Real Alternative 2.0.2 reviews

3.82

from 153 Reviews

Write a review

5

Real Alternative 1.29
on 31 January 2005 , reviewed by: user

# 33

this software is great! i hated the realplayer and now, I can listen to whatever i want...thumbs up

to NT4 and w2000 users: get a proper, up-to-date OS ffs!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Real Alternative 1.29
on 20 January 2005 , reviewed by: abc

# 32

Didn't work at all on NT4: the media player classic reports "The proceduree entry point DirectDrawCreateEx could not be located in the dynamic link library DDAW.DLL".

Probably this software is not meant for NT4 (while searching the net, I found that other software also have exactly the same problem, and they don't have any answers either).

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.29
on 19 January 2005 , reviewed by: aad

# 31

Real Alternative and quicktime works great under w.m. classic. and it is free. Only unistall realplayer 1 or 10 and Quicktime 6.5. via regcleaner. It is a must have for it plays all the codecs from old to the newest version esp.the soundfiles. Older codecs are missing in wmp.10. So they say look on the web but if you already can find the older codec mostly you have to pay for it. So do install these little codec programms in the proper way than it will amaze you. Again it is for free. Greetings all. Oh don,t uninstall wmp 10 because
you can always use this quy.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

Real Alternative 1.29
on 19 January 2005 , reviewed by: aad

# 30

after having troubles with realplayer 1 and 10 i installed real alternative with wmp classic together and i must say it works great. you must use them together. i am still working with wmp 10 and that goes fine to.as i need it. you have to see it so by this programm you have all the codecs from real and wmp from old to new. and it is for free. don,t forget that.
It works so well because the old codecs to play audio in wmp 10 and realplayer 1 or10 (they have forgotten to install these) still are working fine under real alternative.
Iam working under WXP.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.29
on 15 January 2005 , reviewed by: Laurence

# 29

A good alternative to realplayer 10. Nice and simple. No Ads, burning option, etc. My probem is that I've setup a streaming media machine which works fine except that using real alternative you can't use the slider to go back and forth in the film, it just hangs. Which means I can't really recommend it to others. Slider works ok in real player 10. Nearly there. Streaming media server is helix version 10. (same happens to all helix versions). keep up the good work. PS What's the real alternative Linux Option?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Real Alternative 1.29
on 09 January 2005 , reviewed by: duh

# 28

Downloaded and installed it without Media Player Classic. I dont want to install additional players (not MP classic nor that steaming pile of nuts called Real One Player) so I use it with Windows Media Player 10 and only few files (like 1 out of 5) actually plays correctly. Most audio/video files don't play at all, WMP only says its unable to find codec for the file.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Real Alternative 1.29
on 03 January 2005 , reviewed by: TheBobman

# 27

Well, it does exactly what it supposed to do, but in a multi-monitor environment I can only get it to work on monitor 1. On monitor 2 it frequently doesn't work.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.29
on 01 January 2005 , reviewed by: Pummi in Akron, OH

# 26

Media Player Classic has been flawless but I didn't read enough good about Real Alternative 1.29 so I saved it for later. I just had a system crash and installing Real Alternative 1.29 is one reason I can be happy. Media Player Classic survived the crash and I got rid of that stupid crashing Real Player for good. I write HTML for fun and my browser plays embedded media and connects to my favorite radio station on web pages I authored. It's great, that is all.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.29
on 28 December 2004 , reviewed by: Paul

# 25

Cant you guys understand that the player included in the package is NOT PROVIDED BY THIS SITE!!! It's The old cla$$ic Windows MEDIA PLAYER and its just included there for you to use. Its the codec that these guys made not the player. Duh!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Real Alternative 1.29
on 27 December 2004 , reviewed by: JS

# 24

It doesn't play rm files broadcasted from radio stations such as WKCR, at least on my windows 2000.
The idea is good but since I need a realplayer on for radio station I will uninstall it and go back to realone :-(

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Real Alternative 1.29
on 17 December 2004 , reviewed by: Jez

# 23

It works fine for me except I couldn't get the ram files embedded in the web-pages to play. Media Player comes up and says "cannot find the specified file.." I tried downloading the ram file but had the same problem.

To answer lilboy's question down there, this download is *not* a "program", it is *not* a player that "looks" like Windows Media Player.. it's a codec which allows you to play RealPlayer files *in* Media Player. You have the option of installing Media Player 6 with the codec, but I prefer to use MP 9 (10 $uck$). So I de-selected that option. And as for "overlapping and overwriting issues" well there are none. It's a codec. Just like DivX is a codec. Same thing, but for RealPlayer files. Got that? Good.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.29
on 15 December 2004 , reviewed by: Anonymous

# 22

Works perfectly for me. I'm using a pyrated copy of Windows XP Professional with only service pack 1 (windows update won't let me get service pack 2 because my xp copy is illegal, hehe). After Real Player stole credit card numbers, passwords and other personal information with their previous "download manager" program, i will never trust those jerks again. Real Player is probably working with the privacy-invading Echelon or something like that. Conspiracy so trust no one, choose the underdog!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Real Alternative 1.29
on 08 December 2004 , reviewed by: Spencer Thayer

# 21

I was hoping to get an alternative to Real Player but all I got was a program that ruins every codec on a computer. Maybe it's incapatible with one of my graphics cards or maybe its poorly written. Either way on my computer it "zooms" in to the top right corner of the video. Not just real player files but all video files expect for those usingt DIVX, that doesn't even play at all. Sure it could be something else wrong with my computer, but I dig the simplest answer. I install the program and then I open it up and stream it and there was the error. Then I opened other files and once again, error. SO I'm just gonna a$$ume it's Real Player Alternative. Watch out. You may have to go through a hell of a battle restoring your codecs.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Real Alternative 1.29
on 08 December 2004 , reviewed by: GLITCH

# 20

I can't get this to work, Am I trying to convert the wrong type of files? .RAX is what I'm working on there the purchased music from Real.(grr hate them don't know why I bought from them. grr) Help me please....

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.29
on 04 December 2004 , reviewed by: PS

# 19

works great for me, doesn't try to take over your comuter the way RealPlayer does, I hated realplayer

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Real Alternative 1.29
on 04 December 2004 , reviewed by: RealMan

# 18

After I install real Alternative 1.29, not all real video can be opened, most of them cannot be opened, but real play can open all the real video. Why, this program so $uck$.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.29
on 24 November 2004 , reviewed by: S202

# 17

Downloaded 1.29 for my Windows XP SP2 (Chinese edition) with Media Player 10.0. All I can say is Real Alternative 1.29 kicks butt. It runs all files that I need to view such as .dat, .avi., .rmvb. and .mpeg without any problem.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.29
on 21 November 2004 , reviewed by: Ticked off?

# 16

I am not sure if this is from Real Alternative. I installed it, and now I cannot start my RealPlayer 10.5. I was thinking I would have both to use. XP SP2, ~1.2 Athlon, 512 DDR. Do I need to uninstall RealAlternative, and then re-install RealPlayer? Any help is good.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Real Alternative 1.29
on 20 November 2004 , reviewed by: duh

# 15

Real Alternative 1.29-28-27

I liked the alternative concept but 2 things made me go back to realplayer :

-no advanced equalization

-maybe an exception, but i could not enjoy this player while maximizing or reducing windows. When doing it, i would hear each times brief interruptions...
Pity, because when not touching any windows, the reception is *perfect*, wich isn't the case of real that bleep at least 1 time per minute...i guess i'll try double screen and put realalternative on a dedicated screen ? hmhmhm...

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Real Alternative 1.29
on 17 November 2004 , reviewed by: OL

# 14

Damn versions... I meant 1.29 doesnt work for me so I'm back to 1.28 which is great :D

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Real Alternative 1.29
on 17 November 2004 , reviewed by: OL

# 13

OK 1.28 doesn't work for me I'm back to 1.27 which is great
Whenever I play a ram in 1.28, the sound stops after a few seconds/minute even though the download continues.
Oh and it still won't auto-install the plugins for Firefox :/

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Real Alternative 1.29
on 10 November 2004 , reviewed by: jake

# 12

Great program, just wish it would work under WMP 10 like it's brother quicktime alternative does...i suppose it will be out in the next version...that's when it will get 5/5 stars from me...whoever wrote this baby...good work and thanks =) PEACE

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Real Alternative 1.28
on 02 November 2004 , reviewed by: Nanou

# 11

On XP/SP2. Downloaded RealAlternative 1.28. After deinstalling RealMediaPlayer10 run install RA but then nothing ! I check : no RVxx (RealMedia) Codec on mycomputer. I already had MPC but tried deinstalling and reinstall with RA to if it hepled with getting codecs.
I need RV codecs to play realmedia mkv file in VLC.
What can I do ? I can't understand why it won't work for me. Nobody seem to get this pb.
Is there a way to get help. Thanks.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Real Alternative 1.28
on 30 October 2004 , reviewed by: CB

# 10

All I get when I try to view a Real audio file is a player error... Windows XP, Athlon 1800+, ATI Radeon 9800 Pro, 512Mb.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.28
on 30 October 2004 , reviewed by: alfons

# 9

This is one of the coolest things on earth. It's practically bliss. Realmedias Realplayer is a bad joke, a bulkload of advertisments and marketing research tools, it just $uck$ and makes my windows system go wack and me to. But this alternative Player is small slick and totally cool. I love you man.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.28
on 26 October 2004 , reviewed by: Richard

# 8

Great codec works well with windows meadia cla$$ic but not with windows media 10 ?? whys that. Download the quicktime alt as well and that works in winodws media 10

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.28
on 25 October 2004 , reviewed by: Chris Fletcher

# 7

Are the Codecs from Real or from some Free/Open Source developer?

If they are from Real, wouldn't they be freaking out about the use of proprietary software (the codecs) in this package?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Real Alternative 1.27
on 20 October 2004 , reviewed by: Bas

# 6

I was unable to load it because of a missing function in ddraw.dll. How can I contact the maker?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.27
on 10 October 2004 , reviewed by: Netaku

# 5

Works great for me. I practically never use Realplayer for obvious reasons, but whenever I do this does the trick.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Real Alternative 1.27
on 07 October 2004 , reviewed by: Manji

# 4

How can i set the Proxy Configuration for the alternative ? I'm behind a firewall/proxy here but i can't find any proxy-settings in the alternative options !? any ideas ?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Real Alternative 1.27
on 07 October 2004 , reviewed by: lilboy

# 3

why can't players try to be original? this looks just like windows media player 8 and i hate the looks. also you cant help wondering overlapping issues. not to mention overwriting issues. it's a great idea tho to try to get rid of the horrid real player which sucks ass. real players is a horrible adware racket and ugly as hell. nuff said.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Real Alternative 1.27
on 06 October 2004 , reviewed by: Dan

# 2

The main thing missing is the ability to set the ports/transport that it uses (Quicktime Alternative can). This causes problems with firewalls and NATS as it is always using different ports, which means at present I can't use it :-(

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Real Alternative 1.27
on 05 October 2004 , reviewed by: OL

# 1

Still great BUT the auto browser plugin install is bollox
I'm using Firefox (zip) and the plugins were installed in:
C:\Program Files\Real Alternative\Real\Browser\Plugins
instead of:
D:\Program Files\firefox\plugins

Plz bring back the 1.23 system :p

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

WRITE A REVIEW:

All submitted reviews & comments will be subject to moderation before being displayed. Stay on the subject otherwise your review won't be published. If you are looking for help or support, please use the forum.


Enter the code exactly as you see it - case sensitive - in the spam-prevention image above.

  • DVDFab & BluFab

  • could not update it and would not copy Sex Tape.
  • uTorrent

  • Terrible adware. After installation, stuck with some "v9" as default search page. Could remove it only by system restore. ...
  • RealPlayer

  • real player cloud is suck. whenever I download my video ,it is always said incomplete downloading.. it s really ...
    view more »


    Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com.

    All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2014 Codecs.com