Media Player Classic 6.4.9.1 reviews

4.48

from 160 Reviews

Write a review

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.7
on 20 January 2006 , reviewed by: ZoNi

# 40

MPC is great video player...

I wish that author will make just a little better (nice looking) GUI...

And, does anyone knows how can I see subtitles in mp4 (Nero Digital) movies? Movies are encoded from DVD's with Nero Recode, and they are "built-in" in the movie... BS Player can play those subtitles without any tweaks!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.7
on 12 January 2006 , reviewed by: Alvin

# 39

a very good player.. but it fails to play the audio correctly (got hiss sound) for some of my dvds.. how come?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.7
on 04 January 2006 , reviewed by: narinder singh birdi

# 38

i feel this media player is good

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.7
on 02 January 2006 , reviewed by: Geoffrey

# 37

Clean, simple ... and a security risk.

Windows Media Player has a couple of switches that MPC does not -- the ability to *stop* media files from running scripting.

What with unscrupulous people embedding URL calls to websites into movie files now, I cannot justify allowing the install of MPC.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.7
on 02 January 2006 , reviewed by: Steven

# 36

Get Ace mega codec pack it has all the codec u could ever want to play all you files!! And anyone got any ideas about skins for media player classic.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

3

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.7
on 20 December 2005 , reviewed by: Rayk

# 35

I have downloaded .rm files from the Dismuke website and get the following message when I try to play them with version 6.4.8.4

Unknown GUID Name {4B4F4F43-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71}

AM_MEDIA_TYPE:
majortype: MEDIATYPE_Audio {73647561-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71}
subtype: Unknown GUID Name {4B4F4F43-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71}
formattype: FORMAT_WaveFormatEx {05589F81-C356-11CE-BF01-00AA0055595A}
bFixedSizeSamples: 1
bTemporalCompression: 1
lSampleSize: 10416
cbFormat: 104

WAVEFORMATEX:
wFormatTag: 0x2004

-

These numbers produce nothing when I search for stuff.

Any ideas?

Rayk

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.7
on 18 December 2005 , reviewed by: Ken

# 34

Soustruh:
I can't open any streaming media either. It appears that the newer versions of MPC aren't trying to connect (I don't get a prompt from my firewall). v6.4.8.4 works fine, however. I reported this on Sourceforge, but no one responded.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.7
on 06 December 2005 , reviewed by: Motorcycleboy

# 33

Hi Guys

It's me again. I have been tearing my hair out in frustration trying to install the Media Player Classic that comes with RealAternative on my second XP partition. I was getting 'failed to render file' messages with each attempt to open wma and wmv files after having installed the latest windows media codec pack for WMP6.4. The answer was found in a Doom9 forum. Open View>Options>Tweaks and untick the box for 'Use Wm ASF Reader with Windows Media Files'. Unfortunately there is no help file with this program and the zipped document you can download will not open. Thank God for Google huh?

I love the no nonsense user interface of this programm with menus for File, View, Play, Navigate, Favourites and Help just like a proper Windows program. Winamp may do a better business of playing your media files but it has a ghastly user interface.

Incidentaly mpeg-4 support is not integral with MPC as I wrote before. You have to install the WMP6.4 codec pack.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.7
on 03 December 2005 , reviewed by: Motorcycleboy

# 32

I cannot recommend this program (MPC 6.4.8.4) too highly. It realy does play everything you could possibly want without code bloat or instability. I tried the WMP8 that I recieved with XP professional but I had endless trouble with error messages and files that would not open. I tried WMP9 and the same thing happened. MPClassic is a relatively small stand alone program with built in decoding support for DVD, mpeg-2 mpeg-4 AC3, CDA and mp3s among other things so it will play anything you buy in the shops without having to buy a software or hardware DVD decoder. Brilliant! You need to download the wm9 codecs for WMP6.4 to play the latest wma and wmv files. Better still get the MPClassic bundled with Real Alternative and you can junk Real Player. While you are at it get Quick Time alternative and then you are set up for just about everthing ther internet you throw at you.

As far as picture and sound quality go I see no advantage in WMP9 so all it has to offer are gimmicks like skins, CD library and internet radio.

Only problem is that I use a product called XPlite to get rid of the WMPs bundled with XP but then MPClassic does not work. Any solutions anyone?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.7
on 03 December 2005 , reviewed by: Pierre Vulture

# 31

i love that player its so minimal and powerfull :) (and free) greetings from germany

www.lasttry .org

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.7
on 26 November 2005 , reviewed by: Dennis

# 30

Some XVID or DIVX video files cannot be played started from V6.4.8.6. The files can be opened by MPC but they won't play even you press play or pause button. The last workable version is 6.4.8.5 or below. Please look into the problem or maybe suggest how to tweak it.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.6
on 22 November 2005 , reviewed by: bug

# 29

vobsub bug in Media Player Classic version 6.4.8.6.The subtitles are flickering.
i'd install back the 6.4.8.4, and no more problems.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.6
on 17 November 2005 , reviewed by: Afterpoe

# 28

Really. This is the best what you got! And free!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.6
on 17 November 2005 , reviewed by: bug

# 27

vobsub bug in Media Player Classic version 6.4.8.2.The subtitles are flickering.
i'd install back the 6.4.8.4, and no more problems.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.6
on 12 November 2005 , reviewed by: Soustruh

# 26

try opening this link http://ocko.streaming.cesnet .cz/ocko-hq in 6.4.8.6... i do not get anything at all :( but in 6.4.8.4 there is no problem with this stream :) does anyone experience the same?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.6
on 06 November 2005 , reviewed by: Peachy

# 25

Awesome program

feathering FIXED ;)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.6
on 06 November 2005 , reviewed by: Gooble

# 24

I'm not sure if 6.4.8.5 had it, but in 6.4.8.6's "Tweaks" part of Options, there is now the ability to "Send Now Playing information to MSN Messenger". This is just like Winamp, except this time, video-wise :)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.5
on 02 November 2005 , reviewed by: IntelliMoo

# 23

.5 now exibits quite noticeable feathering during playback of directshow video. .4 does not.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.5
on 31 October 2005 , reviewed by: Thomas

# 22

Supports mp4 files now. Great!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.4 - 2005.10.15
on 25 October 2005 , reviewed by: MyWish

# 21

NO SKINS! MG Please!

PS
Wanna use skins? Use WMP! ;)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.4 - 2005.10.15
on 18 October 2005 , reviewed by: Sok7

# 20

The best player ......
Maybe micro$oft should learn something from MPC.
Keep the good working mate.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.4 - 2005.08.13
on 15 October 2005 , reviewed by: Superman Returns

# 19

I wish I could add different skins!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.4 - 2005.08.13
on 02 September 2005 , reviewed by: zack

# 18

why doess the autotune for television show status-locked?
can i unlock it?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.4 - 2005.08.13
on 30 August 2005 , reviewed by: cybertesting

# 17

THIS IS BEST PLAYER & RECORDER AT THE WORLD

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.4 - 2005.08.13
on 21 August 2005 , reviewed by: wile_e

# 16

Brilliant! The simply things in life are often the best. So true in this case, no more stuffing about with Windows Media Player 900.7.1.4.5.7.9. lol :)

MS could learn from this product.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.4 - 2005.08.13
on 17 August 2005 , reviewed by: Shamil

# 15

it has bugs!!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.4 - 2005.08.13
on 14 August 2005 , reviewed by: Zimmer

# 14

Though this may appear new to some people, this version was released back on March 20, 2005. No clue why it took Free-Codecs.com this long to get it, lol.

Reply from Administrator: Zimmer, this build was compiled by celtic_druid on August 13, 2005; i think it's new enough to be published here on the same date, lol.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.4
on 03 August 2005 , reviewed by: blurboy

# 13

Good Point: This player very good not lagging. and alot of option now i have use this player to watch and listen to all my media and audio file...
also got a playlist...

Bad Point: so long never update...

GoOd job KEep it up!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.4
on 20 July 2005 , reviewed by: Martin

# 12

why won't it play wmv-files ... "Cannot load any source filter" --- ??

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.4
on 14 April 2005 , reviewed by: t1no

# 11

has problem when running mp3 files.
skipping.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.3
on 01 March 2005 , reviewed by: Ultimate

# 10

It's the best player ever. Clen but powerful. It plays anything you want it to.

The design is, "that it's no design", sooo clever... couse it changes with windows theme.

The person behind Media Player Classic is next to GOD!!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.3
on 08 February 2005 , reviewed by: Mystique

# 9

MPC is a very decent player and should be found on all systems as its simply versatile and neat.
There are so many great things i can say about MPC and only one thing that really erks me and that is the playlist it needs some work i find it very odd.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.3
on 06 February 2005 , reviewed by: KoshRU

# 8

MPC can PLAY ANYTHING....!!
i've just loved it.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.3
on 30 January 2005 , reviewed by: Seahorse

# 7

Praise the software gods! I has been updated at last. MPC + decent Codec pack = bloat free playback ;)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.3
on 29 January 2005 , reviewed by: 4n0n

# 6

awesomes.

nice, simple, and plays ogms... makes me happy :D

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.3
on 19 January 2005 , reviewed by: LOL

# 5

^
| F*** those whiny a$$ wiggers MPC is the best and if you want skins go f*** yourself in the a$$ with Winamp f***

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.2
on 09 January 2005 , reviewed by: unknown

# 4

actually I like it _looks_ that simple. no skin-engine overhead. it just works. yet missing multilang is a minor drawback.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.2
on 20 December 2004 , reviewed by: Simple Me

# 3

Just the best !
Stable, lite, powerful.... this player can read everything and anywhere !!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.2
on 29 November 2004 , reviewed by: frozST

# 2

the best multiplayer!!! plays ANITHING!!

when multilang and skins? coming soon i hope...

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.2
on 18 November 2004 , reviewed by: Hendrix

# 1

PROS: Basic, Compact, Non Microshft, open source, quite configurable, instead of 3 or 4 different players you get 1 simple integrated player that pretty much plays just about ANYTHING! CDs, MP3s, DVDs, QT, RAM, WMA etc etc (just install codecs)

CONS: Cumbersome functionality, a tad un-user friendly but with the versatilty of what this can play I'm willing to look past the pooey interface. A good skin, plugin vis would be nice.

Nice work.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

WRITE A REVIEW:

All submitted reviews & comments will be subject to moderation before being displayed. Stay on the subject otherwise your review won't be published. If you are looking for help or support, please use the forum.


Enter the code exactly as you see it - case sensitive - in the spam-prevention image above.

  • Helium Audio Converter
  • Helium software does exactly what it says it will do - and does it ALL well. Plus no crapware, ...
  • x265
  • I get a warning saying that this is not a valid executable file.
  • ProgDVB
  • ProgDVB 7.06.5 x64: + Easy to set up. + You can choose portable installation and normal. + The beautiful interface. - The channel ...
    view more »


    Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com.

    All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2014 Codecs.com