4.02

from 117 Reviews

Write a review or just post a comment

Write a review

1

Vista Codec Package 4.5.2 final
on 03 November 2007 , reviewed by: WHAT THE F**K

# 37

Vista is starting to piss me off, ACCESS DENIED!! when I try to click on the fckn install icon.. god f**kn d**n it

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.5.2 beta 2
on 31 October 2007 , reviewed by: TonyM

# 36

Amazing stuff. Using it with NO PROBLEMS on Vista Ultimate. WMP 11 now plays Flash Video, Real Video and Quick Time! Finally, WMP 11 is an universal player...!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.5.2 beta 2
on 29 October 2007 , reviewed by: MarRia

# 35

HELP ME !! :( tried to run it as administrator and i still get the 7 zip error O_O

thanks in advance !!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Vista Codec Package 4.5.1
on 12 October 2007 , reviewed by: Searinox

# 34

Hey it's all nice, but could ya PLEASE do something so that it doesn't cripple QT FireFox MIDI playing and screw up RealPlayer functionality everytime I install it?! I'm tired of having to reinstall those two every time. =\

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.4.9 beta 1
on 19 August 2007 , reviewed by: nomorewherehegotto

# 33

4.4.9 beta1 deserves a 5 rating. I started with 4.4.6 and each upgrade only got better. Before I ever downloaded Vista codec pack, I was already having problems with Windows Media Player 11. I called the Vista techs because I could no longer play DVDs. They couldn't help and couldn't figure out what happened. I was getting a message about the resolution. I figured out on my own what happened. I had taken a windows update, and it somehow deleted of my DVD decoder. I found a d**n good DVD decoder by Roxio, and it solved the problem where I could play DVDs again in WMP.

I also had the VLC player, but it wasn't playing DVDS. That's when I decided to download the Vista codec pack, and it worked. I have four players in all: WMP, Real Player, VLC player and FLV player. I can play any type of file now on any of the players (except FLV of course). I can play AVIs, and I don't need the Quick Time player or DivX either. I noticed someone was having trouble uninstalling 4.4.9. Simply click on start, click on the icon above your username, and uncheck the administrator box. That should help, and allow you to uninstall it. Thanks for taking the time to make this codec package. It's really nice not to have to download anymore players like Quick Time or DivX.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Vista Codec Package 4.4.9 beta 1
on 15 August 2007 , reviewed by: chiesa

# 32

my opera has download 2.6mb MOV file place in cache4 belong to opera dir. an i cannot open it,even my vista hom prem cannot open to make it aviability thumbnails.and more nerveus that i cannot delette this file. i try to uninstall vista codecs package 4.4.8. itnot working either...now im stuck with this MOV files.should i download new vista codecs package ? (4.4.9 beta 1)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Vista Codec Package 4.4.9 beta 1
on 04 August 2007 , reviewed by: Chris

# 31

It f*cks up my quicktime installation!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Vista Codec Package 4.4.9 beta 1
on 02 August 2007 , reviewed by: karlm30

# 30

Hi All...

I cut and pasted the wrong error message. The error message I get trying to play a commercial DVD with WMP11 is

Windows Media Player cannot play this DVD because there is a problem with digital copy protection between your DVD drive, decoder, and video card. Try installing an updated driver for your video card.

Using K-lite full or Mega 3.3.0 works.

Thanks,

...Karl

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Vista Codec Package 4.4.8
on 02 August 2007 , reviewed by: karlm30

# 29

Hi All...

With Vista Codec Pack version 4.4.8 installed, I can't play original DVDs with Windows Media Player 11. It gives the following error message.

Windows Media Player cannot play DVD video. You might need to adjust your Windows display settings. Open display settings in Control Panel, and then try lowering your screen resolution and color quality settings.

This works if I use K-Lite Codec Pack Full 3.3.0.

Thanks,

...Karl

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

Vista Codec Package 4.4.8
on 02 August 2007 , reviewed by: myip.fmp1 .net

# 28

This is okay on Win Home B@sic :-P

thanks and i wait a newer version of this one.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

Vista Codec Package 4.4.7 final
on 13 July 2007 , reviewed by: Shark007

# 27

@revo - Microsoft Forefront also reports the same FALSE results. Thats why most people don't rely on these ineffective tools.

Those 2 files contain simple DOS commands that I wrote to allow the manipulatution of registry data as required to view ripped HD-DVD content in *.EVO format.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Vista Codec Package 4.4.7 final
on 13 July 2007 , reviewed by: revo

# 26

Microsoft Oncecare reports that this package contains two trojan viruses in tools: MPEG.EXE and HDDVD.exe.

With care.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.4.7 final
on 04 July 2007 , reviewed by: Michael Stewart

# 25

i just installed vista ultimate 32 and was having the 7-zip message display. i then installed nero 7 and set up windows media player and then tried installing vcp 4.4.5 and voila it works perfectly.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Vista Codec Package 4.4.7 beta 4
on 24 June 2007 , reviewed by: GSoD

# 24

Works in most cases (Vista x64), had some issues that users have posted above. I ended up K-Lite (which I usually hate due to it's bundling of Yahoo) and extra/unnecessary software.

I would say, if the author can improve x64 (which he needs assistance according to his site), and improve ffdshow controls, it'll be a major improvement that I'll return to use.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Vista Codec Package 4.4.6
on 15 June 2007 , reviewed by: themisiek

# 23

It didn't regiser Indeo v5.
I had to do that manually:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Drivers32]
"vidc.iv50"="ir50_32.dll"

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Vista Codec Package 4.4.5
on 06 June 2007 , reviewed by: Deimos

# 22

Its awesome, its true, still it contains a few (very tinny) bugs

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.4.5
on 03 June 2007 , reviewed by: VistaUser

# 21

"Very bad. Total waste of my time. My advice: get K-Lite, that works brilliantly on all my PCs."

If K-Lite is working so well for you why were you even reading about another codecpack? Not so brilliant afterall.

My advice, ignore the K-Lite trolls and check out this fantastic package. It just works.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Vista Codec Package 4.4.5
on 02 June 2007 , reviewed by: Anonymous

# 20

Very bad. Total waste of my time. My advice: get K-Lite, that works brilliantly on all my PCs.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.4.5
on 02 June 2007 , reviewed by: Shark007

# 19

You may want to try downloading it from another source. Your installation file may be corrupt. There is also a program to help you deal with UAC issues in Vista, http://www.tweak-uac .com

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.4.5
on 02 June 2007 , reviewed by: Reid Welch

# 18

Respondent #16, I do exactly as you suggest,
"Run as Administrator".

I get the 7-zip message. No go.
What's the answer then?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.4.4
on 31 May 2007 , reviewed by: Beatboxin

# 17

Jeff:
Extract the main download if it is archived. Then what you are going to do is, if you have WinRar, right click and hit extract (i dont get why it was double archived either). I was having the same problem until i messed around with it also. Try this and tell me what you think.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.4.4
on 30 May 2007 , reviewed by: Shark007

# 16

For those using Vista and unable to install VCP you need to rightclick on the downloaded file and choose 'Run as administrator...' Even though Vista may tell you that you are an administrator, you still dont have full admin rights under Vista.

For Camtasia you need to go into the Video decoder configuration icon, scroll the righthand window to TechSmith and change the setting from libavcodec to disabled. It is set as it is so that people without Camtasia installed can still view the videos created by Camtasia.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Vista Codec Package 4.4.4
on 30 May 2007 , reviewed by: Frank

# 15

It breaks Camtasia.
With this installed, It can not produce video at all.
Uninstall it and it works again...

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Vista Codec Package 4.4.4
on 28 May 2007 , reviewed by: jeff

# 14

I can't get 4.4.4 to install either... I got the same 7 zip can not create install folder message. It was a clean install of windows vista 32 bit. Yes.. a legit version of windows.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Vista Codec Package 4.4.4
on 26 May 2007 , reviewed by: Daleybabes

# 13

I'm new to Vista and not impressed. Damn thing keeps asking me if I'm sure. WTF. Can't install the codecs 'cos the rotten thing tells me 7-ZIP 'cannot create install folder'

Bugger, can't play 90% of my illicit movies. There's no justice! The kids are screaming for Bambi, I might have to out and buy it.

If I figure out what the f. is going on I'll do another post.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.4.4
on 22 May 2007 , reviewed by: mike

# 12

after weeks of my divix files crashing media center i installed 4.4.2....pow everthing runs perfect. Thanks

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.4.2
on 13 May 2007 , reviewed by: Lisle

# 11

Installed the 441 and it works. THANKS. THANKS. THANKS.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.4.2
on 12 May 2007 , reviewed by: chipped

# 10

this codec pack is excellent, i use vista ultimate 32 and am always downloading media in every single format you can think of ogg, ogm, mkv, flv, avi etc and this plays them all
i have tried other codec packs such as klite codec pack but that wouldnt play it all, this kills it!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.4.1
on 10 May 2007 , reviewed by: Sam

# 9

This site has some crappy codecs, but this one is actually worth its salt.... just watched hotel rwanda in WMP 11 on vista business. Before downloading the codec pack I got the stupid no codec message when playing dvds, I am the first person to review this version 4 and can say it worked great for me... I\'d recommend custom installing and just taking the power dvd codec... I installed all the other ones and I don\'t think that was necessary.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.3.9
on 29 April 2007 , reviewed by: Grifter

# 8

Works just like it states it would. I have WMP 11 and I am running Windows Vista. It changed the icons, and all my AVI's played perfectly. Awesome product and it's free.

Cheers!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.3.8
on 23 April 2007 , reviewed by: Jenes

# 7

I've tried a lot of codecs but this one's the best!!!
No more problems with my .mpeg and .avi files!
I'm delighted with it!

Great thanks to Vista Codec Package!!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.3.7
on 07 April 2007 , reviewed by: J.Johnson

# 6

I'm amazed at the simplicity and functionality this package offers. If you have Vista, you need this package.

I use Vista Ultimate x64 and the x64 Components offered by the same developers are just as incredible.

Everything works the 1st time. Install and go. This site doesnt offer the x64 Components but a simple search on google will lead you to them.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Vista Codec Package 4.3.7
on 07 April 2007 , reviewed by: darren

# 5

the update package does not seem to contain the required codec for my windows media player on vista.however i can play the video files in my photo gallery !!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.3.7
on 06 April 2007 , reviewed by: esferru

# 4

Muy bueno, ya era hora

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Vista Codec Package 4.3.6
on 02 April 2007 , reviewed by: Tamer El Mogy

# 3

I still have the same problem, nothing new...! same msg as usual :( "Windows Media Player cannot play the file. The Player might not support the file type or might not support the codec that was used to compress the file".

Anyone could help..!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Vista Codec Package 4.2.9
on 26 February 2007 , reviewed by: Larry E. Johnson

# 2

I have windows vista home basic, upgraded to Ultimate. vista codec package 4.2.8 last week did not install perfectly, so this week I removed it and installed package 4.2.9. Now it still will not play a DVD, but at least it doesn't say "no decoder". Now it says to "try lowering screen resolution and color" (from 32 to 16 is all I can do on color). Well, with resolution at minimum (but color goes back to 32 by itself), it still will not play any ordinary DVD. (using win media player 11)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Vista Codec Package 4.2.8
on 24 February 2007 , reviewed by: Peter Newcomb

# 1

It did not live up to the advertising. It said it had every codec you need. Well, it may have most, but I was hoping it would solve my missing acelp.net codec problem in WIndows Vista, but no luck.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

WRITE A REVIEW:

1. All submitted reviews & comments will be subject to moderation before being displayed. Stay on the subject otherwise your review won't be published.
2. If you are looking for help or support, please use the forum.


Enter the code exactly as you see it - case sensitive - in the spam-prevention image above.

Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com.

All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2014 Codecs.com