QuickTime Alternative 3.2.2 reviews

3.71

from 256 Reviews

Write a review

2

QuickTime Alternative 1.77
on 11 February 2007 , reviewed by: Boostland

# 176

This 1.77 version still does not play some Quicktime files without sound problems, the last version that works is the 1.67

Test using this and you will see what I mean.

http://www.flamingmailbox .com/maccomedy/movies/ibrator.html

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.76 final
on 17 October 2006 , reviewed by: Benjamin

# 175

Ooops... I just found the post about deleting the old \\\"quicktime\\\" folder from windows/system32.

PROBLEM SOLVED!!! :)

(PS whoever posted it, thanks... even before switching to alternative, that old folder had bugged my system)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.76 final
on 17 October 2006 , reviewed by: Benjamin

# 174

"An exception occurred while trying to run "Shell32.dll,Control_RunDLL "C:\Program Files\QuickTime Alternative\QTSystem\quicktime.cpl""

I got this error with 1.76 final. Is it possibly a conflict with Storm Codec Pack?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.76 final
on 17 October 2006 , reviewed by: jang bong jin

# 173

Very nice job! I hate Apple you're version of QuickTime is much much better! :D

No slow nuts, but FAST nice nuts :D

I'm proud on you! Nice work!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

QuickTime Alternative 1.76 final
on 16 October 2006 , reviewed by: DoS

# 172

I installed 1.76 QT alternative lite... my windows media player now doesn't want to play .3gp files... it keeps attempting to download off the net although QT alternative is already installed... i turned off automatically downloading codecs but it still won't play... please help...

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.76 final
on 09 October 2006 , reviewed by: FOAD1

# 171

Quicktime SU*** ROYAL A**.I unfortunately have to deal with it only because I made a mistake on owning a KODAK cam that uses that format for some ridiculous reason.I guess its one of the reasons KODAK is failing.Everyone uses MICROSOFT.Thats the cold hard facts.The .mov format is a pain in I disagree.Quicktime never works properly anyhow without MICROSOFT users having to jump through hoops just to watch a simple video clip.Too many players(spyware) out there nowadays.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.76 final
on 27 September 2006 , reviewed by: Spooon69

# 170

Get QuickTime Alternative Lite, it doesn't have Media Player Classic, that's the only change.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.76 final
on 22 September 2006 , reviewed by: Michael

# 169

Is there anyway to get the BS player to lanuch when playing the HD trailers instead of Media Player Classic?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.75
on 05 September 2006 , reviewed by: Izo

# 168

Great program!!
Used it for some time now.

BUT!!!!
At the moment I can't seem sto play files anymore (HD trailers). All I get is a black screen with sound............

Anybody any ideas what I could be that has messed things up for me???

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.75
on 04 September 2006 , reviewed by: Robert

# 167

Quicktime alternative 1.75 works for me. But I only experience one problem: if I rename the .mov file, I get the message "Can not render file". This also happens when I download a .mov file and save it with a different name. Renaming the files back to the original filename solves the problem and I can play the files again.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.75
on 21 August 2006 , reviewed by: Mark_UK

# 166

it seems ok to me, i use XP codec pack and real alternative too, and Power DVD and there's not many video formats it does'nt play, the odd WMV is screwed, but who cares ? - i have tested several types of scan, and find NO adware or malware, yet,Bloody Apple, who wants a messaging centre included in what should be a simple codec and player ?
yes, i know there's a standalone, but MPC sems much 'lighter' and does'nt seem to bugger up the windows OS in quite the same way that RealPlayerGold10 etc seem to. and as for secretly setting auto-starts on windows boots // god, dont get me started.. XP is pretty ok untill u install all this BLOATWARE.
..Mark

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.75
on 18 August 2006 , reviewed by: Marcel

# 165

It's working again with Apple Trailers using IE6.

Thank you.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.74
on 14 August 2006 , reviewed by: digits

# 164

Didn't want to submit a rating since I haven't used it... why should I? I mean, why don't you guys just download the stand alone installer?

http://www.apple .com/quicktime/download/standalone.html

No iTunes there...

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.74
on 14 August 2006 , reviewed by: d3v

# 163

***Firefox Temporary Solution***

Search your system for:
npqtplugin.dll
npqtplugin2.dll
npqtplugin3.dll
npqtplugin4.dll
npqtplugin5.dll
npqtplugin6.dll
QuickTimePlugin.class
nsIQTScriptablePlugin.xpt
(you may have to let Windows search in archives to find them)

Verify they are all part of the same pack

Copy them across into your Firefox Plugins directory, which by default should probably be "C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\plugins"

SORTED! :)

Have no idea why they weren't installing automatically, but it wasn't because any Firefox process was running [I don't even use their quick launch]

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.74
on 11 August 2006 , reviewed by: shawn

# 162

Everytime I install, I get a code 5 error. I have Firefox windows closed, and all other programs closed but it still it won't install. Any suggestions from anyone having had this problem?
Thanks!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.73
on 08 August 2006 , reviewed by: Anonymous

# 161

Guys,I have 4+1 Speaker but QuickTime movies doesn't give sound in all four speaker When I play Media Player Classic.But others movies formats play successfully.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.73
on 06 August 2006 , reviewed by: kubel

# 160

For those that have problems getting the FireFox plugin to work- you must close all FireFox windows (including the download window) before you run the installer. If you do not, the plugin will not be installed.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.73
on 04 August 2006 , reviewed by: Kid

# 159

Works fine with Firefox 1.5.0.6, but still does not work with IE 6.0.2900 XP SP2.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.73
on 03 August 2006 , reviewed by: Joe

# 158

Seems fine except for the fact that I can't get it to work on Firefox. I've tried 1.5.0.4 to the just released 1.5.0.6. I've tried everything on the guide...

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

QuickTime Alternative 1.72 final
on 01 August 2006 , reviewed by: HatOutOfTheRabbit

# 157

Using 1.72, the video works fine on XP SP2 both IE 6.0.2900 and Firefox 1.5.0.5, but the audio skips badly on both browsers when attempting to view any of the insturctional videos on lynda .com:

http://movielibrary.lynda .com/html/modPage.asp?ID=268

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.72 final
on 28 July 2006 , reviewed by: Marcel

# 156

Hi again. First of all thank you for fixing the Opera/Firefox issue, it's working perfect on this new version.

I don't use IE but I can reproduce the problem described at the Apple site (I didn't tested with other websites). In example, go to http://www.apple .com/trailers/sony_pictures/monster_house/medium.html and you will get something like this: http://img208.imageshack .us/my.php?image=quicktimeiedt7.png

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.72 final
on 27 July 2006 , reviewed by: genia

# 155

i have audio for the videos now! it works with iPod. Excellent!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.72 final
on 26 July 2006 , reviewed by: 7h31ll3g4l

# 154

QTA 1.72 doesn't seem to let me view anything on the Apple trailers site, with IE. Just blank rectangles with little red X's in the corner.

Working
firefox 1.5.0.5 100%

Bye...

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.72 final
on 26 July 2006 , reviewed by: Arnaud21

# 153

1.72 final works great with firefox 1.5.0.5
Good job !!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

QuickTime Alternative 1.71 final
on 25 July 2006 , reviewed by: Phreezdryd

# 152

QTA 1.71 doesn't seem to let me view anything on the Apple trailers site, with IE. Just blank rectangles with little red X's in the corner.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

QuickTime Alternative 1.71 final
on 24 July 2006 , reviewed by: todd

# 151

how could this be called final when functionality is broken in firefox.
it freezes/crashes firefox 1.5.0.4 as reported earlier.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.71 final
on 23 July 2006 , reviewed by: Marcel

# 150

I just want to report that version 1.71 simply don't work with Opera 9. I was trying to play some trailers at Apple and Opera always freezes/crashes when the plugin is loading.

I've reinstalled version 1.70 and all is working again.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.71 final
on 22 July 2006 , reviewed by: bulinggitprojekt

# 149

Nice software but...

Are we really forced to use media player? Is there a way to still use QT viewer for mp4 formats?

Thanks

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.71 final
on 21 July 2006 , reviewed by: Arnaud21

# 148

Nice tool, but firefox doesn't like the new version 1.71 : fatal error because of quicktimeessential.qtx. Return to 1.70 and no problem with it.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.71 final
on 21 July 2006 , reviewed by: tnh

# 147

I tried QuickTime Alternative 1.71 final, and decided to use Windows Media Player (not Classic). The MOV files are played, with VIDEO, and NO SOUND/ NO AUDIO.

- Is there a way to trouble shoot this?
- Is this a bug or a feature?
Are we forced to use Media Player Classic?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.71 final
on 20 July 2006 , reviewed by: Anonymous

# 146

When I try to install QuickTime Alternative 1.71 final I get error about missing msvcr71.dll file. :/

OS Windows 2000

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.71 beta 2
on 10 July 2006 , reviewed by: ries

# 145

since 1.70 firefox crashes and some unexpected error when opening qt settings on win2003.

so for now i stick to 1.69

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.70
on 18 June 2006 , reviewed by: altFour

# 144

installed 1.7 qta. and its not wokring with firefox 1.0.5.4 at all. dosent pik up anything that has to deal with quicktime..

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

QuickTime Alternative 1.70
on 13 June 2006 , reviewed by: Plim Pibit

# 143

Unnecessary. 1.70 no longer supports anything older than WinXP, and if you can stomach XP, you don't need QT alternative. It's still a hack, it still doesn't support all QT, and the official QT player is no more annoying than XP in general. As long as you have a third-party player for all your QT formats, the official player will politely go away.

On the other hand, setting RealPlayer, QT, and WIMP to fight over file associations is still more amusing than most movies.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

QuickTime Alternative 1.70
on 04 June 2006 , reviewed by: R Wolf

# 142

Great tool!

HD content plays great in media player classic.

However in WMP 9, I get HD video but no audio. If I play a standard file I get audio. Weird that one player would play it the other not.

Of course this also means MCE plays video only, no audio (again, only for HD content from Apple site).

Keep up the good work!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.70
on 04 June 2006 , reviewed by: Lofote

# 141

Why does it ALWAYS delete all previous Media Player Classic settings from the registry and revert to the stupid legacy (non-noadmin-compatible!) INI file when I install a new version?? This is really not understandable for me.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.70
on 23 May 2006 , reviewed by: Tom Gilbert

# 140

The Directshow Filter works well, EXCEPT that it seems to hold the wrong kind of file lock. When playing a .mov in Media Player, I can't then open the file for read access [eg C# - FileStream fsIn = File.Open(sourceURL, FileMode.Open, FileAccess.Read, FileShare.Read) throws an exception].
Any chance you could fix this, please, or provide the source so I can fix it? Cheers.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

QuickTime Alternative 1.70
on 22 May 2006 , reviewed by: Tulisan

# 139

It cannot play streaming movies from apple .com, whether I use FF or IE

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

QuickTime Alternative 1.70
on 16 May 2006 , reviewed by: Jamez

# 138

V1.70 is a real improvement over 1.69, the only problem I've got is I can't view movie trailers in H264 Codec format.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

QuickTime Alternative 1.69 Final
on 12 May 2006 , reviewed by: AnD

# 137

NO sound, only video, what's wrong ?
Bsplayer has sound and video and wmp too.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

WRITE A REVIEW:

All submitted reviews & comments will be subject to moderation before being displayed. Stay on the subject otherwise your review won't be published. If you are looking for help or support, please use the forum.


Enter the code exactly as you see it - case sensitive - in the spam-prevention image above.

  • Freemake Video Converter

  • Every next version of the program is getting slower. This company only wants to earn as much as selling ...
  • MetatOGGer

  • it doesn't "togge" wv, ape, opus files. 255 MB installation and awful interface.
  • PotPlayer

  • With video mode when I resize the video not fit to player. Like I crop screen hehehe. How to ...
    view more »


    Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com. All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2017 Codecs.com