alternative v. 1.63 ?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.63
on 15 October 2005 , reviewed by: pallokallo

# 67

Thank you for updating to 7.0.3!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.62
on 14 October 2005 , reviewed by: Anon

# 66

Excellent alternative to Quicktime. Awaiting update to 7.0.3 for itunes 6 though. keep it up.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.62
on 13 October 2005 , reviewed by: ballhead

# 65

This is the greatest thing ever.. But now apple has released iTunes 6 and it requires Quicktime 7.0.3.. and this has 7.0.2 so iTunes wont start.. and i dont want to install that f**king apples quicktime grpahicf**k..

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.62
on 12 October 2005 , reviewed by: Ant

# 64

http://www .apple .com/ipod/ads/ crashes QuickTime Alternative in both IE6.0 SP2 and Mozilla v1.7.12. :(

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.62
on 26 September 2005 , reviewed by: Vijay Santhanam

# 63

QT Alternative is awesome.

Where is the development page for QTAlt?

I'd like to report bugs and issues and perhaps contribute to development.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.62
on 25 September 2005 , reviewed by: Offsprung

# 62

I am back trying to work with Alt again. As bad as it was I tried using 6 again of the real QT. All was well until it updated and then crashed every time it open (instead of refreshing the screen every 5 secs) I guess apple wanted me to buy the latest version. Then I inserted a multisession cda with mac movies and it restarted my puter. SHINE THOSE IDIOTS AT APPLE! Hopefully alt for most and those with no sound imtoo mov converter. And u know that little player is the shishnik!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

QuickTime Alternative 1.62
on 23 September 2005 , reviewed by: Freddy

# 61

Another warning: Do not attempt to uninstall this thing in safe mode - it simply won't do it. If you've uninstalled w/ ANY browser windows open, it will finish the uninstall and then tell you some components couldn't be removed (but with no hint as to what).

At this point, iTunes will be hosed.

Things started getting bad for me when iTunes brought down the latest update, as it surely includes a fresh install of QT.

You must restart. Reinstall it. Restart again. Turn off any anti-virus and close ALL browser windows - then uninstall again.

Then you should be ok. Reinstall iTunes/QT and you should be good.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

QuickTime Alternative 1.62
on 23 September 2005 , reviewed by: Freddy

# 60

It's crap. Sorry, but I'll stick w/ the QT "nag" buttons as opposed to having this thing hose my system as it did. iTunes is now hosed after the "uninstall" of QT Alternative. Tried reinstalling QT/iTunes twice, no love.

Stay away!!!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.61
on 12 September 2005 , reviewed by: Ant

# 59

http://www .apple .com/ipodnano/features.html seems to crashes Mozilla v1.7.11 in Windows XP Pro. SP2 (all updates). I get:

AppName: mozilla.exe AppVer: 1.7.20050.7270 ModName: quicktimeh264.qtx
ModVer: 7.0.2.120 Offset: 00012e40

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.61
on 12 September 2005 , reviewed by: Offsprung

# 58

Cannot believe some of these obvious macheads. You prefer for apple to demand 40 bucks everytime you try to open a movie in that foreign looking/working player?

It does appear that QT protected files have no audio with 1.61

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.60 Beta 3
on 08 September 2005 , reviewed by: JPC

# 57

What else to say... Great!

Maybe, could you details what are the Extra QuickTime plugins for?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

WRITE A REVIEW:

All submitted reviews & comments will be subject to moderation before being displayed. Stay on the subject otherwise your review won't be published. If you are looking for help or support, please use the forum.


Enter the code exactly as you see it - case sensitive - in the spam-prevention image above.

  • Freemake Video Converter

  • Every next version of the program is getting slower. This company only wants to earn as much as selling ...
  • MetatOGGer

  • it doesn't "togge" wv, ape, opus files. 255 MB installation and awful interface.
  • PotPlayer

  • With video mode when I resize the video not fit to player. Like I crop screen hehehe. How to ...
    view more »


    Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com. All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2017 Codecs.com