Real Alternative 2.0.2 reviews

3.82

from 153 Reviews

Write a review

4

Real Alternative 1.52
on 31 March 2007 , reviewed by: Newbie

# 113

Thanks for the RA package. I've been using it on and off for years now. However, I still have problems receiving streaming RAM files with RA from a seemingly busy/high-traffic site:

http://www.democracynow .org

System:

Windows XP
Celeron 256k
DSL

After approx 1 min 30 sec, RA shuts down and the following message appears:

"Connection to server has timed out. You may be experiencing network problems."

On a separate computer with Real Player installed, this is not a problem.

Otherwise, other streaming sites seem to work with RA.

Please fix this.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

Real Alternative 1.51
on 08 March 2007 , reviewed by: Kurt

# 112

Excellent program. I found only one glitch. It won't self terminate with Replay Radio at the end of a broadcast. Otherwise it streams just fine and works beautifully.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

3

Real Alternative 1.51
on 07 March 2007 , reviewed by: tony

# 111

I have two computers (both Windows Vista Ultimate), and I installed Real Alternative on both systems. But on one of the machines, I get this flashing green vertical bar right in the center of the video, when I try to play a RMVB file. Very strange, because it works fine on my other computer...

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

2

Real Alternative 1.51
on 02 March 2007 , reviewed by: X-Trace

# 110

Around 50% of real videos I like to watch (because d**n webpages don't offer other formats) don't play with real alternative (player crashes). For example those here:
http://www.br-online .de/alpha/centauri/archiv.shtml
What's wrong?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Real Alternative 1.51
on 21 October 2006 , reviewed by: B

# 109

The fact that it doesn't support streaming media on WMP 10 defies the purpose of this program!

Most Real files are stremed people, so it's pointless to have a codec that can't play streaming content.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.50
on 06 September 2006 , reviewed by: Nowonmai

# 108

Superb software! no more spamming commercials and unwanted RealMedia pop ups! I really like being able to configure which player you want to use.

Keep up the good work!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.50
on 30 August 2006 , reviewed by: Anonymous

# 107

and users with problems, you must have messed up your codecs or something, or there's been severe bugs in earlier versions of real alternative, since i can't see a single flaw with this product.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

Real Alternative 1.50
on 30 August 2006 , reviewed by: Anonymous

# 106

this thing works great. i use only firefox as my browser and have detected no problems so far.
Forget the REAL real player, it $uck$ because of that extra crap and commercials.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

3

Real Alternative 1.49
on 04 August 2006 , reviewed by: S Peterson

# 105

Really, not so good. I discovered that in order to play MovieLink downloads I had purchased, I had to update $RealPlayer$, except $Real Player$ was wiped off my system in the install of MPC.

Now I am searching the system for the uninstall program for MPC, so I can reinstall $$$RealPlayer$$$.

So MPC works fine, but the lack of an uninstall, and the inability to mimic $$RealPlayer$$ to MovieLink are definite drawbacks.

S Peterson
Win 2K
Dell Latitude C610
768 Mb RAM

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Real Alternative 1.49
on 27 July 2006 , reviewed by: Darello

# 104

Could anyone make a plugin for VLC Media Player?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.49
on 27 June 2006 , reviewed by: Gabby

# 103

I had a question. You see i have K-lite codec package installed and media player classic. But i still cant play the videos i want on it. So i was thinking that maybe Realplayer alt. could help. But what would happen if i installed it and still keeping my K-lite package? I would really appreciate some help!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Real Alternative 1.49
on 24 June 2006 , reviewed by: andreone

# 102

If you encounter the msg "cannot render the file" when trying to play real media in Media Player Classic, rename the extension of the downloaded file .ram by .smil

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.48 Final
on 14 June 2006 , reviewed by: Kryclm

# 101

I love it! Works great in Firefox, but can't seem to get it to work in IE. Any suggestions?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Real Alternative 1.48 Final
on 11 June 2006 , reviewed by: Wilie_Coyote

# 100

Hope this is the right place to post a suggestion. Posted this in relivant areas

I've been using RA, QA MPc and VLC and G-Spot and Audio Identifier for some time now, ever since i came accross them eons ago. With this tools I am able to watch and listen to, I would say 95% of all formats (mainstream).

Is it possible to save a single installer for these items with option to pick and choose? Especially with QA and RA as I have noticed they both duplicate MPc (but in RA MPc is one version behind. VLC is a bonus as is the two codec identifiers.

RA Real Alternative
QA QuickTime Alternative
MPc Media Player Classic
VLC VideoLAN Client

Thanks

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Real Alternative 1.48 Final
on 02 June 2006 , reviewed by: Marcus

# 99

Well i like it a lot, it's definetly better than real player but why only mpc?
mpc kinda $uck$, i have to "fight" the pc for hours to get it to work on a level i actualy enjoy.
Is there any way to get it to work for any other player like vlc?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Real Alternative 1.48 Final
on 29 May 2006 , reviewed by: Mohammad

# 98

I am not looking for another media player though. I am using a software with its own data base and that software has some media files in .RM (real media) format, but it is configured to play these files using Windows Media Player. The software comes with some updates to install required codecs for WMP to run .RM files. It does not work though. The reason is that i am using win xp with WMP 10 and it is not supported by that software. I know that someone has downloaded a codec to play these files in the same environment, but unfortunately i am not able to contact this person. Can any one help in paying these .rm files on win media player ver 10?

Would greatly appreciate your help.

you can contact me directly at ctax2242@[nospam]aol.com

Thanks.

Mohammad

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Real Alternative 1.48 Final
on 26 May 2006 , reviewed by: fix

# 97

Use Real Player! This terrible stuff crashes my pc! WMP and MPC do not play real media. Real Player is a great player

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.48 Final
on 23 May 2006 , reviewed by: Jay Potter

# 96

Love it. How can I get the source code? I would like to learn how to make it work and compile it locally.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

3

Real Alternative 1.48 Final
on 22 May 2006 , reviewed by: FlyingPenguins

# 95

It won't stream files, which is a big drawback for me. A few times I would actually have to use RealPlayer to handle those files. It is okay for offline content though, because you can still play them on Windows Media Player or Media Player Classic. Still, this is nowhere as good as how Quicktime Alternative performed.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Real Alternative 1.48 Final
on 21 May 2006 , reviewed by: maxand

# 94

It's small and fast and plays .rm files on my xp system; what more could I ask?

I agree with comment 22 Apr 2006 | Written by: Graham, that after clicking Stop, there's no way to Play other than closing RA and clicking the filename in Explorer. A pain in the ass and so noticeable it should have been spotted immediately by the developer and fixed. Havent tried any previous versions so don't know if this bug occurred in any.

Havent tried the Mozilla/Firefox plugin.

I'm GLAD this app UNINSTALLS Real Player, which was installed on my machine by the vendor.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.48 Final
on 08 May 2006 , reviewed by: anonymous... anh, it's mae

# 93

well, i haven't really dld this yet, but i want to cuz of all the comments you got here, it's just that, do i have to register to dld this? cuz i'm having problems with Real Audio, so i really, really, REALLY want to dld this!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Real Alternative 1.48 Final
on 08 May 2006 , reviewed by: vendy oliver

# 92

I'll make it rating 5:Excellent, or even rating 6: Awesome if i know how to turn the my the movie upside down...
It's showing most of my movies upside down!!
Can anyone help?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.48 Final
on 01 May 2006 , reviewed by: BillyJoe

# 91

Well, I haven't tried it on every possible site. I had been doing a lot of listening to BBC live, but BBC offers WMP or REAL as options, no big deal. Then, I wanted to see some video on PBS--no dice, I had uninstalled my RealPlayer 10 because it was a resource hog. So I had to install something in the REAL category. Real Alternative worked flawlessly on both BBC and PBS. Maybe you don't mind the resource hogging of RealPlayer, but if you do, and don't mind the lack of fancy options, and you just want to play REAL streaming video or audio format, and use low resources, Real Alternative worked for me (WinXp system.)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.48 Final
on 28 April 2006 , reviewed by: hoangviet1906k32

# 90

Real Alternative 1.42
Rating: 4 | Date: 10 Jul 2005 | Written by: Jez

Still won't stream RAM files. I always get a message saying:

"Windows Media Player cannot play the file. The Player might not support the file type or might not support the codec that was used to compress the file."

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Real Alternative 1.48 Final
on 22 April 2006 , reviewed by: Graham

# 89

For some reason if I stop a file I have to go and reopen because for some reason the Media Player Classic won't start it again once its stopped. also the program won't loop the file for the same reason. Is there any way to fix this.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.48 Final
on 15 April 2006 , reviewed by: Adam

# 88

So far this program has been a real answer to alot of REAL problems ive had. And Now i dont have to download that spyware ridden crap that is impossible to get with. Im not sure if this is a program made by a guy in his bed room, and not a large multinational software company, but if so, thanks dude, thats another blow to 'em!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.48 Final
on 08 April 2006 , reviewed by: Chris

# 87

Good job man. Perfect for my purposes, plus it does not interfere with media player 10.
No spammy content to deal with, and no resource problems. Great !!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Real Alternative 1.48 Final
on 04 April 2006 , reviewed by: Jason

# 86

I have no problem playing .rmvb files but I can't open .rm or .ram files. I've tried different players and none of them seem to work. I've tried renaming the file to .rmvb and opening the file in textpad to get the rtsp string. Neither of those have worked.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.48 Final
on 26 March 2006 , reviewed by: Aaron

# 85

Great job on this. Not tried it on everything. I have Windows XP 64 Bit, and Real Player simply won't install on my computer. I found this, installed it, tried listening to a ram file streamed over the internet live... and it worked perfectly!

Thank you very very much! Definitely Recommend!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

Real Alternative 1.48 Final
on 20 March 2006 , reviewed by: moses

# 84

i just installed real alt 1.48, latest version. tried playing a .ram file and got error message: cannot render file or something like that. if you have this same problem, try this. it worked fine for me although a real pain. download the file, ex: hurl.ram into a folder. go to folder,right click and open using textpad. you should see a rtsp type string. highlight it and copy it. open up your browser and paste this rtsp in URL line and click go. file should play in real alt. has worked many times for me. hope this helps someone.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.47
on 05 March 2006 , reviewed by: Will

# 83

Video is jumpy on old RealVideo 3 clips

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.47
on 02 March 2006 , reviewed by: Benouith

# 82

In addition of the post of Manji (7th Oct 2004).
The problem of proxy has not yet been solved in this 1.51 version (works with Real Player, even through HTTP proxy). I'm with a private address, and I can't read any stream :-(
No settings to configure it...

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.47
on 23 February 2006 , reviewed by: Vitor

# 81

muito bom!
ótimo player... pequeno, rápido e simples!

recomendo!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.46
on 22 February 2006 , reviewed by: Orax

# 80

Thank you for Real Alternative!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.46
on 16 February 2006 , reviewed by: george

# 79

Your software is great, but do you think you could create a version for palmos, or a codec for other palmos programs? That'd be so great!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Real Alternative 1.46
on 10 February 2006 , reviewed by: themoose

# 78

Crashes my computer every time I try to run it (IE). Any thoughts?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Real Alternative 1.46
on 14 January 2006 , reviewed by: stuckinaloop

# 77

Installed Real Alternative, seemed to work fine. But later i find my computer now only reboots at shutdown. After un-installing Real Alternative i still have the problem. unable to find any answers anywhere.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.46
on 04 January 2006 , reviewed by: Derek McCarty

# 76

After months of deliberating and reading the comments of satisfied and slightly dissatisfied Real Alternative users I finally took the plunge and downloaded Real Alternative 1.46.

I am more than satisfied. Real Alternative 1.46 in unobtrusive and at last I can listen to rm and ra files.

I highly recommend this software.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Real Alternative 1.46
on 26 December 2005 , reviewed by: Max

# 75

Good alternative to the adware loaded Real One Player, but it stops the screen saver from working (necessary for security) in Windows 2000. Can anyone help ?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Real Alternative 1.46
on 13 December 2005 , reviewed by: Mick Diddams

# 74

With the genuine (ugh!) Real Player (RP) I could not play films/TV my ISP offers, zilch happened, then serendipity struck, I read the reviews on the alternative, dumped RP and installed the alternative - result, ****** amazing, all going great now. Ditto with BBC London who have a Henry Ford policy here, Real Player or nothing for both TV & Radio, they now both coming in 5/5 - well done version 1.46 - Mick

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

WRITE A REVIEW:

All submitted reviews & comments will be subject to moderation before being displayed. Stay on the subject otherwise your review won't be published. If you are looking for help or support, please use the forum.


Enter the code exactly as you see it - case sensitive - in the spam-prevention image above.

  • DVDFab & BluFab

  • Stopped making a Temp file 2 months ago. Problem or change in updates? Now have 9.1.7.9
  • SmartRipper

  • It outputs vob files to computer speedy and with time set by chapters :)
  • Helium Audio Converter

  • It converts any 24-bit file into 16-bit file without notice. I lost a lot of 24-bit original recordings!!!! Never ...
    view more »


    Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com. All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2014 Codecs.com