FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2014-07-17 reviews

4.02

from 161 Reviews

Write a review

3

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-02-26
on 11 March 2006 , reviewed by: Sighn

# 41

Excellent for me. Pity the rest of the family aren't able to watch X264 coded videos on their limit user XP accounts though.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-02-26
on 11 March 2006 , reviewed by: BiShop

# 40

@sri: My guess is that you don't have either msvcr71.dll or msvcr80.dll installed in your system (depending on the compiler used), and the installator doesn't supply these files. Get them, and copy them into your %windir%\system32 directory.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-02-26
on 09 March 2006 , reviewed by: sri

# 39

When i try to install ffdshow 12 2005 sse file i get the "error while registering ffdshow.ax" error and this is driving me nuts as there seam to be no fix available or atleast the root cause of the problem is not known..
any help will be greatly appriciated... :(

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-02-26
on 06 March 2006 , reviewed by: BiShop

# 38

Just note:
ffdshow 2006-02-26 is a useless update, because the latest version in CVS is 2006-01-27

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-02-03 SSE
on 21 February 2006 , reviewed by: Jpettebubu

# 37

Ouups EXcuse me, bad copy pastle from name
The version buggy is:
ffdshow-20060203-icc-sse.zip
(From remember, bug with encoder intruction SSE2 in Xvid Mode)

Best regarde Jpettebubu

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-02-03 SSE
on 21 February 2006 , reviewed by: Jpettebubu

# 36

Hello

A bug with the ENCODER, when use XVID ENCODER mode(No bug with Mpeg4 for example, alll is Ok) one error of compiling (Make) of version SSE, use an instruction who CHRASHES
vidtualdubmod, and this error is:
An instruction type SSE2 has crashed Vdm....
And, one intruction SSE2 into the version SSE
, Ahem... ;-)

Pse look the makefile or your Ifdef,....

This version is download into this website and is named:
ffdshow-20051208-gcc4.0.2-sse-x264.nl.exe

Again many thank's for your very good work

Best regards Jpettebubu

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

3

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-02-03 SSE
on 16 February 2006 , reviewed by: Burado

# 35

its a nice pack but i have one BIG issue with it i make a living making movie's and video's for large companys and this thing prohibits me from creating a video on ANY of my video editing tools opens a large number of the codec 's and crashes my editing tool set me back 1 month in editing.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-02-03 SSE
on 16 February 2006 , reviewed by: BlueBeBe

# 34

there is a bug in this version, all of the versions here, except 2005-12-21 and ealier! so i can't play *.wmv files with media player classic and so on, please fix this bug asap, thanks in advance.

regards bluebebe

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-02-03 SSE
on 12 February 2006 , reviewed by: Mind_warps

# 33

This was a nice and fast build.
For the ones getting the:
Error opening file for writing:
C:\Program Files\ffdshow\ffdshow.ax

should try to close windows explorer when runinig the installer.

I do still have the explorer crash by the libavcodec, so it would be nice to se a fix or to know if there is any solution to this.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-02-03 SSE
on 12 February 2006 , reviewed by: phil

# 32

> Error opening file for writing:
> C:\Program Files\ffdshow\ffdshow.ax

close any program that may be using the file video players, gspot, etc.

if you can't manually delete that file, something has it open.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-02-03 SSE
on 10 February 2006 , reviewed by: Anthony

# 31

AC3 codec conflict or something. Makes this wierd buzzing.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-02-03 SSE
on 08 February 2006 , reviewed by: JustPassing

# 30

I assume this is a good program but because I cannot even get it to install I cannot say anything.

Right from the off I get the message as follows:

Error opening file for writing:

C:\Program Files\ffdshow\ffdshow.ax

Any heads up on how I can further the installation procedure...

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-02-03 SSE
on 07 February 2006 , reviewed by: Stef

# 29

Do somebody know where ffdshow will support for MPL2 subtitles format? or give me an email to developers I'll write to them.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-02-03 SSE
on 06 February 2006 , reviewed by: Dandruff

# 28

i've uninstalled the old version of course! the new version 2006-02-03 doesn't give this error while installing.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-02-03 SSE
on 05 February 2006 , reviewed by: mike

# 27

You need to uninstall the old one first!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-01-23
on 30 January 2006 , reviewed by: Dandruff

# 26

20060126 install doesn't finish here:

"Fehler bei Registrierung von ffdshow.ax" ("Error at registering ffdshow.ax" or so ...)

20060123 works.



Latest installers (20060123 & 20060126) still show ffdshow-20051216 at the titlebar ...

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-01-23
on 28 January 2006 , reviewed by: Konrad Klar

# 25

Playing of .wmv causes players crash in module libavcodec. Only one unaffected player is Windows Media Player. After switchback from 2006-01-23 to 2005-12-21 problem dissappears.

Sempron3000(Sock.939), WindowsXP.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-01-23
on 28 January 2006 , reviewed by: cristox

# 24

The same goes for the standard build
Resize-sharpen broken

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-01-23
on 28 January 2006 , reviewed by: cristox

# 23

The resize-sharpen in the sse build is broken.
Its values are a kind of tenfolded.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-01-23
on 28 January 2006 , reviewed by: Hunger

# 22

The best decoder i've ever seen. This is the only one, which can works on my 366 Mhz Pentium II with proper frame rate.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2005-12-21
on 21 January 2006 , reviewed by: TOny

# 21

This is confusing s**t i dont get how to use it what so ever where do i go to get step by step instructions on how to use this program

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2005-12-21
on 11 January 2006 , reviewed by: xbotxTV

# 20

im still having problems with
using hypercam Voding a game resolution 640x480 BW/SC

the VOD.avi or mgp made comes out n/geen/white/black, I`ve tried all codec swaped video card upped all harware and ram to 1024MB

i give up!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2005-12-21
on 29 December 2005 , reviewed by: Marius

# 19

it's great! keep it comin' guys!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2005-12-21
on 23 December 2005 , reviewed by: Anonymous

# 18

This release 2005-12-21 and the former one have a bug with 5.1 muxing to SPDIF output

It was working until 2005-12-08 release

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2005-12-08
on 19 December 2005 , reviewed by: tacosaladday

# 17

Works great on XP. Yet, the install has issues with Windows Vista Beta. Currently running with the latest beta release and the install fails. Lookslike it has issues with the new Limited User security features. If the developers of this package are reading this please verify this stuff works on Vista ASAP. Thanks and great job! This is the first video codec I install after installing a new machine.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2005-12-08
on 13 December 2005 , reviewed by: Al

# 16

After the installation, realplayer still plays mp4 files as audio files only.

This doesn't seem to work!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2005-11-07
on 07 November 2005 , reviewed by: Dandruff

# 15

audio problems with 2005-11-07 build:

with mp3 input: many fast crackles at both channels (left channel crackles are a bit louder)

with 32bit float wav input: periodically crackles at the left channel only


with dithering enabled: only noise (sounds like high sine tones) coming out ....


tested on a p4 (disabling cpu-features didn't help) with 16bit output.

build from http://www.free-codecs.com/download/FFDShow.htm

build 2005-11-05 was fine!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2005-11-03
on 03 November 2005 , reviewed by: Zimmer

# 14

Who is updating the ffdshow builds now? I haven't seen their names in the latest 2-3 updates so far. By the way, any chance someone can list the nicks updating the ffdshow builds. I need to figure out which nick I get updates from.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2005-09-20
on 21 September 2005 , reviewed by: spencer

# 13

THIS IS PROBABLY A REALLY GREAT PIECE OF SOFTWARE; LOOKING AT ALL THE MILLIONS OF OPTIONS ON IT'S USER INTERFACE; BUT CONSIDERING THE FACT IT OPENS EXTERNALLY TO ANY OF MY PLAYERS (Div X and WinVideo), and plus the fact that i am not a video professor or geek, then it doesn't help me at all as my DivX still says not recognise four cc mpeg4 code..so obviously i have to set all the options up right and then do something that no-one told me to export the codecs to DivX player! it does have an export button, but does not indicate in which folder to export, and also how to set up all the codec options on it's interface...CONFUSING to say the least! Something for Whiz Kids i reckon.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2005-08-22
on 23 August 2005 , reviewed by: gzus

# 12

Any version compiled with the Intel compiler is useless for AMD users, because SSE optimizations are turned off automatically unless you use a GenuineIntel chip.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2005-08-22
on 23 August 2005 , reviewed by: fubar

# 11

Is it just me or do none of the recent versions work with TMPGEnc. I tried every version back to 20050312 and with every one past 20050527 I get the "can not open or unsupported" message.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2005-08-03
on 14 August 2005 , reviewed by:

# 10

im getting a .mp4 film off the internet now and im wondering if this will allow me to play it

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2005-08-03
on 13 August 2005 , reviewed by: Anonymous

# 9

Finally I can watch the videos I couldn't watch before.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2005-04-06
on 02 May 2005 , reviewed by: pitaya

# 8

i dont know but this thing cant decode videos with h264 and i download an external codec that makes a relative good work

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2005-03-03 SSE
on 07 March 2005 , reviewed by: Tomislav

# 7

It (the Jan and Feb builds) caused a strange bug with my Office Assistant in Off XP(it couldn't close without a BIG BAD WARNING WINDOW). Has this been solved??? Reverting to 20041012 solved the problem.. But..?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2005-02-04
on 05 February 2005 , reviewed by: FDisk

# 6

Latest CVS has broken luminance level fix.

The "Luminance" and "Full Luma range"
under: "Postprocessing/Mplayer/Level Fix" has been
broken in CVS dated "2005-02-04". :((

The Level Fix doesn't work at all in this version.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2005-02-04
on 04 February 2005 , reviewed by: Joaquin

# 5

este es el mejor codecs(tanto como encoder como decoder) de divx-xvid que he usado, es rapido, consume muy pocos recursos, esta en varios idiomas(incluido el Espaņol), trae muchas opciones para configuralo para sacarle el mayor rendimiento, no trae programas espia ni nada por el estilo y ademas es gratis.
Tambien es capas de encodiar otros formatos aparte del divx-xvid. codecs como este y ademas gratis casi no se ven hoy en dia, les recomindo que se lo bajen y una ves que lo prueben nunca lo van a dejar.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2005-01-22
on 29 January 2005 , reviewed by: ecam

# 4

low processor power usage. can work with other codes. still need to install splitter tough. i like the luminance deblock system.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2005-01-17
on 19 January 2005 , reviewed by: Ajit Bhandari

# 3

Actually we are looking for MPEG4 support. We have seen FFDSHOW as a great utility but the absence of MPEG-4 splitter makes it unable for use. Does anyone know if:
1. There is any splitter available for the same. If yes, can you forward the site or reference of the same.
2. Can we use any other filter in addition to FFDSHOW.
3. If FFDSHOW is available with filter then we would like to know about its licensing/term and conditions to buy it.

Thanks,
Ajit

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 20041012
on 27 December 2004 , reviewed by: the_syco

# 2

Excellent software.
I tried Koepi's and one or two others, but this is the only one which payed the video I was trying to watch, and also a few video's made by past xvid codecs. Fair due's to the author(s) of this codec; well done! :)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

WRITE A REVIEW:

All submitted reviews & comments will be subject to moderation before being displayed. Stay on the subject otherwise your review won't be published. If you are looking for help or support, please use the forum.


Enter the code exactly as you see it - case sensitive - in the spam-prevention image above.

  • Microsoft MPEG-4

  • Probably it is the best thing ever, which I had download to my personal computer.
  • Hotwire Codec Bundle

  • nice pack for all pcs and computer systems for a life
  • KMPlayer

  • With every update it gets worse and worse, needless to say, Its pretty sad that the positive customer reviews ...
    view more »


    Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com.

    All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2014 Codecs.com