Vista Codec Package 6.7.8 reviews

4.02

from 117 Reviews

Write a review

5

Vista Codec Package 4.7.3
on 10 September 2008 , reviewed by: Knucklehead

# 77

v473 kicks ass. Thanks so much for allowing me to download this package. OGG files play fine in wmp11. Now it's time to go on a downloading spree. (BcD)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

4

Vista Codec Package 4.7.3
on 04 September 2008 , reviewed by: sherpa

# 76

I can now play my videos but I have no sound. Does anyone have any ideas??

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

Vista Codec Package 4.7.3
on 30 August 2008 , reviewed by: clifton m stillman

# 75

i have ffdshow installed.Will I need to uninstall this before I install vista codec?Or will they both work together?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.7.3
on 23 August 2008 , reviewed by: Murray Hubick

# 74

Works great. Thank you very much.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.7.2
on 11 August 2008 , reviewed by: lucy

# 73

very good thanks so much

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.7.2
on 23 July 2008 , reviewed by: Johnny5

# 72

It works as advertised. Thanks.
Media Center can now thumbnail and play my MKVs

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.7.1
on 22 July 2008 , reviewed by: Paul in SF

# 71

Worked fine for me, with a fairly new Vista Ultimate 64 bit install

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.7.1
on 13 July 2008 , reviewed by: the guy

# 70

i sat for about 2h and i did not get any sound after i installed the vista codec pack...

ffdshow was installed before... can any one tell me if you have to uninstall that before installing vista pack?!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.7.0
on 18 June 2008 , reviewed by: Shark007

# 69

Eddie, there is an AVI settings folder. Use the shortcut provided to solve your issue. The default settings are best for most users, but when you need something specific, try the shortcuts provided. Issues such as these are best dealt with on the forum... http://www.msfn .org/board/index.php?act=SF&s=&f=156

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Vista Codec Package 4.7.0
on 17 June 2008 , reviewed by: Eddie

# 68

Love the package and great work..
The only flaw i have is when using a file sharing program such as Limewire i was able to preview a avi that was currently downloading to check its quality.. It seems that this does not work.. When i unistalled the pack and tried it tells me a codec is required.

I reinstalled and that msg does not appear, it actually looks like it is going to play but nothing but blank screen.

I can view all my other completed avi,s ..

Considering going back to xp pro if this is not resolved in upcoming patches as i download lots of avi,s .

Checking them conserves the quota that is placed on me by our ISP's

Thanks and keep up the great work. Also very simple to install.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.6.7
on 30 May 2008 , reviewed by: nomorewherehegotto

# 67

4.6.7 was easy to install. I was able to view divx vids in Windows Media Player with no problem. I'm also able to view AVI vids, but the vids were really 'blurry'... almost like double vision.

I used the 32 bit tools and changed the AVI settings, but that didn't help either. I uninstalled it and reinstalled 4.6.5 final. The problem cleared up immediately.

Other than that, the package is great.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Vista Codec Package 4.6.7
on 27 May 2008 , reviewed by: Mike

# 66

good but I'm now unable to view any mpg files
in windows media player 11.0.
I can hear them but not see them so it's back to previous version for me.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.6.4
on 03 May 2008 , reviewed by: Ode1

# 65

The software is great
The Install pack is a JOKE
needed to DOWNLOAD 7-zip
Install that
Extract the VIsta codec pack
the run setup.exe as Adminstrator to get it to install
MIght me SP1
BUt you guys should be on top of this

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.6.4
on 23 April 2008 , reviewed by: Madeline

# 64

An excellent program. Easy to install.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Vista Codec Package 4.6.4
on 20 April 2008 , reviewed by: Anonymous

# 63

7Zip Problem:

Install Winzip and 7Zip.
Right click the .zip file and extract it.
The VistaCodecs_v464.exe is not actually an exe, it's a 7zip archive.
Right click the exe file, under 7zip extract it.
Run the setup.exe from the resulting extraction.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.6.3
on 16 April 2008 , reviewed by: nomorewherehegotto

# 62

I have to give you praise for the codecs package. However, I do miss one feature that you had in the other previous versions that is not in 463 final. I have a 32-bit system with Windows Home Basic. I also had to download Windows Movie Maker 2.6 for Windows Vista.

I rip or burn a lot of chapters from DVDs into MPEG format using Roxio Easy DVD & CD burning. I like the feature you included in previous versions in the 32 bit tools for MPEG, which was "set MPEG2 to use ffdshow (.ts)"

That feature is no longer available, and I could no longer use Windows Movie Maker to convert the mpg files to WMV. It would only import the audio and not the video portion.

For that reason, I uninstalled the 463 package, and reinstalled an earlier version I had saved to a CD (456 final). Now, I can convert the mpg files to WMV again.

I've had no other problems, and can still watch all my AVI, divX, WMV and mpegs with 456 final. My DVDs also play well on my VLC player and in WMP.

Thanks for making such a great codecs package. I hope that you might consider re-adding the "MPEG2 to use ffdshow" in the 32-bit tools again. :)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Vista Codec Package 4.6.3 beta 1
on 07 April 2008 , reviewed by: Dan

# 61

Also doesn't work with Ogg audio...

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Vista Codec Package 4.6.3 beta 1
on 07 April 2008 , reviewed by: Dan

# 60

Doesn't work with MPEG-1 Layer 3 audio as well as certain AC3 formats.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.6.2
on 26 March 2008 , reviewed by: kasia

# 59

worked great for me. finally I can watch my ripps. big thx and respect to the creator of the package!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.6.1
on 12 March 2008 , reviewed by: Daryl

# 58

works instantaneously, no need to reboot.


btw, you don't have to run in administrator IF you installed winRar/win/zip/poweriso to work for all accounts on your computer...

i'm still trying to figure out vista, mostly having problems with uTorrent.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Vista Codec Package 4.5.9
on 29 February 2008 , reviewed by: Roland

# 57

Capable of viewing video taken with camera, but no sound. Codec needed is 0010-8000-00AA00389B71. Can you refer me to the package that would help me resolve the problem I am having?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Vista Codec Package 4.5.9
on 25 February 2008 , reviewed by: MP

# 56

I am now able to view my videos that I took with my camera but there is no sound??? Please direct me??
Thanks.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.5.8
on 17 February 2008 , reviewed by: mr bo jangles

# 55

Ran your codec watched films where there was only disco lights(no picture) on screen previously in the WMP video box...nuff said(vista ultimate-new laptop)ps..can any one advise me on .rar files?(winrar)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.5.7 final
on 06 February 2008 , reviewed by: bossman

# 54

I drew a complete blank with Toshiba and Microsoft help. I was a little nervous teling my laptop to trust you site but - thank you - it worked first time without any fuss.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Vista Codec Package 4.5.7 final
on 05 February 2008 , reviewed by: Anonymous

# 53

i installed it,but still cant see the videos :(

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.5.7 final
on 28 January 2008 , reviewed by: saifer

# 52

perfect!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.5.6 final
on 26 January 2008 , reviewed by: Dave

# 51

Hi All
Lookin for some advice. Installed v450 a while back which is awesome and has enabled playback of most files on WMP11. However, I just downloaded some .ogm files which I can't play. On searching for the required codec I was directed to the latest vista codecs package here on Free-Codecs. So, I need to know, does the latest version v456 contain the necessary cdes. If so, do I need to uninstall v450 before i install and how. Or am I better off just installing the ogg directshow filters seperately. Hope someone can help. thanks

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

Vista Codec Package 4.5.6 final
on 22 January 2008 , reviewed by: SK

# 50

WELL DONE..GR8 program!..YOU saved me..no sound with VISTA BUT NOW I CAN SEE AND HEAR ALL MY OLD MPEG ETC!!!.also had issue with winzip just saved into another folder and ran exe from within winzip which seemed to sorted extration issue. VISTA $uck$ ..This Codec final ROCKS!! THANKS guys!!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

Vista Codec Package 4.5.6 final
on 20 January 2008 , reviewed by: nomorewherehegotto

# 49

That's weird. I did a virus scan just to check with Trend, Spy Sweeper and Windows Defender, and no trojan viruses were detected.

I had no problem installing it at all.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

2

Vista Codec Package 4.5.6 final
on 14 January 2008 , reviewed by: David Grogan

# 48

Avast detects a Trojan Virus when u try install 4.5.5 and 4.5.6

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

Vista Codec Package 4.5.6 beta
on 01 January 2008 , reviewed by: Cindy

# 47

Not a good pack.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

Vista Codec Package 4.5.5
on 29 December 2007 , reviewed by: settler

# 46

I was also getting the 7zip error even after installing 7zip.
How i resolved it was to right-click and extract the files using winrar,then from the resulting folder run the Vista codec package.msi

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.5.4 final
on 20 December 2007 , reviewed by: Bec

# 45

I was getting the 7zip error so I installed 7 zip and ran the installer a second time - worked fine :) Thanks for a great package.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.5.4 beta 1
on 28 November 2007 , reviewed by: Jeff

# 44

Thank you for providing this small but important piece of the Microsoft Mishap. Download was easy, installation was smooth, and it works excellently!

Thanks again!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.5.4 beta 1
on 27 November 2007 , reviewed by: User

# 43

it DO work with XP... OMG! At least, see the developer site!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Vista Codec Package 4.5.3 beta 1
on 14 November 2007 , reviewed by: saifer

# 42

never matter with the installation of this codec pakage but from vista codec package 4.5.2 the preview of new files are black (the preview is done from the screenshot of the first second of the movie, this is the reason...) old version didn't have this problem... there is a way to solve this problem??

sorry for the not perfect english... i'm from italy :)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.5.3 beta 1
on 11 November 2007 , reviewed by: Danny

# 41

Buggy piece of nuts. MSI installers suck.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.5.2 final
on 06 November 2007 , reviewed by: nomorewherehegotto

# 40

Do you mean "does it work for XP"? No, it doesn't. If you want something for XP, go back to the other page and scroll down to the bottom. You'll find a download for an "XP codec pack" there.

Thanks for the latest version. It's totally improved the quality of my avi and flv files. I'll be giving a donation later this week.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.5.2 final
on 05 November 2007 , reviewed by: Mant

# 39

Is this work for XP?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Vista Codec Package 4.5.2 final
on 04 November 2007 , reviewed by: Nick

# 38

Dude you need to do right click on the package - Run As Administrator...and it works.....


@WHAT THE F**K 37.

Vista is starting to piss me off, ACCESS DENIED!! when I try to click on the fckn install icon.. god f**kn d**n it

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

WRITE A REVIEW:

All submitted reviews & comments will be subject to moderation before being displayed. Stay on the subject otherwise your review won't be published. If you are looking for help or support, please use the forum.


Enter the code exactly as you see it - case sensitive - in the spam-prevention image above.

  • uTorrent

  • Terrible adware. After installation, stuck with some "v9" as default search page. Could remove it only by system restore. ...
  • RealPlayer

  • real player cloud is suck. whenever I download my video ,it is always said incomplete downloading.. it s really ...
  • Subtitle Edit

  • Why does it come back saying "no subtitles found" with my .mp4 or .mkv file, tho on playing I ...
    view more »


    Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com.

    All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2014 Codecs.com