Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1 reviews

3.51

from 39 Reviews

Write a review

5

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 21 May 2011 , reviewed by: Cory

# 39

Finally it works! Such an easy fix. That being said, has anyone had trouble with the sound? I can watch my videos through the HP quickplay, but I get no sound.

The other thing is that if I leave the files as ASX and move them into my Picasa 3 I can now watch them. Again, the issue is that I have no sound.

So close and yet so far.

Thanks for your help and it's a great site. I have been here before but never commented.



Cory

Same issue with .mp4 video generated by a D-link DCS-2210 camera. On W7, I can easily read the video but no sound. Audio codec is G.276. Any idea?

on 26 Apr 2012 , by albator131

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 19 February 2011 , reviewed by: atterus

# 38

I agree with every one "Vista Sucks!!" The sharp G.726 Audio Codex 1.1.0.1 don't work on my DELL. It worked fine on my HP Pavillion. When do we get some attention for this Microsoft error??

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 06 November 2010 , reviewed by: craig

# 37

I've read a few reviews saying thanks for the advice on changing the asf files to asx files and people enjoying success thanks to the advice by christian, but can anyone tell me how I go about changing my asf files to asx files.

Thanks

Craig

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 12 April 2010 , reviewed by: sawaustin

# 36

ohhhhhhh myyyyyyy gawwwwwwwwwd! christian, you are brilliant!
i am soooo FED UP with this new vista computer, NOTHING works, i want my xp back!
but before downloading the codec it said i needed, i read the reviews, where a lot of people warned of viruses. so i read and tried your version, changing the name, and my god-IT WORKED GREAT! now i can literally play my videos from my little panasonic SV-AV30 camera! you saved me so much hassle! no virus, no codec! this worked great!
....so, um, any suggestions for getting the software/usb cable to work with vista, after i spent DAYS with panasonic and microsoft and dell trying to get a solution, and they all said it won't work? (i did try to install the cd using the option of "an earlier version" in the control panel, but it didn't work).

THANKS FOR THE WINDOWS MEDIA PLAYER HELP!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 08 March 2010 , reviewed by: mostfa

# 35

can't install it on winxp sp2 .... i'll keep trying

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 08 March 2010 , reviewed by: Vanessa

# 34

Christian you are a god. changing the file from an .asf to an .asx is brilliant!! it worked beautifully - thank you

On Vista - Sharp G.726 Audio (45) codec is not installed on your computer.

The missing codec might be available to download from the Internet.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 27 March 2009 , reviewed by: speedy

# 33

Thank you very much Christian!
Your solution worked perfectly! I thought my video was messed up but after getting this through I can finally enjoy my holiday videos :)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 12 July 2008 , reviewed by: Don Kerr

# 32

The tip written by Christian works a treat on Vista. I've downloaded the codec, and with a .asf file no success, but dropping out to command shell and renaming to .asx the file now plays in WMP11.
Thanks Christian.
Don

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 19 June 2008 , reviewed by: Christian

# 31

I am also trying to get Windows Media Player to play the .ASF files generated by the Linksys WVC200 camera. When talking about .ASF file in this email, I always refer to those files generated by a WVC200 camera e.g. those requiring the G.726 (45)codec.

Here are my findings which I collected through reading the various info I could find on the Internet and through my how experiences:

1) WMP 10 on Windows XP SP2 requires the Sharp G.726 (45) codec to be loaded (from usual site www.free-codecs.com ). WMP 10 will display .ASF files (or files renamed to .ASX) well.

2) WMP 11 on Windows XP SP2 requires also the Sharp codec. But once loaded WMP 11 will display .ASF files (or files renamed to .ASX) well.

3) WMP 11 on Windows Vista SP1 requires also the Sharp codec. Once loaded, WMP 11 will happely display the files PROVIDING THE FILES HAVE BEEN RENAMED TO .ASX.

So in conclusion, somehow WMP11 when running on Vista is unable to match the .ASF files to the right codec. However, WMP11 will do so if the files are simply renamed to .ASX (in principe .ASX files are just reference files, not containers).

I am not sure what that means, and how to resolve the problem. It is probably not even of a great help.

Anyone has an idea?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 26 May 2008 , reviewed by: Stephen Jones

# 30

Another possibilityis if you get July 2008 of PC Answers 186.It has a article on page 74 'Watch any video file'. There are also some programmes on the cover CD that may fix the problem.gf

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 22 May 2008 , reviewed by: Les U.

# 29

Another black eye for VISTA. I am going to try the recommendation to download the 'Windows Media Encoder 9 series' to see if that corrects this relatively simple problem. Oh! Wait...there are no simple problems with VISTA.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 04 May 2008 , reviewed by: Stephen Jones

# 28

I had the same problem as its seems with most regarding VISTA. If you go to the Microsoft website you can download 'Windows Media Encoder 9 series' this converted my asf file to a wma file no problems, it didnt even need the patch mentioned for VISTA. Hope this helps someone.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 12 April 2008 , reviewed by: Toni

# 27

It doesn't work at all. I have Windows Vista. Could you help me?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 02 April 2008 , reviewed by: Gege

# 26

It does not work under Vista. Is there another solution?
Thanks

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 31 March 2008 , reviewed by: joe

# 25

I have already installed the Codec but still it won't function. I have windows vista.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 17 February 2008 , reviewed by: jason

# 24

It won't work I've tried 3 times installing it may be it's because of Vista but it's always the same.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 13 January 2008 , reviewed by: Angie

# 23

I have installed but it doesn't work. I have indows xo, can you help me???

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 05 January 2008 , reviewed by: Kelot Weret

# 22

Will it work on Linux Ubuntu? 6.06?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 22 December 2007 , reviewed by: Helen

# 21

I think it won't work on the vista system cause I have two computers, the one with XP is working but the other one with vista can't work.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 24 November 2007 , reviewed by: Reima

# 20

I have already installed the Codec but still it won't function... I have windows vista. Help me!!!!!!!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 17 May 2007 , reviewed by: Mich

# 19

I installed this nuts, but I can't still play my G726 files.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 25 March 2007 , reviewed by: Carlos Gonzales Campos

# 18

muy bueno

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 17 March 2007 , reviewed by: Diniz

# 17

I have a pen drive/mp3player, and whem rec a voice, is automatic save in (xxxxx.726). when I pass for PC, I don't get to access the file because donīt have (xxxxx.726) player. I installed the codec Sharp G.726 that I found in your site, but it didn't work. Could you help me?

thanks
Diniz

Brazil

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 06 July 2006 , reviewed by: ninja

# 16

It says i need to be running on old msdos to install. :(

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 16 May 2006 , reviewed by: Nels

# 15

My video camera recorded a video clip to SD memory card. I copied the WMP video file to desktop and it won't play. I told me I needed to download and install the Sharp_G726_Audio_Codec, which I downloaded and installed. I restarted windows xp and attempted to reply the video. No dice same original message saying i needed a codec. Does anyone here have any suggestions of what to do next?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 19 April 2006 , reviewed by: vf

# 14

excelent

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 17 March 2006 , reviewed by: Alexander Lishansky

# 13

I installed it on Windows XP Pro SP2 (with all updates including betas) without any problems. Now I can view my ASF files from digital camera. Don't know why people complain.

Speaking about file "Codec45_JVCG726E.EXE" (MD5: 912C4413B118EEDA181A156D8F05D06F, E2K: 778BC9D946EF169A98F7DF0D80AECCC8).

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

1

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 08 March 2006 , reviewed by: Simon

# 12

Have windows XP SP2 and WMP10...and it does not want to install (says its "unsuitable"). Needs updating!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 01 March 2006 , reviewed by: Mark

# 11

Installer won't run. No errors, it just doesn't run. I'm on Win Server 2003 Enterprise with Windows Media Player 10.

From the comments of others, it seems like this codec will ONLY work on older OSes and/or older versions of WMP. Sharp should update this piece of code.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 28 February 2006 , reviewed by: Erik D

# 10

surprise, surprise...its not working!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 07 February 2006 , reviewed by: Paul

# 9

Another example of hours spent trying to get something to work without any result

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 14 January 2006 , reviewed by: jim

# 8

Cannot install with windows XP. Get real, update the package!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 13 January 2006 , reviewed by: Alison

# 7

HELP PLEASEEEEE ..lets say I am totally comp illiterate , which i am not but i cant get it to install either :o(

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 01 January 2006 , reviewed by: steve

# 6

Have installed it but it still won't pay the audio . . . transferring MPEG4 files from HDD/DVD recorder to SD card then into laptop . . running XP and WM10 . . .

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 14 December 2005 , reviewed by: anton

# 5

how do i unistall this codec??

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 10 November 2005 , reviewed by: Bakomn

# 4

It crashed my computer

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 27 October 2005 , reviewed by: Shura

# 3

It works nice even on Win98se with old MP!
Super!!!!!!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 25 July 2005 , reviewed by: blacksun

# 2

can't install it on winxp sp2 .... i'll keep trying

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Sharp G.726 Audio Codec 1.1.0.1
on 09 July 2005 , reviewed by: rafael

# 1

thank you for all!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

WRITE A REVIEW:

All submitted reviews & comments will be subject to moderation before being displayed. Stay on the subject otherwise your review won't be published. If you are looking for help or support, please use the forum.


Enter the code exactly as you see it - case sensitive - in the spam-prevention image above.

  • Wavelet Kompressor

  • FYI: Only does .wko, .jpg, .jpeg and .bmp image files.
  • BergWave

  • When opening the vfwbw.inf file to install ...a notepad opens instead of installing the program :(
  • Dirac Splitter

  • No installation file in download
    view more »


    Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com.

    All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2014 Codecs.com