QuickTime Alternative 3.2.2 reviews

3.71

from 256 Reviews

Write a review

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.60 Beta 3
on 07 September 2005 , reviewed by: SPARKY

# 56

quicktime alternative
(4/17/05 download,codec version 6.5.1.17) plays my .mov files just fine but whenever those files are copied to cd they will not play properly - some sort of corruption and the best tech I know can't figure it out - what's the fix??

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

QuickTime Alternative 1.60 Beta 3
on 02 September 2005 , reviewed by: Leonardo

# 55

Great idea, weak implementation
In my PC, the movie freezes every 3 seconds.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.60 Beta 3
on 26 August 2005 , reviewed by: Marcel

# 54

I know Quicktime 7 requires Win 2000/XP, but could it be possible to have the newest versions of Quicktime Alternative running in old systems like Windows 98, 98 SE and Millennium??

Thank you.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.60 Beta 3
on 26 August 2005 , reviewed by: oopl

# 53

Can't get any of the HD Gallery videos to play (http://www .apple .com/quicktime/hdgallery/)
MPC crashes upon launch.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.60 Beta 3
on 13 August 2005 , reviewed by: doon

# 52

does anyone know how to get Windows Movie Maker 2.0 to accept .mov files using this tool? if WMP can now play them (which worked beautifully on my PC) then why can't MM20? this would be utterly fantastic. anyone try?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

1

QuickTime Alternative 1.60 Beta 2
on 12 August 2005 , reviewed by: joi

# 51

So when will Win 98 be supported? I like QT alternative very much so it can further itself by extending support to older O/S when others don't.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.60 Beta 2
on 10 August 2005 , reviewed by: micah

# 50

I really enjoyed QT Alternative versions up to 1.48 but since the betas the MIME-settings in the QT-plugin dont work well. Even if I uncheck everything except QT-movies in QT-plugin it still insists in opening mp3-files with QT instead of IE asking me what to do with the file. I tried several hours to get the MIME-setting back but the only way is to uninstall QT-alternative. Anyone have any ideas?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

QuickTime Alternative 1.60 Beta 2
on 09 August 2005 , reviewed by: Mr. Phelps

# 49

Man when i play it the screen plays it in gray red and and green its SOOOOOOOO gay uhhhh

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

QuickTime Alternative 1.60 Beta 2
on 07 August 2005 , reviewed by: JML

# 48

I've downloaded QuickTime Alternative 1.60 Beta 2 but installation doesn't start : Message "This program must be run on Windows NT"

My PC runs on Windows98 SE ...
What Operating Systems are supported???

Thanks in advance for your help
/JML

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

QuickTime Alternative 1.60 Beta 2
on 06 August 2005 , reviewed by: rodrigo

# 47

QA 1.6b2 can't finish installation. problem in registering ocx after copying the files.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.60 Beta 2
on 04 August 2005 , reviewed by: bluelilak

# 46

QuickTime Alternative 1.50 Beta 2

It doesn't work at all, the media player works O.K but, when I try to run .mov files, I got an error message, in fact when i was installing it i got error messages

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.50 Beta 1
on 05 July 2005 , reviewed by: Joseph

# 45

Everything is perfect except when you load a panorama .mov, like a QTVR - it "plays" it instead of letting you panorama around.

If that feature can be made to work I will be very happy and install this on everyone's computers around here ;-)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.50 Beta 1
on 24 June 2005 , reviewed by: onie

# 44

Great player, but in FireFox the beta version does not allow for object files to run in the background (i.e. wav/MP3) even when plugin is correctly configured. I reverted back to 1.46 and it worked correctly

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.50 Beta 1
on 17 June 2005 , reviewed by: mkk

# 43

For a beta it runs very well. Only real problem I've bumped into is that the registration doesn't stick after verified to be correct.

JA: Try using the included MediaPlayerClassic player instead of WMP10.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

QuickTime Alternative 1.50 Beta 1
on 15 June 2005 , reviewed by: mikey man

# 42

what can i do? quicktime from apple takes over your pc and this stuff doesn't work. Where is the right click?
some times i don't see why i bother.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

QuickTime Alternative 1.50 Beta 1
on 15 June 2005 , reviewed by: JA

# 41

I'm having trouble fast-forwarding or seeking through movies. I was able to seek through movies with the regular QuickTime, but after using Alternative, I can no long do this. It seems to be a problem on all my .mov files. This is a HUGE disadvantage. (I can't use the Seek-Slider, Fast-Forward, or Rewind buttons on my Windows_Media_Player [v.10])

Anyone else having this problem, and know how to fix it?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.50 Beta 1
on 11 June 2005 , reviewed by: Jimmy

# 40

@john, that's because the file on that page gives a 404 not found :)

try some other trailers

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

QuickTime Alternative 1.50 Beta 1
on 11 June 2005 , reviewed by: john

# 39

cant play any of the new staff

http://www.apple .com/trailers/sony_pictures/rent/high.html

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.47
on 02 June 2005 , reviewed by: HawkeyeXB

# 38

Good idea, but wouldn't play larger files without skipping.

Also, does anyone remember when Quictime Alternative used to allow audio extraction from .mov files? Where did that feature go?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

1

QuickTime Alternative 1.47
on 02 June 2005 , reviewed by: Richard Craze

# 37

Have taken Apple Quick time off as it takes over every thing, so I thought I’d try QuickTime Alternative 1.47, sound all over the place, plus it will crash after about ten seconds!
Tried reinstalling Apple QuickTime, now that will not play too!!!
Do we have a big old bug here?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.46
on 22 May 2005 , reviewed by: McKack

# 36

This is GREAT! Works like a charm in firefox and locally, now I've got this and real alternative no more bloating nazi-take-over software, die apple.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.46
on 08 May 2005 , reviewed by: Ant

# 35

Can't play http://progressive. stream .aol .com/aol/us/moviefone/movies/2005/ chroniclesofnarniathelionthewitchandthewardrobethe_019417/ chroniclesofnarniathelionthewitchandthewardrobethe_trlr_01_high_dl.mov file locally. How about you guys? Maybe a bug?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

QuickTime Alternative 1.46
on 04 May 2005 , reviewed by: Tony

# 34

IS THIS SPYWARE? Because I have Norton Internet Security. QTA brings up WM classic and looks like it is connecting to something and then it hangs up. I see a couple people have this problem. Why is it trying to connect?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.46
on 30 April 2005 , reviewed by: Ant

# 33

I noticed http://www. apple .com/trailers/ has 720p and 1080p QuickTime 7 trailers now. I am hoping future QuickTime Alternative versions can play them after QT7 for Windows is released. I tried playing one, and got no video. Media Player Classic complained missing components.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

QuickTime Alternative 1.45
on 21 April 2005 , reviewed by: Bob

# 32

Can't play any files from my hard drive.

Always get error message: "failed to render the file"

Any suggestions ??

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.44
on 07 April 2005 , reviewed by: iron2000

# 31

"As a bonus, Internet Explorer will play all QuickTime movies that are embedded in a webpage."

Not all for me.
Not those on Japanese sites.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.44
on 31 March 2005 , reviewed by: David

# 30

Thanks, simply brilliant.

Wanted to play .mov quicktime files from my olympus digital camera on media centre edition pc.

Uninstalled QuickTime standalone.
Installed Quicktime Alternative.
Added registry key for .mov as listed above.

Worked like a dream.

Many Thanks

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.43
on 28 March 2005 , reviewed by: iron2000

# 29

It doesn't seem to work on Japanese embedded Quicktime media.

But the movie trailers at quicktime.com works.

Anyway ti fix it?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.40
on 24 February 2005 , reviewed by: freak117

# 28

Works well playing quicktime files that I have locally on my hard drive, but when I try to play streaming files from apple.com (movie trailors) there are probelms with the video and audio. Can anybody confirm this for me? I am using Media Player Classic on Windows XP with an Athlon 2000+.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.40
on 20 February 2005 , reviewed by: Yves Bélanger

# 27

Here's the solution for using it with MediaCenter 2005 (probably original and 2004 versions also).
========
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.divx]
"PerceivedType"="video"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.mov]
"PerceivedType"="video"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.movie]
"PerceivedType"="video"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.mpg4]
"PerceivedType"="video"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.qti]
"PerceivedType"="video"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.qtif]
"PerceivedType"="video"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.r1m]
"PerceivedType"="video"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.r3t]
"PerceivedType"="video"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.rec]
"PerceivedType"="video"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.rpm]
"PerceivedType"="video"
========

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

QuickTime Alternative 1.40
on 15 February 2005 , reviewed by: sean

# 26

HELP!!!

Wmp is not playing my MOV files. It continues to tell me the file associations were not installed properly. Has anyone else had this problem? If so, Can you pass on the knowledge to fix it. Yes, I have uninstalled and reinstalled numerous times.

Thanks in advance

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.40
on 08 February 2005 , reviewed by: Yves Bélanger

# 25

OK. I succeeded to play it in Windows
Media Player.

But this kind of file doesn't appear
in Media Center...

Do you know how these files can appear in the Media Center "My Video" screen
since it is now playable with WMP?

Thank you.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.40
on 06 February 2005 , reviewed by: Yves Bélanger

# 24

If it is a codec why aren't we been able to play Quicktime files into Windows MediaPlayer ou XP Media Center 2005?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.39
on 31 January 2005 , reviewed by: ZoFreX

# 23

Why can't I full-screen in the official quicktime player? Appple are obviously brain-dead. This is loads better, get it.

I am also having problems with FireFox 1 integration, and media player classic freezing on certain files (e.g. appleseed trailer).

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.39
on 20 January 2005 , reviewed by: Jack

# 22

Doesn't seem to integrate with Firefox v1 (std. release), otherwise no problems. Thx!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.39
on 17 January 2005 , reviewed by: isaac

# 21

I gave this a 4 because that right click function is gone! I liked saving my quicktime vids after they were done downloading. Does anyone know how to save 'em, if so let us know!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.39
on 09 January 2005 , reviewed by: Fupus Tre (3)

# 20

Yeah, this is definitely something else than the "official" package; it even works too.

I'm not that into quicktime files, but now that I needed something in that format, I got this alternative codec from you guys, and it worked just like that..

-No hassles whatsoever with viewing QuickTime -content through Opera browser, either, it linked itself automatically during setup..

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.39
on 02 January 2005 , reviewed by: Phil

# 19

Good, but I had to uninstall and go back to Old Version 1.35(what I upgraded from), hoping to get the right click feature back. No Dice.

Went and uninstalled that again, and did a complete uninstall again of QT, and after rebooting reinstalled old version 1.35 and guess what? NO right click. I searched registry and couldnt find anything pertaining to this and even the full uninstall of "Everything" on QT left some folders so I think I will delete those and and 1.35 and try again.

BTW I dont think its the Media Player as I had that before.

......I just tried that and reinstalled 1.35 and NO right click. I am thinking the recent version of Real Alternative Might be the culprit stopping this right click function. Dont know what else it could be. Searched all options. Anyone?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.39
on 31 December 2004 , reviewed by: Aaron Cavanaugh

# 18

Here is the standalone version from apple. http://www.apple .com/quicktime/download/standalone/

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.39
on 31 December 2004 , reviewed by: Aaron Cavanaugh

# 17

Seems to be the only quicktime player I can install without an internet connection.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

WRITE A REVIEW:

All submitted reviews & comments will be subject to moderation before being displayed. Stay on the subject otherwise your review won't be published. If you are looking for help or support, please use the forum.


Enter the code exactly as you see it - case sensitive - in the spam-prevention image above.

  • Freemake Video Converter

  • Every next version of the program is getting slower. This company only wants to earn as much as selling ...
  • MetatOGGer

  • it doesn't "togge" wv, ape, opus files. 255 MB installation and awful interface.
  • PotPlayer

  • With video mode when I resize the video not fit to player. Like I crop screen hehehe. How to ...
    view more »


    Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com. All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2017 Codecs.com