5

Gom Player 2.1.17.4710
on 18 April 2009, reviewed by: Steve Zapper

#21

A good player, but definately needs to address the CODEC issue. So many Torrent AVI's do not play due to missing CODEC's even on the newest edition GOM Player. Gom never can find the appropriate CODEC, So you end up installing VLC and a bunch of other players in the hope of a lucky dip to get the video running. The Pro's would have to be the Audio Equalizer which tunes up those horrible 128KBS Avi audio streams into quality audio, try the "treble" selection under the AUDIO/Equalizer setting for re-tuning those nasty high bass audio streams on your AVI rips.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Gom Player 2.1.16.4631
on 25 March 2009, reviewed by: Garage Boy

#20

This is chinese thief work - they steal open source software and do not follow the rules of the license. I think we should boycott this bastards: http://www.ffmpeg .org/shame.html

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Gom Player 2.1.16.4631
on 10 March 2009, reviewed by: SAMIN

#19

IT CAN PLAY ALL MEDIA FILES SO I LIKE THIS PLAYER.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

Gom Player 2.1.9.3754
on 06 December 2008, reviewed by: SivaSoe

#18

How do i make this thing use external filters.
The thing is that ., when i play .mkv or AVC based media it can't play smoothly.
It kinda sticks for a second and jumps another second forward.
So i am trying to make it use Haali which i installed form Strom codec.
So, can anyone help me?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Gom Player 2.1.9.3754
on 31 October 2008, reviewed by: Ladron

#17

GOM is a decent media player. I've used for about a month now, on and off. I just wish it would come with internal codecs that it needs installed into it own program folder instead of the operating system. Easy to use, clean interface, good controls and playback is smooth. If the required codec is not found by GOM during playback, it will direct you to download the required codec. 4 of 5 stars.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Gom Player 2.1.9.3754
on 19 April 2008, reviewed by: NOT Milan

#16

===================
You should take a look at this page http://www.mplayerhq .hu/design7/projects.html
At the bottom where are the blacklisted mplayer projects you should find a link to gomplayer... ;) Use mplayer, it is the best media mplayer in the universe... ; )
===================

Uh... not it's not.

I really like GOM player. Over the years, I've tried a PILE of players (MPC, BSPlayer, VLC, Zoom, etc, etc, etc.) GOM player works best for me. I can make it change the output of my vid card to a specified resolution when switching to full screen. So good so far!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

1

Gom Player 2.1.8.3683
on 30 November 2007, reviewed by: Milan

#15

You should take a look at this page http://www.mplayerhq .hu/design7/projects.html
At the bottom where are the blacklisted mplayer projects you should find a link to gomplayer... ;) Use mplayer, it is the best media mplayer in the universe... ; )

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

Gom Player 2.1.6.3499 final
on 25 June 2007, reviewed by: Tarun

#14

In short, it is a BIG Shot. Simply gr8888888888888888888888888888888888

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Gom Player 2.1.3.3413 final
on 25 May 2007, reviewed by: Houston

#13

I really love GOM player, but I'm having trouble getting it to play the Audio on my Superman Returns DVD. I had to install the Mpeg2DS codec to get video, but that was a cinch.

Anyone else have problem w/ DVD Audio?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Gom Player 2.1.3.3413 final
on 10 May 2007, reviewed by: Mike

#12

This player is excellent, especially during fast seeking/forward/backward...MPC and VLC kinda bad during fast seeking/forward/backward.

Just one question, can I uninstall all my other codes - ffdshow?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

Gom Player 2.1.3.3413 final
on 04 May 2007, reviewed by: Nash

#11

This little player is that unknown warrior who ends up beating everyone...

I heard about GOM completely by chance when someone mentioned in in a forum. At the time I was happy using JetAudio with CCCP for my audio and video (those two are dark horses that work amazingly well) and VLC for everything else I couldn't play.

That said, I didnt really need anything else, but I gave this a try and WOW. It plays everything just like VLC, runs quickly and smoothly like CCCP and is user-friendly, configurable and skinnable like JetAudio. PERFECT

I have been using it for 2 weeks now and tested it on many types of video, including the more rare types and it handled them all without a single glitch. even the YouTube/flash .flv and .swf and mobile phone .mp4 and.3gp worked. You really don't need anything else to play videos.

It's not completely perfect though. It does have the odd glitch whenever I play a video with external subtitles where it skips a line or two. Not sure if that's my fault for changing something or not. Also, dragging the player makes my whole screen blink like its having a seizure and again... not sure if that's just me.
These are minor issues though and nothing huge.

Basically if all you have is VLC and need nothing else then you might as well stick with it. But if you see the odd video which VLC doesn't play or you want to configure and tinker with your player in a less complicated way, then GOM is the one.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Gom Player 2.1.3.3413 final
on 05 April 2007, reviewed by: amer

#10

it is a good work and Amaizing player,

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Gom Player 2.1.2.3407 beta
on 11 March 2007, reviewed by: elations

#9

To Tom: If GOM Player doesn't have a codec of its own to play a specific file, it will try to use codecs otherwise installed on ones system, just like other players. If the required codec is not installed, not only GOM Player but any player that uses external codecs (viz. nearly all of them) will be unable to play the file. In such cases, to play the video, it is required to find and install the regular codec.

GSpot is a good tool to identify which one it is, and a good site to find it is, of course, free-codecs.com. Alternatively, for users who don't like to bother with the details but prefer a less perfect but also less effort solution, installing an up-to-date and relatively stable codec pack (like K-Lite) is a quick, one-size-fits-them-all fix.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Gom Player 2.1.1.3401
on 07 March 2007, reviewed by: Tom

#8

Good player but have had some problems playing some video files. A message appears directing you to GOM site to search for codecs and when you try to search it says not available. So it does have some cons as well as pros. If anyone knows how to get those missing codecs, I would appreciate a little help. Thanks again Free-codecs.com, you guys are the bomb!!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Gom Player 2.1.1.3401
on 09 February 2007, reviewed by: apul

#7

Always on top.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Gom Player 2.0.11
on 22 October 2006, reviewed by: apul

#6

Amazing app! I keep it with VLC and MPC.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Gom Player 2.0.11
on 21 October 2006, reviewed by: Chris

#5

Fantastic. Even works with Vista RC2. A Keeper!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Gom Player 2.0.9
on 23 September 2006, reviewed by: Hrvoje

#4

It's just great

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Gom Player 2.0.6
on 03 August 2006, reviewed by: Alexander Kovac

#3

First time I heard about this one in a forum thread (forgot which forum) with the title "Best media Player" and someone mentioned it once, amids of loads of other players, most of them mentioned by many users. I downloaded all players I didn't yet have (Aparf from frequent mention of the usual popular contenders like VLC, WMPC, BS, Zoom, there were other rare names like Crystal Player, f.e.)

I didn't expect much. I didn't think a virtually unknown product could have what it takes to equal or even top the big names that have so much developin effort behind them. But when I started using it, I was in for a surprise. It is as fast as VLC but much more intuitive and easier to use, with many functions that I actually use implemented better. Seems to play all formats, including DVD. The only format I've ssen slight disadvantages over other players so far was in RM. For that reason and also for comparison and if I need rare functions, I keep Zoom Player and VLC installed, but apart from that, this has become my favourite player, hands down.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Gom Player 2.0.6
on 15 July 2006, reviewed by: priyansh

#2

when i downloaded it I thought just a cheap player coz of its unusual name but after using it I removed all other players

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Gom Player 2.0.6
on 10 July 2006, reviewed by: testbetasoft

#1

Amaizing player, i was waiting for something like this a long time , which has the power and qualities of the VLC player with build in codecs , but its easyer to use with user friendly menus for dummies and at the same time a dosen of options for the advanced users.
The things that i am still waithing to be improved in the next versions are some a few bugs that i've encountered (some SRT subtitles doesn't show on AVIs with AC3 audio) plus better online support for the users (Winamp like).

In few words:

Build in codecs (no more single codecs or evil codec packs installments damaging your system)
User friendly menus (the "Amaizing" in screen Control pannel for easy adjusting of subtitles, colors, video and audio settings).
A small system memory usage (very light when watching movies).
Downloadable skins (comes with 4-5 skins for differend purposes , example skin for movies and audio files differ for reducing a system resourses usage).
Advanced audio and video options (you can do almost everything with Gom Player , from an Aspect Ratio adjustments to any video and audio options, and its usable for incomplete files)

This is the next n1 player!

Great job guys!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

WRITE A REVIEW:

1. All submitted reviews & comments will be subject to moderation before being displayed. Stay on the subject otherwise your review won't be published.
2. If you are looking for help or support, please use the forum.


Enter the code exactly as you see it - case sensitive - in the spam-prevention image above.

Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com.

All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2014 Codecs.com