Subtitles in WMP 12

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_tmgenesis1_*

Guest_tmgenesis1_*
  • Guests

Posted 10 November 2011 - 07:36 PM

Hi,

I just downloaded and installed "DirectVobSub_2.40.3785_x64". I am trying to watch a movie with an srt file for the subtitles. I have named the file the exact same as the movie and placed it in the same location as the movie. And yet still no subtitles. I am a noob so maybe I'm missing something in the setup. I have hear this was a simple download and install and presto you can have subtitles. I'm sure I'm doing something wrong. Can someone please help me?

Thanks

#2 zeNmaster

zeNmaster

• Administrators
  • 155 posts
  • LocationEU

Posted 12 November 2011 - 01:34 PM

Windows Media Player uses the Media Foundation framework instead of DirectShow for playing certain file types. As a result, DirectShow subtitle filters like DirectVobSub are not used. Media Foundation lacks native support for many common subtitle formats.

Media Foundation is used for the following file types: AVI, WMV, MP4, MOV, 3GP, M2TS.

In case of AVI files, subtitles will be displayed if DirectVobSub is installed. Media Foundation has a special workaround to make that possible.

For the other file formats mentioned above you need to disable Media Foundation in order to be able to get subtitles. You can do that with the Win7DSFilterTweaker tool that is included with the codec pack. Instead of disabling Media Foundation, what also works in most cases is to disable the Microsoft DTV-DVD Video Decoder. You can also do that with the Win7DSFilterTweaker tool.

If you have trouble getting DirectVobSub to load for external subtitles when ffdshow is set as preferred H.264 decoder, then try setting the preferred decoder back to Microsoft. That may help.

An alternative for DirectVobSub would be the Local Subtitles for WMP plugin for WMP12. That also works with Media Foundation.
Source: Codecguide