SMPlayer 17.11.2 beta reviews

3.5

from 6 Reviews

Write a review

5

SMPlayer 17.10.8725 beta
on 15 October 2017 , reviewed by: Marty

# 6

For my purposes, SMplayer is the greatest player on the market. And when I say for my purposes, I am specifically talking about its resume play feature. 'RESUME PLAY' is the ability to stop a video and then restart it at a later time and have it pick up where it left off as opposed to the video starting over at the beginning and having to search for the point where it had previously stopped.

I have been using SMplayer now for several years. Prior to SMplayer I had been using the VLC player.

VLC has always been and I'm sure will always be a great player but until recently it lacked this feature and even though VLC has recently incorporated this feature into their player (after a fashion) in the VLC player it is awkward and a hassle to use.

With VLC you have to go through multiple steps to get to resume play (which kind of defeats the whole purpose). With SMplayer it is the automatic and default setting. With SMplayer if you stop the video now and then come back five minutes later or five months later it will still automatically resume at the point where you left off with just a standard double click. It doesn't matter if you have started and stopped 20 other shows. SMplayer will still remember and resume play where you left off on every one of them.

In its earlier years, there were some occasional playback issues on some videos, but I have not had that problem for a long time now. SMplayer has got to be the most underrated unsung hero of the computer video player world.

I will always like VLC but I LOVE SMPLAYER!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

SMPlayer 0.8.6.5954 beta
on 07 January 2014 , reviewed by: Ram

# 5

SM Player is very good but incapable of playing longer video files above 250mb...whether it be wmv, mp4, flv or others which it plays worse.

For smaller video files, excellent

You are not serious, right...? It has no file size limit and its not very hard to check.

Some people could be put off by this disinformation.

This site should have thumb down button.

on 01 Feb 2014 , by pecazp

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1 comment | Reply

4

SMPlayer 0.8.6.5952 beta
on 02 January 2014 , reviewed by: Bolt90

# 4

This player IS reliable, and has de-blocking filters and other filters easily accessed from the menu bar including during playback.

It always seems to come in handy, even though I license several payware players.

This player is feature rich. Much appreciated...

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

SMPlayer 0.6.9.3615 beta
on 14 August 2011 , reviewed by: Steve Kim

# 3

I do not recommend to use this player.
I tried to test and failed to download subtitle for a popular video title, but failed.

The sound codec is also no so good as other players.

I would recommend anyone to use Potplayer in which a lot of options are available per your preference.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

SMPlayer 0.6.6
on 18 January 2009 , reviewed by: UKNews

# 2

Great front-end media player.
Highly suggested to any one fantastic with video:)

It opens video and audio files of virtuall any format.

Better than well-known MPC.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

2

SMPlayer 0.6.4
on 27 October 2008 , reviewed by: djb

# 1

I didn't like this. It didn't play the files directly on command. It took seconds for it to try and open files.

Most of my AVI files didn't open. Not a very well put together media player. Avoid this. I'm sticking with KMPlayer.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

WRITE A REVIEW:

All submitted reviews & comments will be subject to moderation before being displayed. Stay on the subject otherwise your review won't be published. If you are looking for help or support, please use the forum.


Enter the code exactly as you see it - case sensitive - in the spam-prevention image above.

  • Shotcut

  • ANOTHER GREAT FREE VIDEO PROGRAM THERE IS A LEARNING CURVE, IF YOU'RE NEW TO EDITING THE GPU EXPERIMENTAL IS ...
  • Adobe DNG Converter

  • I used it to correct my pictures. Thanks.
  • LAV Filters

  • The LAV Filter 0.70.2-82 caused TS-doctor and dvb-viewer errors. LAV Filter 0.70.2-80 was much better. Online for a long ...
    view more »


    Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com. All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2017 Codecs.com