QuickTime Alternative 3.2.2 reviews

3.71

from 256 Reviews

Write a review

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.69 Final
on 04 May 2006 , reviewed by: Steven Acevedo

# 136

Whenever I try to play a video at say TonyAndMe .com, Jack Klugman's site. The video playback freezes in the middle. What can I do to fix this problem?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.69 Final
on 29 April 2006 , reviewed by: antonio

# 135

Nice work. Doesn't work flawless with some websites in Firefox though. I then get the message that I have to download a missing plugin, and when I click that option, it doesn't know which plugin that is. Didn't have that problem with the same website in IE.

But most of the time it works.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.69 Final
on 27 April 2006 , reviewed by: pingug

# 134

To solve crash problem, you need to delete c:\windows\system32\quicktime and c:\program files\quicktime, they are some old quicktime remainings...

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.69 Final
on 26 April 2006 , reviewed by: Max Well

# 133

i have one problem when i try to open this .mov file i downloaded it just plays the sound and no visual. How can i fix this?
btw its an anime video in the format of .mov.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.69 Final
on 19 April 2006 , reviewed by: M.

# 132

solved my problem (email from 18.April below). Some hints are in the QTA FAQ. I switched AAC audio decoding in ffdshow from "libfaad2" to "realaac", now all MPEG4 movie decode and play great...

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.69 Final
on 18 April 2006 , reviewed by: Dorothy Hurkett

# 131

I cant download QT Aternative...it tells me to uninstall QT and I do and it doesnt leave and QT ATt wont install Please help I cant get either one. D.H

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.69 Final
on 18 April 2006 , reviewed by: M.

# 130

QTA 1.69 + ffdshow works quite well on my system, but some MP4 movies play with "fast forward", it seems the player and decoder don't interpret timings correct. Anyone seen the same issue?

Also, some windows registry settings were not set correctly after install. After clicking on a MP4 file, the system responds with "file not found". By changing the registry entry: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\Applications\mplayerc.exe\shell\open\command
and adding quotes to the parameter %1 it works: "%1" Problem happens, when the filename or path to open contains spaces.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.69 Final
on 17 April 2006 , reviewed by: Goi

# 129

Works in Opera/IE, but doesn't work in Firefox. When I go to the Quicktime HD gallery, I get the broken icon that directs me to download the quicktime plugin when I click on it. In Opera/IE, I see the 480p/720p/1080p icons, and I'm able to download the mov files when I click on them. Not so in Firefox.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.69 Final
on 13 April 2006 , reviewed by: BTJustice

# 128

This is a nice program. Thank you for making it. I can use my MSIE (the latest) and QuickTime movies play fine. There are green screens sometimes however.

QuickTime movies do not work with the latest Mozilla Firefox. If I copy everything in the plugins folder for QuickTime Alternative to the plugins folder for Firefox, it kind of works in Firefox but I get a lot of green only screens for QuickTime videos.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

QuickTime Alternative 1.69 Final
on 12 April 2006 , reviewed by: TAZ

# 127

this $uck$, I can stream quicktime videos fine, but I can't save any of the settings for the filetypes, wtf is wrong?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

QuickTime Alternative 1.69 Final
on 07 April 2006 , reviewed by: d

# 126

I am reading hundreds of problem reports about your quicktime alternative, WHY DON'T YOU FIX THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.69 Final
on 05 April 2006 , reviewed by: Jacky

# 125

Good but once installed, avi codecs won't work anymore :(

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.69 Final
on 31 March 2006 , reviewed by: tf1

# 124

-----
doesn't work with Firefox. I have Firefox 1.0.7 and movie trailers don't work at all. Any ideas?
-----

Yeah, update Firefox. You're months behind.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.69 Final
on 27 March 2006 , reviewed by: Jay

# 123

Works great with downloaded files, but doesn't work with IE or Firefox. I have Firefox 1.0.7 and movie trailers (apple.com) don't work at all. I have tried removing & reinstalling Quicktime alternative, but the browser codecs never seem to install. Any ideas how to fix? Thanks for help!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.69 Final
on 21 March 2006 , reviewed by: klados

# 122

Is it possible to watch embedded movies fullscreen?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.69 Final
on 20 March 2006 , reviewed by: Royce

# 121

Great program, but sadly audio still doesn't work in windows media center for the HD movie trailers from apple's quicktime site. It works fine in the classic player. If this problem is fixed this prog would get an excellent rating.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.69 Final
on 20 March 2006 , reviewed by: Bas van Peijpe

# 120

Hello,

I realy hope you can help me with this. I have just installed Quicktime Alternative, but now every time I start Mediaplayer classic OR try to uninstall QA, my PC crashes... I get messages like: "Explorer caused a problem and will be closed". Any help is MUCH apreciated!

Thanks and Cheers,
Bas

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.69 Final
on 17 March 2006 , reviewed by: MyDomain

# 119

There is also an issue in the Media Player Classic. It is located in the .ini file, don't know the exact setting that causes it.

But a DVD playes choppy sound as well, but when i remove the .ini file and play it again, no problems!

So take a look at the ini cause it's not working corretly!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.69 Final
on 17 March 2006 , reviewed by: MyDomain

# 118

This program is good, the alternative shizzle, but i have major problems with audio in my .mov movies. It has scratching sound and eventually disapears entirely.

Any idea how to fix this?
I really don't want to install quicktime itself, it's so dominend it $uck$. But i do need it's functionality.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.69 Final
on 13 March 2006 , reviewed by: Jack W

# 117

Trying to play some m4v files, which play (stream) in the browser, but when downloaded, QTA won't play them. Why? Also IE's download prompt wants to save them as mp4 files.
I prefer to watch them outside of the browser since the white surrounding in browser screen makes them harder to see.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.69 Final
on 13 March 2006 , reviewed by: J White

# 116

Is there not a fix for the problem of QTA taking over MP3 association? Checking QTA's Settings->file associations, nothing is checked (even for MOV etc).

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

2

QuickTime Alternative 1.68 final
on 08 March 2006 , reviewed by: Boostland

# 115

1.68 has broken sound for some .mov files, gone back to 1.67 until this is fixed.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.68 final
on 03 March 2006 , reviewed by: Ant

# 114

Is it me or does QTA not give a lot of bass?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.68 final
on 03 March 2006 , reviewed by: yelahneb

# 113

i've been a big fan of this program for quite awhile; the issue with being unable to play files with the '.m4v' extension with it was a hassle until i recently installed the latest version of 'ffdshow', now they work fine:

http://ffdshow.sourceforge .net/tikiwiki/tiki-index.php?page=Getting+ffdshow

anyone else have the same results?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

QuickTime Alternative 1.68 final
on 01 March 2006 , reviewed by: SirDodger

# 112

I am having the same problem as AlbertM with 1.68 final. Does not initialize, will not play movies. Neither the Mozilla nor the IE plugin will work, and neither does the codec for windows media player.

In addition, going to the File Type box crashes the control panel dialog.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.68 final
on 20 February 2006 , reviewed by: Tom

# 111

Can u use this to ripp Music Videos onto Ipod?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.68 final
on 18 February 2006 , reviewed by: patrick

# 110

Good programm. But is does not seem to work with opera 9 beta. The plugins are installed correctly but no video

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.68 final
on 13 February 2006 , reviewed by: Naelphin

# 109

Is it really necessary for the this to come cr***ed? When I open the property panel, it is already registered \"Quicktime Pro\"

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.68 final
on 13 February 2006 , reviewed by: Haris Mushtaq

# 108

I had the latest version of quick time installed. When I installed QT Alternative 1.67, both the quick time as well as media player classic pop up the same quick time window that it needs to update some components. Any one know any solution.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.68 final
on 12 February 2006 , reviewed by: antigin

# 107

Ice Age 2 Trailer (ice_age_2-tlrD_h1080p.mov from apple.com) crashes all time :(
Error signature:
AppName: mplayerc.exe
AppVer: 6.4.8.7
ModName: quicktimeh264.qtx
ModVer: 7.0.4.80
Offset: 000ec531

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.68 final
on 04 February 2006 , reviewed by: H.264 needed

# 106

v1.68 - Very good app but it does not yet support H.264 as far as I can tell. The only way I can get h264 to work is to install bloatware or FFDshow's codecs but they screw with 3ivx. I try to keep my system as slim and trim as possible.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

QuickTime Alternative 1.68 final
on 26 January 2006 , reviewed by: Quick time and Apple must die

# 105

I'm afraid this update doesn't agree with my system...
I had been using version 1.4 of QT Alternative for months, and it had worked flawlessly. The new version conflicts with a number of software programs that I need to run, and is thus unusable for me... I hope this gets resolved.
Another thing - this version insists on playing back mp3s and other files from the internet - which I do NOT want it to do because it is slow and inconvenient. I ONLY want it to play back .mov files, since unfortuneatly there are people out there who insist on using this crippleware format...

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.68 final
on 20 January 2006 , reviewed by: mov downloader

# 104

Exception error after reading registry key QTAlternative\installdir. Missing some (original) reg keys?
Log opened.
Setup version: Inno Setup version 5.1.6
Original Setup EXE: C:\Programme\QuickTime Alternative\QuickTimePlayer.exe
Setup command line: http://movies.apple.com/movies/wb/firewall/firewall-tlr1_720p.mov /log=log.txt
Windows version: 5.01.2600 SP2 (NT platform: Yes)
64-bit Windows: No
Processor architecture: x86
User privileges: Administrative
64-bit install mode: No
Created temporary directory: C:\DOKUME~1\LORDLO~1\LOKALE~1\Temp\is-6L379.tmp
InitializeSetup returned False; aborting.
Got EAbort exception.
Deinitializing Setup.
Log closed.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.68 final
on 17 January 2006 , reviewed by: mov downloader

# 103

mov downloader (QuickTimePlayer.exe) don't work any longer :-(

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.68 final
on 17 January 2006 , reviewed by: TJ

# 102

It's otherwise nice, but could the developers somehow implement Quicktime's incomplete playing system. For example, you have a link to an .mp3 and you click on it. Quicktime opens the download in a separate tab (Firefox), and you can already play the file when a little bit of it has been downloaded, and you can play it as long as it's been downloaded, and the actual download still goes on. I can't get this to work with QT Alternative, but it would be really nice to have so I don't have to install Quicktime at all.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.68 final
on 16 January 2006 , reviewed by: Kris

# 101

I need to have QuickTime installed for iTunes but I would like to use QuickTime Alternative for IE. Is this possible? I have both apps installed but content in IE keeps opening up in the QuickTime plugin not QuickTime Alternative. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.68 final
on 15 January 2006 , reviewed by: Maneesh Pangasa

# 100

QuickTime Alternative is a good app. I have one suggestion to the makers of this program:

Ever consider making an iTunes Alternative? You have already made Real Alternative and QuickTime Alternative. Why not an iTunes Alternative?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.68 Beta 2
on 14 January 2006 , reviewed by: Reload

# 99

NO audio here with the HD Ice Age 2 trailer. Tried BSPlayer and WMP. VLC plays the sound with mp4a codec but doesn't show video. Any solutions?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.67
on 11 January 2006 , reviewed by: Maikel

# 98

Very nice job! I hate Apple you're version of QuickTime is much much better! :D

No slow nuts, but FAST nice nuts :D

I'm proud on you! Nice work!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.67
on 03 January 2006 , reviewed by: Ramon

# 97

Get no sound picture is great

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

WRITE A REVIEW:

All submitted reviews & comments will be subject to moderation before being displayed. Stay on the subject otherwise your review won't be published. If you are looking for help or support, please use the forum.


Enter the code exactly as you see it - case sensitive - in the spam-prevention image above.

  • Freemake Video Converter

  • Every next version of the program is getting slower. This company only wants to earn as much as selling ...
  • MetatOGGer

  • it doesn't "togge" wv, ape, opus files. 255 MB installation and awful interface.
  • PotPlayer

  • With video mode when I resize the video not fit to player. Like I crop screen hehehe. How to ...
    view more »


    Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com. All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2017 Codecs.com