Media Player Classic 6.4.9.1 reviews

4.48

from 160 Reviews

Write a review

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 16 April 2007 , reviewed by: baldy55

# 80

@Mrwirez: All you have to do is go into options, under playback there is output, and the default under DirectShow video is Overlay Mixer. Change it to System Default or VMR9 renderless if you want subtitles with .avi videos. This should fix it.
Yeah MPC's the best.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 01 April 2007 , reviewed by: Mrwirez

# 79

Anyway to run MPC 6.4.9.0 with aero glass?

When opening MPC glass is shut OFF and Vista "basic" is turned on.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

4

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 30 March 2007 , reviewed by: jokoon

# 78

good but :
interface is a little too "windows default" :
I'd like to have no borders while in minimal mode, and it would quite better to have the time bar and the time on the same thing, both take too much place.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 21 February 2007 , reviewed by: Russ

# 77

This works well even in Vista! I have the business edition, and why MS didn't include a DVD player, I'll never know! But this little app solves the problem, thanks. I'm getting tired of this copy protection (playback hindrance) stuff... I tried several ways to update codecs in WMP 11 but all were unsuccessful until I found this player.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

3

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 16 February 2007 , reviewed by: jona

# 76

Like the small footprint
BUT

Cuts off first few seconds of some wma files

Can't even play some downloaded wma due to "rendering" issues

Can't save play list - also really miss being able to click & drag files to play list

Link to homepage in Help goes to some generic place-holder site

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 13 February 2007 , reviewed by: rhawk301

# 75

@zieman thanks for the suggestion. I deleted the .ini file and it works now! cool stuff.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 11 February 2007 , reviewed by: Bun Mui

# 74

Are there any codecs so that classic player can play ape ext. files?

Thanks.

Bun Mui

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 16 October 2006 , reviewed by: Carson Wall

# 73

Bug: When the step forward is pressed and play is resumed, the sound goes off. Just hear "sa..sa...sa..", something sounds like on the radio that has not tuned in. Another problem is the backward key. Never works to step backward.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 06 October 2006 , reviewed by: victor of 89

# 72

hi. 'Failed to render file' appears after trying to play the accursed DRM files. anyway for MPC to run 'em instead of WMP?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 29 September 2006 , reviewed by: Wesmosis

# 71

I've bin using it for ages now, the best player ever
we need NO SKINS whiners! it will bloated like WINAMP5 or WMP11
simeple one exe can do everything, today I just discoverd the SAVE THUMBNAILS feature wow!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 06 September 2006 , reviewed by: Anonymous

# 70

Great as always, but how can i block video files from opening internet explorer windows?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 25 August 2006 , reviewed by: manik

# 69

hey excellent player
but when playing sum large files the player shows wrong colours.sumtimes shows large desktop icons instead of movies .and horizantal white lines . i am using win xp sp 2.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 06 August 2006 , reviewed by: Arkwe

# 68

It all started when I tried to get the repeat forever and the balance controls on the audio playback options page to work. Well, well after tinkering for a while unsuccessfully the streaming audio died with the 'Failed to render file" message,

I had no problem with my previous version Real Alternative v1.11 but with Real Alternative v1.49 I'm facing plenty of issues. I'm running win98se and just in case the latest Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0 was xp based I downloaded the identical version for win98 with similar results. Any ideas?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 26 July 2006 , reviewed by: Ken

# 67

I have finally found a method that allows me to play streaming video (.asx) files with newer versions of MPC.

1. Got to http://www.free-codecs.com/download/Windows_Media_Lite.htm and download Windows Media Lite (wmlite240.exe)

2. Install with the first 5 boxes selected (not sure all are needed, but you will uninstall them later).

3. At this time I opened MPC 6.4.9.0 and was able to play the stream from http://floridakeysmedia .com/hogsbreath/hogsbreath.asx

4. I then uninstalled the wmlite installation using the control panel add/remove programs.

5. After the uninstall, I was still able to play the stream using the new version of MPC.

Let me know if this works for you.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 20 July 2006 , reviewed by: zieman

# 66

anybody got 'Failed to render file' messages when opening AVI files with MPC? The solution is real simple. Goto
c:\program files\media player classic\ and delete the .ini file. MPC will start at default setting afterwards!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 16 July 2006 , reviewed by: DW

# 65

Very very good. Just one trouble - very very bad seeking with keys - it halts for a time, smtimes forever :( And seek with mouse makes a big pause (a poem! :) in play. Any help?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 15 July 2006 , reviewed by: Iaswnas

# 64

After installing sp 2, i cant play wmv9 files with media player classic! I ve tried installing windows media player 11, ffdshow, etc but nothing but a green screen and sound.
I can play though wmv8 with media player classic but NOT wmv9!

Mplayer2 plays the files.

Help!!!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 28 June 2006 , reviewed by: rikmik

# 63

Downloaded MPC and files will not open. Get error message of "unable to download decompressor"

What gives?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 25 June 2006 , reviewed by: Lord_Looser

# 62

The internal MPEG-2 Video decoder filter doesn't support resoloution changes within a mpeg2 DVB-T video.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 18 June 2006 , reviewed by: hexxor

# 61

@ Rayk | Date: 20 Dec 2005

rayk, you need to install the latest realmediaalternative version 1.49.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 14 June 2006 , reviewed by: fozia

# 60

this is wonderful i really like it

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 20 May 2006 , reviewed by: abc

# 59

Update to my post below:
hmm... i have to correct my theory. The streaming links do work only for IE without any problem, but not for Firefox :(
When i click on the those think using Firefox MPC poped up but then stopped and nothing happened. The problem is that MPC cannot parse the streaming files inside the .asx/.mms automatically, but when i put the same link manuel into "Open Files", it runs smoothly again. Also, MPC has there a problem.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 20 May 2006 , reviewed by: abc

# 58

@ DC101 Streaming Audio:
I am using Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0 and got the same problem with "Failed To Render File." on streaming files. After updating MS Windows Media Player from v9 to v10 this problem is gone and i can watch video online now. The problem is definitive NOT the MPC! as:

a) i have to much installed and re-/uninstalled the K-Lite Codec Pack for test, so that some files probably have been removed or the registry was changed, which the MPC is obviously using them; or
b) The problem happen to all versions after 6.4.8.4. That means, newer versions cannot live with the old WMP v9 library.

These files failed to watch 2 hours before of this posting, but now everything is OK:
Your link:
http://a936.l2013143117.c20131.g.lm.akamaistream .net/D/936/20131/v0001/reflector:43117
Test link:
mms://wm.microsoft .com/ms/msnse/0503/24295/
Dustin_Hubbard/dustin_hubbard_new_tabletpc_experience_revised.wmv
http://a936.l2013143117.c20131.g.lm.akamaistream .net/D/936/20131/v0001/reflector:43117
http://www.cinema .com/film/7455/mona-lisa-smile/trailers.phtml
http://hogsbarcam.floridakeysmedia .com/hogsbreath/hogsbarcam.asx
http://maxweber.hunter.cuny .edu/~mkuechle/Streaming_Video_Test_Page.html
http://www.gencourt.state.nh .us/live/default.html

There are a lot of people having the same problem, just google for "Failed To Render File." or here on the autor's forum:
http://sourceforge .net/forum/forum.php?thread_id=1462522&forum_id=281015

No solution was found till now, but hope this post can help you.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 14 May 2006 , reviewed by: DC101 Streaming Audio

# 57

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0

'Failed to render' error on the following website - can anybody get this to work?

http://a936.l2013143117.c20131.g.lm.akamaistream .net/D/936/20131/v0001/reflector:43117

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 29 April 2006 , reviewed by: fritz

# 56

the best player on the word :D :D :D.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 17 April 2006 , reviewed by: phil

# 55

Great little update. I love the "add to playlist" option for the open file dialog. For DVDs using less CPU power, I use DScaler5 on my 900mhz pIII system, and it works just fine.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 08 April 2006 , reviewed by: Motorcycleboy

# 54

The Real test of MPC is it's ability to play DVDds and so far I am not impressed. It works just about OK on my system with XP Pro but on Windows 98SE it is a failure. The MPC that comes with Real Alternative just creates visual jibberish when you try to play DVDs. Using the MPC v6.4.8.9 optimised for Windows 98 it does actually play DVDs but there is a peculiar effect of movement speeding up and slowing down. I have tried the various options in the Direct show video output, but to no avail. On XP movement is not entirely smooth but just about acceptable. MPC on XP uses 85% of CPU resources.

This could be a consequence of my hardware, ie a 1.2Ghz Via C3 processor and a GA-60XTA m/b with 133Mhz bus speed.

Does anyone know of another option for playing DVDs without buying a DVD decoder? What about Stinkey's MPEG2 decoder?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 01 April 2006 , reviewed by: methinks

# 53

mpc can save 4 types of playlist;
mpc's own playlist, *.pls, *.asx, *.m3u.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 28 March 2006 , reviewed by: yuyoonshoo

# 52

I converted some file with virtualdub . Some famous player can't play "converted files" but Media classic player can .Oh ! surprising !
I think that disadvantage of Media-classic-player is that it can't make play-list . If Media-classic-player can make play-list and manage them efficiently , I will always use Media-classic-palyer :)
thanks !

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 23 March 2006 , reviewed by: JJ

# 51

Very good. You can fix the errors on opening a file bug by selecting mpc to play all your videos. The bug is caused by filenames that have spaces in them so you can either fix by
1) setting mmc to play all videos (works but who knows why) or 2) fixing all your filenames to get rid of spaces.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 23 March 2006 , reviewed by: Ant

# 50

Does anyone else have problems screen capturing in MPC? I get like "GetCurrentImage failed, hr = 80004001" errors. This was a .rm file.

Thank you in advance. :)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 22 March 2006 , reviewed by: XXX

# 49

Are there any Visualisation-Plug-ins for MPC?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.9.0
on 20 March 2006 , reviewed by: sunnytexas

# 48

I'm sooo glad that the MPC programmers fixed the streaming issue with MPC 6.4.9.0!! Great
media player!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.9
on 18 March 2006 , reviewed by: 3M

# 47

Don't work capture to disk in 6.4.8.9
File size stay 0 MB all capture time and disappear after stop of capture.
Version 6.4.8.7 is OK.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.9
on 14 March 2006 , reviewed by: stwum

# 46

MPC v6.4.8.9 cannot handle URLs(http://..., mms://...) whether open from 'Favorites' or enter under 'File Open' menu. It returns error message, "File not Found". That's a bummer. Previous versions handle URLs flawlessly.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.9
on 12 March 2006 , reviewed by: Marcus

# 45

I really like this player, but unfortunately it still can't handle matroska subchapters correctly, which is a show-stopper for me.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.9
on 11 March 2006 , reviewed by: Smoke Screen

# 44

MPC is still the best free allround Videoplayer but the KM-Player comes very close and looks better (Winamp 5 alike)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.7 [2006.02.26]
on 26 February 2006 , reviewed by: Gurukid

# 43

Is there a possibility of getting ALAC support in MPC?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.7 [2006.02.22]
on 22 February 2006 , reviewed by: breeze

# 42

02/22/06

I can't get the new version to play wmv files at all. Reinstalled all wmv codecs from Microsoft including direct x update as well as other video codecs and still canít get it to play these files. It does play all other file formats. Incidentally my video files used to have media classic icon now they have windows9 icon. Does anyone have any ideas on this?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Media Player Classic 6.4.8.7 [2006.01.28]
on 01 February 2006 , reviewed by: Markku Nurmi

# 41

Error corrections capabilities present

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

WRITE A REVIEW:

All submitted reviews & comments will be subject to moderation before being displayed. Stay on the subject otherwise your review won't be published. If you are looking for help or support, please use the forum.


Enter the code exactly as you see it - case sensitive - in the spam-prevention image above.

  • DVDFab & BluFab

  • Stopped making a Temp file 2 months ago. Problem or change in updates? Now have 9.1.7.9
  • SmartRipper

  • It outputs vob files to computer speedy and with time set by chapters :)
  • Helium Audio Converter

  • It converts any 24-bit file into 16-bit file without notice. I lost a lot of 24-bit original recordings!!!! Never ...
    view more »


    Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com. All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2014 Codecs.com