Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79 reviews

3.29

from 59 Reviews

Write a review

2

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 21 April 2012 , reviewed by: Jered

# 59

I have windows 7 starter and WMP that comes standard with it. I installed the codec and Cars 2 and Jonah (veggie tales) did not work.

Had to delete files manually after uninstall.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 22 June 2011 , reviewed by: beaver

# 58

Awesome & simple. using xp & wmp11. Thanks, Stinky!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

2

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 24 December 2010 , reviewed by: Doug

# 57

1. Someone asked how to uninstall STinky's codex. Find the location on your computer where you chose to put the installer exe file. When you find it, open it up and it will give you the option to remove it or put it on the computer.

2. My problem with Stinky's mpeg2 codec is that when I installed it and began wmp, it played my mpegs for sure, BUT the mpeg is repeated beside itself, so you see 2 videos side by side simultaneously. Its like 2 monitors on one screen. What gives with that?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 05 November 2009 , reviewed by: Math

# 56

Mpeg2 videos now work.
No hassle to download and works great!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 21 August 2009 , reviewed by: Ridwaan

# 55

Works for me, great.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 06 August 2009 , reviewed by: taz

# 54

This does not work for me....clips my video....I want to uninstall...please help....no one is answering that question.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 28 May 2009 , reviewed by: Mickey

# 53

this is all you need in order to see your video MPEG2 files on your Windows Media Player!!! You don't need to pay a penny to those Microsoft mother f**kers who want to ripp you off by MAKING you by any upgrade of windows media. Why should we pay more!?? Aren't PCs expensive enough?

COOL & THANKS A LOOOOOT!!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 13 March 2009 , reviewed by: Ben Fred

# 52

Didn't work for my WindowsXP, Media Player 11

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 23 July 2008 , reviewed by: elvadreng

# 51

@ Kris

Use window player classic. It works.

I find it a pain in the ar$e to uninstall as well.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 16 June 2008 , reviewed by: Kris

# 50

Downloaded fine, installed quickly and with no errors....still the same old message, still can't watch the DVD I brought home from mom's and still bored out of my mind.

Oh, and one more thing, I can't seem to get it deleted off my computer. Uninstalled, or at least that's what it says but ummm...yeah, the file will not go in the recycling bin and the Shift+Delete trick didn't work either. So...yeah, take my advice, if you have XP, don't download it, it most likely won't work and then it's a pain to remove.

End of rant.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 01 May 2008 , reviewed by: Sean

# 49

Please disregaurd rating.

I was just wondering if this codec is Windows Vist compatible?
Please reply to email.
Thanks

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 25 April 2008 , reviewed by: fouad

# 48

It just doesn't work with WMP11 and Windows XP . After install you should be able to see in WMP11 check box for 'DVD Video' but there was none. Trying to open a VOB file with WMP11 doesn't work either. Luckily I used an uninstaller program with Stinkey's Codec so I could get rid of it completely.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 21 March 2008 , reviewed by: ralph

# 47

great job, now its working!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 08 January 2008 , reviewed by: Dan

# 46

Easy to install and uninstall (thank goodness!), but seems to clip audio ... I will keep looking!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 21 November 2007 , reviewed by: tbone5574

# 45

HOW DO U UNINSTALL THIS CODEC?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 08 November 2007 , reviewed by: vaiva

# 44

very cool thanks Sticky

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 19 October 2007 , reviewed by: Rolie

# 43

Very quick download and install. Media Player 10 started to play mpeg2 files straight away, but with a faint line down the RH side of the screen. Still better than the Power DVD5 decoder I had installed before though, which had a worse line on it.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 22 September 2007 , reviewed by: chiron

# 42

grrrrrrrrrrrreat!!!
thanks! so easy! with wmp10!! haha

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 21 September 2007 , reviewed by: Rammy

# 41

Thank you so much.

Looks like you have copied two important files in system dir. to make it work

Thank u .... it is working perfect....c u i am going to watch my fav. DVD movies

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 17 June 2007 , reviewed by: TNG

# 40

Impresionante

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 06 June 2007 , reviewed by: jju

# 39

It downloaded flawlessly and it actually made my WMP 10 play a DVD but it the picture was skipping a lot. It's better than nothing.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 08 May 2007 , reviewed by: FedUpWithCodecs

# 38

Just like "Disappointed" ... easy download, easy install, not much room for errors, there is only 2 buttons "Install" and "Remove" .... But the thing doesn't work : no way to read a dvd I still get the message saying "a compatible DVD decoder is not installed on your computer" ... It just deosn't work. GOD why is it such a nightmare to simply wanna read a DVD on a PC ?????

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 19 April 2007 , reviewed by: Disappointed

# 37

Downloaded ok. Appeared to install ok. But, even after a reboot, simply had no effect on the WMP error message that 'a compatible DVD decoder is not installed on your computer'. The WMP error message dialogue button for Web Help continued to advise that I need a MPEG-2 decoder.

So just what have I downloaded and installed?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 16 April 2007 , reviewed by: Anonymous

# 36

It was very easy to install, and it at least allowed me to play dvds again. The only thing I didn't like was it was a little choppy.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 08 April 2007 , reviewed by: Ayman Elsehimy

# 35

It is very good mpeg -2 codec

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 07 April 2007 , reviewed by: Big Daddy

# 34

Stinky's Codec FIXED my windows media player and allows me to play videos that would never play before. THANKS STINKY!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 10 February 2007 , reviewed by: L G

# 33

Upon further research the below program worked. It played the whole video. This is what I used on my older PC just an older version. The only thing I noticed was when I was playing a video of 3 parts that I joined into one using Camels MPEG join the time length of the video was wrong, it only showed the time of the first part but it played the whole thing and it's a small detail for me.

http://www.elecard .com/ftp/pub/mpeg/decoder/EMPG2_Dec_Strm_Pack_3_0.zip

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 09 February 2007 , reviewed by: L G

# 32

Looked like it worked at first. But upon further review I could not skip around the big videos but on small sized videos I could. The 2 big videos(747mb and 959mb) I played also stopped about 75% in.

Using WinXP, WMP10

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 05 February 2007 , reviewed by: Thomas

# 31

Not compatible with MCE 2005.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 13 August 2006 , reviewed by: WorldTV .com

# 30

Does exactly what it says on the tin. Anyone who is saying this software is crap, when it clearly works for so many people, is obviously doing something wrong, or has some form of codec conflict.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 15 May 2006 , reviewed by: Ant

# 29

In a word. SUPERB !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 23 April 2006 , reviewed by: Motorcycleboy

# 28

It just doesn't work with WMP9 and Windows 98SE. After install you should be able to see in WMP9 tools>Options>File Types a check box for 'DVD Video' but there was none. Trying to open a VOB file with WMP9 doesn't work either. Luckily I used an uninstaller program with Stinkey's Codec so I could get rid of it completely.

So far the best option I have found for a free DVD player is Media Player Classic. You may find that you need XP and a processor of at least 1 Ghz for it to work though.

If anyone knows of another option for a free DVD player that works with Windows 98SE I would like to read about it.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 21 April 2006 , reviewed by: Sara

# 27

It downloaded flawlessly and it actually made my WMP 10 play a DVD but it the picture was skipping a lot. It's better than nothing.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 18 April 2006 , reviewed by: Matt M

# 26

Looks ok, but sound is out of sync. I'm going to uninstall.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 18 March 2006 , reviewed by: intemec

# 25

How do you uninstall this? Terrible sound and video quality.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 01 March 2006 , reviewed by: Algis

# 24

very nice! thanks. I try to make Nero get it with MPeG2... too :D

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 09 February 2006 , reviewed by: mohamed

# 23

thank you for this codecs

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 21 December 2005 , reviewed by: Slaps

# 22

Worked good for encoding with Imtoo, but doesn't seem to be compatible with Windows Media Player or Windows Movie Maker.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 05 December 2005 , reviewed by: André M.

# 21

Worked fine for me! REALLY quick to install.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79
on 04 December 2005 , reviewed by: ronorw

# 20

can someone tell how I can uninstall the stinky's mpeg2 codec?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

WRITE A REVIEW:

All submitted reviews & comments will be subject to moderation before being displayed. Stay on the subject otherwise your review won't be published. If you are looking for help or support, please use the forum.


Enter the code exactly as you see it - case sensitive - in the spam-prevention image above.

  • DVDFab & BluFab

  • Stopped making a Temp file 2 months ago. Problem or change in updates? Now have 9.1.7.9
  • SmartRipper

  • It outputs vob files to computer speedy and with time set by chapters :)
  • Helium Audio Converter

  • It converts any 24-bit file into 16-bit file without notice. I lost a lot of 24-bit original recordings!!!! Never ...
    view more »


    Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com. All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2014 Codecs.com