ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition reviews

3.31

from 177 Reviews

Write a review

5

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 11 October 2006 , reviewed by: Appoc

# 137

This package is fking awsome! had video playback problems with this and my previous computer and have spend Alot of time to solve it, when I solved one problem another popped up instead, but with this package, all problems solves everything instantly, just install and play :)

Excellent!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 09 October 2006 , reviewed by: chucky

# 136

I like this pack so far, i installed the pro version and it works fine, all you gotta do is uncheck whatever stuff u dont need. So far it plays all my videos and music flawlessly.for all u who like complaining get a cardboard box and hide under it to keep you safe from whatever you cant understand :)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 09 October 2006 , reviewed by: chucky

# 135

I noticed a few people are having problems with quicktime after installing this pack, just uninstall it, re-install itunes/quicktime, then reinstall the codec pack but uncheck on the list of codecs the 1 that says quicktime, you cant miss it, its about 20mb on the list.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

1

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 13 September 2006 , reviewed by: R

# 134

Not a good codec program...

This simply isnt worth the download, not only is the pack extremely large but it can't play a lot of my files that I could when running the k-lite pack. I ended up installing another codec pack ontop of this to keep running my other files. Also the uninstall didn't complete properly so I have to remove a lot of files manually.

Perhaps if this codec pack consists of codecs that you need not offered elsewhere it'd be worth the download otherwise there are better alternatives out there.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 06 September 2006 , reviewed by: jasonC

# 133

This program is absolutely amazing. It's very easy to use, i have no idea how it was "complicated" for anyone. it's menu-driven, and well-written.

Thanks to the author for this fine piece of software. Peace!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 04 September 2006 , reviewed by: Anonymous

# 132

works fine for me - finally able to load hiphop ejay 5!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 25 August 2006 , reviewed by: Crunchy Cereal

# 131

This was the most horrible codec pack ever. It messed up all .dll files associated with Quicktime and iTunes, and I still can't get them to work right after uninstalling both, manually getting rid of old files, and reinstalling. Not to mention half of the codecs didn't work. I understand a pack like this may be useful, but if something like this is to be created, please don't make it sabotage the other media players.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 24 August 2006 , reviewed by: Db

# 130

Does anyone know how i get my Adobe premiere and windows movie maker to play WMV after installing this GREAT pack ?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 22 August 2006 , reviewed by: Jay

# 129

I loved this Codec, but ive had problems trying to uninstall and reinstall, it fails saying error of List Index Out of Bounds, Im Lost any ideas?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 05 August 2006 , reviewed by: Odmog

# 128

A codec pack with lots of codecs. Works fine if you have the slightest idea what you are doing. It is usually one of the first things I install on a computer. All you unhappy people rating it 1, start reading the text, learn how to use the tools and how to install the thing, use your logic skills, and don't expect so d**n much from this. It's a huge non-profit one-man project and you can't expect it to be all automatic. Did you really think that it would backup your entire system so that you could fully restore everything at uninstall? It does replace many things if you have them on forehand and tell the installer to install them.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 05 August 2006 , reviewed by: H-Wizard [BMF]

# 127

if u will install ace mega codecs pack 6.03 do not install the quicktime components ... that did it for me!
enjoy

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 01 August 2006 , reviewed by: Xcise

# 126

At first, this seems a great codec pack. Everything seems to work just fine. But when i found out that iTunes was not playing any of my files (including video), i decided to uninstall.

That's when all hell broke loose on my machine. Now not just but all my media related software gets frozen, give errors, or simply won't run.

The uninstallation removed all codec related info from registry and "not" replaced with the older settings, it just left everything a blank.

So at this point iTunes, Real Player, Adobe After Effects, convertion programs, even DIVX PLAYER are not working.

I had to re-install these tools all over again. Some are working now, but most of them still give errors (Media Player Classic is not playing DVD or Divx files - divx player works, iTunes still not playing mp3, etc).

So at the end : Yes this is a great mega pack, with an awful installation/removal package.

I belive the developer never tested this package except his/her own computer...

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 25 July 2006 , reviewed by: BHXtyrant

# 125

Hey guys,like many of you i agree on what is said about this pack although i havent had a problem installing or uninstalling it.I was wondering does anyone know if anyone ever made a guide for this pack telling exactly what each codec and filter,ect are for?I prefer to only install what i might need but there are so many that i do not know what the hell they are for lol a guide would be very helpful

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 18 July 2006 , reviewed by: mark

# 124

This codec is good, but there is one big problem with him, few movies I can't watch, cuz it pops me some message that movie is incorect, and if i want to debug, send or don't send. So can someone help me with that error. THNX

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 11 July 2006 , reviewed by: J7N

# 123

What's the point of these packs apart from seemingly legal distribution of pirated filters? A part of ACE's contents might be usefult but you don't need to install a hundred of filters at once. If you want to obtain, for example, Elecard MPEG-2 Decoder (payware), join a Direct Connect hub where someone will be sharing his k-lite mega pack installation, but DO NOT use this or any other package.

ACE Megapack uses afwuly complex InstalShield installer which has a good chance not to run at all due to some file missing. InstallShield also cannot be easily unpacked.

Free-Codecs has many separate codecs available. If you still need others which cannot be posted freely on the Web, download another pack that uses Inno or older NSIS installer, unpack it and get the filter you need. But DO NOT install ANY codec pack.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 26 June 2006 , reviewed by: Chris

# 122

Same problem as others Im getting list index out of bounds and it wont uninstall either. Any idea?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 11 June 2006 , reviewed by: Socrates

# 121

Let me just make a recommendation to XP users. The XP codec pack is all that you will ever need to play just about any video file on Windows MP. AMCP contains too many codecs which casual users may never come across. Besides XP codec pack is 5 Mb whereas AMCP is about 50 Mb. That's a difference worth considering.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 10 June 2006 , reviewed by: ignorance

# 120

i dont think its ace mega codec pack there is to blame, i have the freeze ups when ever i try and play a media files (movie formats only) but i do know when and where it started excactly. started 1 hour after i installed winamp 5.23 which was in between i 2 movies, made some food while listening to music and it asked for update before i started to listen to music, then when food was done and winamp was updated to 5.23 i couldnt play any movies anymore, still cant and iam slowly starting to think i have to format c: iam afraid. if anyone finds any issue regarding this i would be happy to know

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 07 June 2006 , reviewed by: Dave

# 119

Just want to post here to help with general CODEC problems. I'm not an expert but I have a ton of pro DV editing software (Edius Pro 3.6, Sony Vegas etc.) and I've had a pretty crazy time with encoding. For playing movies or ANY OTHER FORM OF DIGITAL MEDIA without hasstle and minimal system resources look at the dreeware "VLC Media Player" It's NEVER FAILED TO PLAY EVERYTHING I HAVE IN ANY FORMAT. Also go to Ebooksportal dot org. They have a free ebook in the media section that is designed to teach CODECS 101 for beginners.

Good place to start.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 26 May 2006 , reviewed by: Lotor

# 118

It causes many problem. Making the Playback had solar effect.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 22 May 2006 , reviewed by: George

# 117

it causes many registry problems,it has a lot of filters that are useless and harmful to other multimedia applications.it's not good at all...

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 20 May 2006 , reviewed by: LittleMrJ

# 116

Beginners will be pissed!!! There is no instruction, readme files, or support for installation, and operation of dashboard can be confusing & damaging...After installing ACE Mega Pack, I ran Sherlock Codec Detective. Sherlock said all ACE codecs were broken or not installed properly...I just wanted more codec options for vid editing and media playing, but no luck, and most A-holes won't help newbs...I'll just stick to K-Lite untill somebody is cool enough to teach me some, or untill a nice help file is included...
Oh, and use Sherlock Codec Detective to see just how good your codecs truley are!!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 19 May 2006 , reviewed by: nightman

# 115

Big problem whith this ace mega codecs pack 6.03!
The best 2005 action game F.E.A.R not working whit this codecs pack 6.03!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 17 May 2006 , reviewed by: BoiNo

# 114

now,this is more of a question then a rewiev... you see,i don't need half of these coedcs... the only reason i installed this was to upgrade the old ones and maybe get better quality on the movies i allready got... but now,on of my mkv filed appelseed movie copy wont work... everything els works.. got a couple of new things on the screen,and it seams like i got everything,but still,somthing about the mkv files... i checked everything,and everything is on,so it should work.. but all i get is a green screen. now,this movie worked perfectly with the "old" mkv package i had,and now it doesn't... so,4 because it playes all the other ones and 1- because i can't play certan mkv file... now,please,if you got any tips or anything,please email me.. BoiNo@hotmail.com...

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 03 May 2006 , reviewed by: Chris

# 113

I use this pack since it came out and i used al the pack's before and they worked fine for me.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 02 May 2006 , reviewed by: Alessandro

# 112

100% unusable. I install it, and all my media players get in GPF errors!!
And more, the uninstall procedure is simple unable to return to the same previous functionality.. Totally a mess !!!!
NEVER Install it - more dangerous than a virus!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 25 April 2006 , reviewed by: Christian M

# 111

Before you read the reviews on the bottom of this (with all their cussing and offensive language), you have to realize that some of these reviews are by distraught people who have no idea what theyre even talking about. I highly recommend reading atleast 2 pages of reviews first before you make a conclusion.

I almost didn't download this because I thought it was a bad codec pack. But I did! and I closed my eyes and prepared to re-install everything and even set up a restore point. and it worked! lol to my relief my windows media player still worked! the files that i had would still play! the files that wouldn't play before now play!

note: my review does not include a test with iTunes or Real Audio or Quicktime Applications. I read that some people admitted having had problems with it, and having a simple solution of unchecking some checkboxes when installing this.

please read the reviews :)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 19 April 2006 , reviewed by: Greenbean^`

# 110

I have just something to add on from what I had posted last time. Once you uninstall your iTunes and your F*cked up package, you need reinstall all the media player you had before, but don't uninstall them just downloard the new one and reinstall over the f*ucked up ones that should get your old media player back to working again.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 18 April 2006 , reviewed by: thrival

# 109

This program morphs into total crap. 579 registry entries removed, still can't get rid of the dashboard or program entries in the start menu, and not one of my media players will work anymore-- WMP, RM, QT all dead.
Any attempt to play a file gives total system freeze and requires rebooting. f*cked my system good.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 16 April 2006 , reviewed by: Greenbean^`

# 108

I have a way to solve the problem for people who already installed the sh*t pack before uncheck the quitime thing and the one under that. you go under your c drive-->Windouws-->System32-->and then you will see bounch files, then go under the letter "Q" section delete all the files that had "quicktime" on it then istall your iTunes again everything should work fine. I did that myself it works perfact now, Happy ^_^

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 10 April 2006 , reviewed by: ricky

# 107

Let me just say I was not sure how to rate it. My rating could be higher. I just have one problem I have not been able to use my Winavi converter without erors sinice I installed this program.Both seem to be excellent programs. I would like know were to get help with problems. I done it all uninstalled both programs with same problem.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 02 April 2006 , reviewed by: Egert

# 106

the friggin best codec pack ive ever had.. : ) just luw it.. : )

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 27 March 2006 , reviewed by: ms_noiise

# 105

wooooooooow
it's awesomeee
the best codec i've ever seen in my life

you can play any kind of media you can't with it

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 18 March 2006 , reviewed by: Radu

# 104

Still the best codec pack ever. My only small desire for the next update is the last version of BS Player. :p

It's possible others had problems with it, but still, I find it strange, 'cause I'm using it for 3 years already, and I've seen it working on so many PC's, and never ran into conflicts.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 16 March 2006 , reviewed by: Alucard

# 103

This software isn't so bad and you can uninstall it very easy.
You realy must read more before you start yelling that it's junk and f*cks up your computer.
Any registry cleaner nowadays will clean up your registry.
I never had problems with this program.
The only thing about Ace is that you have to put it to the just play setting to play some games.
And if your codecs are messed up just hit repair and it's done.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 10 March 2006 , reviewed by: strafe

# 102

I've use it for several years now and I'd like to keep doing that but if the update doesn't come soon I'll have to switch to another pack since I don't have the time to update separately every codec/filter that needs updating.
Otherwise, I like the pack very much although man just has to be patient with it and understand it. The only other problem I've had was the antivirus module a few years ago (with previous version) but I can't tell about the present version since I always deselect it for installation.
I would advice the people that say nasty words about the pack to try to understand the idea behind the organisation of the pack, think again where their problems might have come from or else just go to other, friendlier codec packs.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 09 March 2006 , reviewed by: daniel

# 101

I agree, this pack causes problems with viewing windows media player filetypes in mozilla firefox. There is no way to unistall it properly and system restore has no effect.

Work needs to be done!!!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 07 March 2006 , reviewed by: Right Said Fred

# 100

This package is total sh*te. Same problem as many others. Wasn't paying attention and just installed a preset and totally borked my iTunes install.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 03 March 2006 , reviewed by: Anonymous

# 99

WHAT EVER YOU DO NOT DOWNLOAD THIS
ITS RUBBISH! EVEN AFETER I UNINSTALLED IT FROM MY PC AND STILL CAUSES ALOT OF PROBLEMS

RUBBISH! RUBBISH! RUBBISH! RUBBISH! RUBBISH!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

ACE Mega CodecS Pack 6.03 - Professional Edition
on 27 February 2006 , reviewed by: reCoil

# 98

don't know about this one, but i used ver 6.01 for like a year or so and it worked great. since then i had problems with viewing two files. for one i downloaded the newest xvid - worked fine. the other movie was encoded with h264. for this i installed vlc player. it played, though the picture was all wobbly. so my smart brother installed (whole) tsunami codec pack. nothing changed, exept all got a lot slower. i uninstalled everything an re-instaled ACE. now i have a problem, that drwatson crashes explorer when i preview the folder with my movies. but i think it's just a matter of re-installing ACE with less codecs (an installation guide would be useful for no-pro users :). anyway, good stuff if installed properly.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

WRITE A REVIEW:

All submitted reviews & comments will be subject to moderation before being displayed. Stay on the subject otherwise your review won't be published. If you are looking for help or support, please use the forum.


Enter the code exactly as you see it - case sensitive - in the spam-prevention image above.

  • 4K Video Downloader

  • GREAT FOR Youtube. CAN HANDLE 25 FILES WITH FREEWARE VERSION. PAID VERSION I TESTED IT WITH A 200 EPISODE LOAD, NO ...
  • HandBrake

  • THIS IS JUST THE BEST ENCODER - I'VE TRIED ADOBE 2018 ENCODER $ MANY MORE, HANDBRAKE IS A NO FRILLS PRODUCT & ...
  • Opus Codec

  • got a Blue Screen of Death! (opusenc.sse2.exe)
    view more »


    Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com. All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2017 Codecs.com